× Home Journeys   Countries and Cities Ways of St. James Thoughts on Pilgrimage Görlitz - Leipzig (on foot)
Leipzig - Constance (Bicycle) shell symbol
  Train to Leipzig Leipzig Leipzig- Freyburg   Merseburg Freyburg - Erfurt Erfurt   Naumburg Erfurt - Eisenach   Friedenstein castle, Gotha   Wartburg Eisenach - Tann Tann - Fulda Fulda Fulda - Kreuzberg Kreuzberg - Schweinfurt Schweinfurt - Ochsenfurt Ochsenfurt - Rothenburg Rothenburg-Wasseralfingen Wasseralfingen - Ulm Ulm Ulm - Biberach Biberach Biberach - Bad Waldsee Bad Waldsee - Constance   Ravensburg Constance
History and stories Interesting things What's new ?
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

Merseburg at the river Saale

Above the river, the towers of the cathedral and castle tower picturesquely over the city.

Merseburg an der Saale

Merseburg has been one of the most important German palatinates since the beginning of the 10th century.
From 933 to 1213, the German emperors met more than 20 times in Merseburg. The city was the centre of the empire.

A castle already stood on the west bank of the Saale in the early Middle Ages. A palace, which cannot be located exactly, was built on the cathedral hill under Henry I. A second palace was promoted by Otto I. Up until the Staufer dynasty, 69 royal residences are documented. A second palace was built by Otto I. There is evidence of 69 royal residences up to the time of the Staufers.

Roman-German Kings / Emperors Government
Heinrich I.  919 -  936
Otto I.  the Great  936 -  973
Otto II.  973 -  938
Otto III.  938 - 1002
Heinrich II. 1002 -1024
Konrad II. 1024 -1039
cathedral in Merseburg

Before the great battle on the Lechfeld on 10 August 955 against the Hungarians, Otto the Great swore in the face of his holy lance: "In the event of victory, I will erect a bishopric in Merseburg for the saint of the day.

Die heilige Lanze

The saint of the day was St Laurence. The archbishopric was founded in 968. The holy lance can be seen today in the treasury in Vienna and we are standing in front of the cathedral "St. John the Baptist and Laurentius" in Merseburg.

However, the cathedral was not built until years later by Henry II, who clearly preferred Merseburg among his palatinates. The crypt, begun in 1036, is still preserved from this construction. Around 1280, the cathedral was decorated with highly regarded stained glass windows, which were later lost and replaced in 1947-1960 by Charles Crodel in a modern continuation of the medieval formal language. The nave was rebuilt between 1510 and 1517.

castle and cathedral Merseburg

Merseburg Castle was built on the palace grounds under Bishop Heinrich von Warin (1245-65). Under Bishop Thilo von Trotha (1466-1514) it was rebuilt, and under Duke Johann Georg I of Saxony from 1605 onwards it was rebuilt and extended by Melchior Brenner. The east wing was destroyed in 1944/45 and rebuilt in 1971.

From 1656 to 1738 the castle was the residence of the Dukes of Saxe-Merseburg. The cathedral was used as the court church. Since 1815, the castle has been the seat of the administration.

Orgel
×

I have rarely seen such a beautiful organ as in this cathedral. Unfortunately, I have not heard it.

Click on the organ for an impressive, larger picture (1024 x 768) and enlarge the browser window!

In the Baroque period, Merseburg Cathedral served as a court church for the collateral line of the Dresden Wettin Saxe-Merseburg dynasty residing in the adjacent castle. It owes its main altar (1668), the monumental portal to the princely crypt (1670) and above all the organ to this "ducal period", which after a first rebuilding in 1665/66 was completely renewed again in 1693 and also received a new prospectus in 1697.

At that time, it was inserted into the late Gothic nave with great naturalness, as if it had been built for it - this magnificent baroque prospect still dominates the cathedral today: piled up to the vault, it fills the space between the towers.

The work, probably begun by Zacharias Theisner as early as 1693, did not function properly. In 1714, the organ builder Johann Friedrich Wender from Mühlhausen had to make a thorough technical overhaul of the work.

The solemn consecration of the organ did not take place until 17 October 1717. Work on the facade has been suspected for the long period between the acceptance. In 1734, the Silbermann pupil and collaborator Zacharias Hildebrandt was commissioned to insert several new stops.

Several more or less extensive repairs followed, none of them satisfactory.

It was Friedrich Ladegast (1818-1905) from Weißenfels, the great Central German organ builder of the 19th century, who was to make this organ building famous.

Between 1853 and 1855, he built a completely new organ in the old baroque case, which now contained a total of almost 5700 pipes in 81 stops and the old steel chimes - one of the largest organs in Germany at the time.

Franz Liszt took a lively interest in the construction of this instrument, which is significant in terms of organ and music history and was the first large Romantic organ in Central Germany, and was inspired by it to write his most important organ works. The organ's dedication on 26 September 1855 met with an enthusiastic response.

