× Home Journeys   Countries and Cities Ways of St. James Thoughts on Pilgrimage Görlitz - Leipzig (on foot)
Leipzig - Constance (Bicycle) shell symbol
  Train to Leipzig Leipzig Leipzig- Freyburg   Merseburg Freyburg - Erfurt Erfurt   Naumburg Erfurt - Eisenach   Friedenstein castle, Gotha   Wartburg Eisenach - Tann Tann - Fulda Fulda Fulda - Kreuzberg Kreuzberg - Schweinfurt Schweinfurt - Ochsenfurt Ochsenfurt - Rothenburg Rothenburg-Wasseralfingen Wasseralfingen - Ulm Ulm Ulm - Biberach Biberach Biberach - Bad Waldsee Bad Waldsee - Constance   Ravensburg Constance
Stories / History Interesting things What's new ?
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch British flag

At breakfast, there is one plate of sausages per guest. It is so much that I make myself a snack roll. A couple from the next table gives me their sausage as well. They are invited for lunch and are not allowed to eat so much now.

The bike is packed again and pushed onto the road. The water supply is refilled and I feel the saddle again. After a few kilometers I arrive in Aalen. This is a hearty little town with an old core. In the tourist office I get a city map and make a small round trip. The photos below were taken during this tour.

  • LK-2361Aalen
  • LK-2366Aalen
  • LK-2371Aalen
  • LK-2376Aalen

The Romans already founded a riding fort here on the Limes, the northern border of the Roman Empire. The foundation of the town by the Staufer Emperor Frederick II is assumed to have taken place around 1240.

Finding the way out of Aalen to the bike path is not easy, but succeeds with the help of the city map. Again and again I stop and study my maps, read street names, wonder, go back a little bit, only to turn around again, finally convinced to be on the right track.

Carl Zeiss AG

8 km after Aalen in Oberkochen I come across the factory buildings of the Carl Zeiss Werke.


Königsbronn

The Hohenlohe-Ostalb cycle path leads through Königsbronn.


Heidenheim

Along the railroad it goes to Heidenheim. Just before the beautiful bike path is interrupted. It takes place namely of a state horticultural show and the bike path would lead through the area. Outside around on the road I come to the city center, find the city full of life, but otherwise not very exciting.


Radweg nach Eselsburg

After the town begins a beautiful route to Eselsburg. This seems to be a popular destination for excursions.


Eselsburg

The village of Eselsburg lies at the end of a picturesque valley. The continuation of the path is insanely steep. Even pushing becomes extremely tedious. But eventually every height is climbed. I reach the Lon valley. But the deserved downhill is not yet there. It goes the Lon upstream. The Lon, by the way, flows into the Brenz and this at Gundelfingen into the Danube.


The Lon Valley is again very picturesque. No car traffic, only the bike path. An idyllic little bench invites me to take a lunch break. I devoutly consume my thickly sandwiched roll, an apple and the cereal bars I bought in Ellwangen.

arrow
Im Donautal

The bike path leads out of the valley through a forest. There it goes once again very steeply uphill. Finally there is a clear view of the Danube valley and it goes downhill. Near Langenau I come into the Danube meadows with ancient trees.


I arrive in Elchingen and read: 'Cycle route to Ulm' and ride off blithely. There my misfortune begins. At a not signposted crossing I turn wrong. Firmly in the belief to go to Ulm, I cycle on for a long time. There are no more signs, but I don't notice that. I cross a highway. Only a place name sign makes me suspicious. Where am I?

I study the map for a long time until I find myself again. So back over the highway and then the road straight ahead to Ulm. After some time I see a sign: "Cycle path to Ulm". There I was already. I drove in a circle. Desperately I ask a woman where the cycle path continues and find out my mistake: just turn left instead of right. Finally I get onto the Danube cycle path and manage to get lost again at a level crossing. But then it goes quickly towards Ulm. In the meantime it has already become a little late. There is a lot going on in Ulm and all the accommodations are occupied. I drive crosswise through Ulm in search of a place for the night. Directly at the cathedral I find a last room. It is a triple room and the woman asks 60 euros. What the heck, I agree. Only 10 seconds later two cyclists look in and ask for a room. Unfortunately nothing more freely says the woman. As a small consolation for the expensive room (with bathroom and toilet in the corridor) I get my stage beer for free. On foot I still make an evening walk through Ulm. The cathedral is already closed.

Hotel zum Anker, Ulm

Here in the Spanish wine tavern (Hotel zum Anker), right next to the cathedral I found my quarters.

× Home Reisen Jakobswege deutsche Pilgerwege Gedanken zum Pilgern
Leipzig - Konstanz (Fahrrad)
Leipzig Leipzig- Freyburg Freyburg - Erfurt Erfurt Erfurt - Eisenach Eisenach - Tann Tann - Fulda Fulda Fulda - Kreuzberg Kreuzberg - Schweinfurt Schweinfurt - Ochsenfurt Ochsenfurt - Rothenburg Rothenburg-Wasseralfingen Wasseralfingen - Ulm Ulm Ulm - Biberach Biberach Biberach - Bad Waldsee Bad Waldsee - Konstanz   Ravensburg Konstanz
Geschichte(n) Interessantes Was gibt's Neues
☰ Auswahl

Beim Frühstück gibt es pro Gast einen Wurstteller. Es ist so viel, dass ich mir ein Jausenbrötli mache. Ein Ehepaar vom Nachbartisch gibt mir noch seine Wurst dazu. Sie seien zum Mittagessen eingeladen und dürfen jetzt nicht so viel essen.