In a comprehensive renovation from 2001 to 2004, the organ was restored to Ladegast's disposition and, as far as possible, given back its 1866 sound.

Merseburger Kapitelhaus

Merseburg Chapter House

The chapter house, whose origins can be traced back to the 12th century, was the administrative and representative building of the Merseburg cathedral chapter until the 19th century. The chapter house was one of the most beautiful late Gothic buildings in Germany, especially because of its prestigious frescoed rooms.


Gertrud

In search of Gertrud:

Her father Lothar III, Duke of Saxony, was determined to be elected king after the death of Emperor Henry V. To this end, he formed an alliance with Henry the Black, Duke of Bavaria. To this end, he formed an alliance with the Duke of Bavaria, Henry the Black from the House of Guelph. He would give his son, Henry the Proud, his only daughter Gertrud, who was entitled to inherit, as his wife. Gertrud was just 10 (ten) years old at the time of the agreement. Lothar was elected German king in Mainz on 24 August 1125, but the wedding had to wait another two years. Gertrud was not yet "marriageable".

At Whitsun 1127, at a court day in the presence of numerous great men on 22 May in Merseburg, King Henry the Proud gave his "only and beloved" daughter Gertrud in marriage with "great splendour". Seven days later, the glittering wedding feast took place at Gunzele near Augsburg, in the centre of Guelph rule. The duke had brought his new wife from Saxony. In the Lechrain, in the borderland of Swabia and Bavaria, he presented the king's daughter to his Bavarian and Swabian grandees and then led her home to the Guelph homeland in Ravensburg.

Gertrud's fate was decided in Merseburg, but she is not buried here.

Merseburg

Merseburg liegt an der Saale. Oberhalb des Flusses überragen die Türme von Dom und Schloss malerisch die Stadt.

Merseburg an der Saale

Merseburg ist seit Anfang des 10. Jahrhunderts einer der bedeutendsten deutschen Pfalzorte.

Von 933 bis 1213 tagten die deutschen Kaiser mehr als 20 mal in Merseburg. Die Stadt war Reichsmittelpunkt.

Am Westufer der Saale stand bereits im frühen Mittelalter eine Burg. Auf dem Domhügel wurde unter Heinrich I. eine nicht genau lokalisierbare Pfalz errichtet. Einen zweiten Pfalzbau förderte Otto I. Bis zu den Staufern sind 69 Königsaufenthalte belegt.

Römisch-deutsche Könige / Kaiser Regierungszeit
Heinrich I.  919 -  936
Otto I.  der  Grosse  936 -  973
Otto II.  973 -  938
Otto III.  938 -  1002
Heinrich II. 1002 - 1024
Konrad II. 1024 -1039
Dom in Merseburg

Vor der grossen Schlacht am Lechfeld am 10. August 955 gegen die Ungarn schwor Otto der Grosse im Angesicht seiner heiligen Lanze: "Im Falle eines Sieges werde ich dem Tagesheiligen ein Bistum in Merseburg errichten."

Die heilige Lanze Der Tagesheilige war der hl. Laurentius. Das Erzbistum wurde 968 gegründet. Die heilige Lanze  ist heute in der Schatzkammer in Wien zu besichtigen und wir stehen vor der Dom "St. Johannes der Täufer und Laurentius" in Merseburg.

Gebaut wurde der Dom allerdings erst Jahre später von Heinrich II., der unter seinen Pfalzorten Merseburg deutlich bevorzugte. Von diesem Bau ist heute noch die 1036 begonnene Krypta erhalten. Um 1280 wurde der Dom mit viel beachteten Glasmalereien ausgestattet, die allerdings später verloren gingen und 1947-1960 von Charles Crodel in moderner Fortschreibung der mittelalterlichen Formensprache ersetzt wurden. 1510 bis 1517 wurde das Langhaus neu gebaut.

Schloss und Dom Merseburg

Das Merseburger Schloss wurde unter Bischof Heinrich von Warin (1245-65) auf dem Pfalzgelände angelegt. Unter Bischof Thilo von Trotha (1466-1514) erfolgte der Neubau und unter Herzog Johann Georg I. von Sachsen ab 1605 ein Um- und Erweiterungsbau durch Melchior Brenner. 1944/45 wurde der Ostflügel zerstört, der 1971 wieder aufgebaut wurde.

Von 1656 bis 1738 war das Schloss die Residenz der Herzöge von Sachsen-Merseburg. Der Dom wurde als Hofkirche genutzt. Seit 1815 ist das Schloss der Sitz der Verwaltung.

Ladengastsche Orgel

grösseres Bild (1024 x 768)

Ich habe selten eine so schöne Orgel wie in diesem Dom gesehen. Leider habe ich sie nicht gehört.

In der Barockzeit diente der Merseburger Dom der im angrenzenden Schloß residierenden Nebenlinie der Dresdener Wettiner Sachsen-Merseburg als Hofkirche. Er verdankt dieser „Herzogszeit“ den Hauptaltar (1668), das monumentale Portal zur Fürstengruft (1670) und vor allem die Orgel, die nach einem ersten Neubau 1665/66 ab 1693 noch einmal vollständig erneuert wurde und 1697 auch einen neuen Prospekt erhielt.

Damals mit großer Selbstverständlichkeit in den spätgotischen Langhausraum eingefügt, als wäre dieser für ihn gebaut worden – so beherrscht dieser prächtige Barockprospekt noch heute den Dom: Bis ins Gewölbe aufgetürmt, füllt er den Raum zwischen den Türmen

Das Werk, wohl schon 1693 von Zacharias Theisner begonnen, hat nicht richtig funktioniert. Der Orgelbauer Johann Friedrich Wender aus Mühlhausen musste 1714 das Werk technisch gründlich überarbeiten.

Die feierliche Orgelweihe erfolgte erst am 17. Oktober 1717. Für die lange Zeit zwischen der Abnahme sind Arbeiten am Prospekt vermutet worden. 1734 erhielt der Silbermann-Schüler und -Mitarbeiter Zacharias Hildebrandt 1734 den Auftrag, mehrere neue Register einzufügen.

Etliche mehr oder weniger umfangreiche Reparaturen folgten, die alle nicht zufrieden stellend waren.

Es war Friedrich Ladegast (1818-1905) aus Weißenfels, der große mitteldeutsche Orgelbauer des 19. Jahrhunderts, den dieser Orgelbau berühmt machen sollte.

Er hat 1853 bis 1855 in das alte Barockgehäuse ein vollständig neues Werk hineingebaut, das in 81 Registern nunmehr insgesamt fast 5700 Pfeifen und das alte Stahlspiel enthielt - seinerzeit eine der größten Orgeln in Deutschland.

Franz Liszt hat an dem Bau dieses orgel- und musikgeschichtlich bedeutsamen Instruments, der ersten romantischen Großorgel Mitteldeutschlands, lebhaften Anteil genommen und sich durch sie zu seinen bedeutendsten Orgelwerken anregen lassen. Die Orgelweihe am 26. September 1855 stieß auf ein begeistertes Echo.

In einer umfassenden Erneuerung von 2001 bis 2004 wurde die Orgel in der Ladegastschen Disposition wiederhergestellt und ihr so weit wie möglich das Ladegastsche Klangbild von 1866 zurückzugeben.

Merseburger Kapitelhaus

Das in seinen Ursprüngen bis auf das 12. Jahrhundert zurückzuführende Kapitelhaus war bis in das 19. Jahrhundert das Verwaltungs- und Repräsentationsgebäude des Merseburger Domkapitels. Vor allem aufgrund der repräsentativ ausgestatteten und mit Fresken versehenen Räumlichkeiten zählte das Kapitelhaus zu den schönsten spätgotischen Gebäuden in Deutschland.

  zurück nach Leipzig


Leipzig - Freiburg

weiter nach Erfurt  

Gertrud

Auf der Suche nach Gertrud:

Ihr Vater Lothar der III, Herzog von Sachsen wollte nach dem Tode von Kaiser Heinrich V. unbedingt zum König gewählt werden. Dazu schloss er ein Bündnis mit dem Herzog von Bayern, Heinrich dem Schwarzen aus dem Haus der Welfen. Er würde seinem Sohn, Heinrich dem Stolzen seine einzige erbberechtigte Tochter Gertrud zur Frau geben. Gertrud war zum Zeitpunkt der Vereinbarung gerade 10 (zehn) Jahre alt. Lothar wurde in Mainz am 24. August 1125 zum deutschen König gewählt, aber mit der Hochzeit musste noch zwei Jahre zugewartet werden. Gertrud war noch nicht "heiratsfähig".

Zu Pfingsten 1127, auf einem Hoftag im Beisein zahlreicher Großer am 22. Mai in Merseburg, gab der König Heinrich dem Stolzen seine "einzige und geliebte" Tochter Gertrud mit "großer Pracht zur Ehe". Sieben Tage später fand auf dem Gunzele bei Augsburg, im Zentrum welfischer Herrschaft, das glanzvolle Hochzeitsfest statt. Aus Sachsen hatte der Herzog seine neue Gattin geholt. Im Lechrain, im Grenzland von Schwaben und Bayern, präsentierte er die Königs-Tochter seinen bayerischen und schwäbischen Großen, um sie dann in die welfische Heimat nach Ravensburg heimzuführen.

In Merseburg wurde über Gertruds Schicksal bestimmt, begraben ist sie hier nicht.