Das Rad wird wieder gepackt und auf die Strasse geschoben. Der Wasservorrat ist nachgefüllt und schon spüre ich den Sattel wieder. Nach wenigen Kilometern komme ich nach Aalen. Das ist ein herziges Städtchen mit altem Kern. Im Fremdenverkehrsbüro hole ich mir einen Stadtplan und mache eine kleine Rundfahrt. Dabei sind die untenstehenden Fotos entstanden.


Bereits die Römer haben hier ein Reitkastell am Limes, der Nordgrenze des römischen Reiches gegründet. Die Stadtgründung durch den Staufer Kaiser Friedrich II wird um 1240 vermutet.

Den Weg aus Aalen zum Radweg ist nicht einfach zu finden, gelingt aber mit Hilfe des Stadtplans. Immer wieder bleibe ich stehen und studiere meine Karten, lese Strassennamen, wundere mich, fahre ein kleines Stück zurück, um dann wieder umzukehren, endlich überzeugt am rechten Weg zu sein.

Carl Zeiss AG

8 km nach Aalen in Oberkochen treffe ich auf die Werksgebäude der Carl Zeiss Werke.


Königsbronn

Der Hohenlohe-Ostalb Radweg führt durch Königsbronn.


Heidenheim

Entlang der Bahn geht es nach Heidenheim. Knapp vorher wird der schöne Radweg unterbrochen. Es findet nämlich eines Landesgartenschau statt und der Radweg würde durch das Gelände führen. Aussen herum auf der Strasse komme ich zur Stadtmitte, finde die Stadt voller Leben, aber sonst nicht sehr aufregend.


Radweg nach Eselsburg

Nach der Stadt beginnt eine wunderschöne Stecke bis nach Eselsburg. Das scheint ein beliebtes Ausflugsziel zu sein.


Eselsburg

Der Ort Eselsburg liegt am Ende eines malerischen Tales. Die Fortsetzung des Wegs ist irrsinnig steil. Selbst Schieben wird äusserst mühsam. Aber irgendwann ist jede Höhe erklommen. Ich erreiche das Lontal. Die verdiente Bergabfahrt gibt es aber noch nicht. Es geht die Lon flussaufwärts. Die Lon übrigens fliesst in die Brenz und diese bei Gundelfingen in die Donau.


Das Lontal ist wiederum sehr malerisch. Kein Autoverkehr, nur der Radweg. Ein idyllisches Bänkchen lädt ein zur Mittagspause. Andächtig verzehre ich mein dick belegtes Brötchen, einen Apfel und die Getreideriegel, die ich in Ellwangen gekauft habe.

Pfeil
Im Donautal

Der Radweg führt aus dem Tal heraus durch einen Wald. Da geht es wieder einmal sehr steil bergauf. Endlich gibt es freie Sicht auf das Donautal und es geht bergab. Bei Langenau komme ich in die Donauauen mit uraltem Baumbestand.


Ich komme nach Elchingen und lese: 'Radweg nach Ulm' und fahre munter drauf los. Dort beginnt mein Unglück. Bei einer nicht beschilderten Wegkreuzung biege ich falsch ab. Fest im Glauben nach Ulm zu fahren, radle ich lange weiter. Es gibt keine Schilder mehr, aber das fällt mir nicht auf. Ich überquere eine Autobahn. Erst eine Ortstafel macht mich stutzig. Wo bin ich?

Lange studiere ich die Karte bis ich mich wieder finde. Also wieder zurück über die Autobahn und dann die Strasse geradeaus nach Ulm. Nach einiger Zeit sehe ich ein Schild: "Radweg nach Ulm". Da war ich doch schon. Ich bin im Kreis gefahren. Verzweifelt frage ich eine Frau, wo denn der Radweg weitergehe und finde meinen Irrtum heraus: einfach nach links statt nach rechts abbiegen. Endlich komme ich auf den Donauradweg und schaffe es, mich bei einem Bahnübergang nochmals zu verfahren. Dann aber geht es hurtig auf Ulm zu. In der Zwischenzeit ist es schon etwas spät geworden. In Ulm ist viel los und alle Quartiere sind besetzt. Kreuz und quer fahre ich durch Ulm auf der Suche nach einem Plätzchen für die Nacht. Direkt beim Dom finde ich ein letztes Zimmer. Es ist ein Dreibettzimmer und die Frau verlangt 60 Euro. Was soll's, ich sage zu. Nur 10 Sekunden später schauen zwei Radfahrer herein und fragen nach einem Zimmer. Leider nichts mehr frei sagt die Frau. Als kleinen Trost für das teure Zimmer (mit Bad und Klo am Gang) erhalte ich mein Etappenbier gratis. Zu Fuss mache ich noch einen Abendspaziergang durch Ulm. Der Dom ist schon geschlossen.

Hotel zum Anker, Ulm

Hier in der Spanischen Weinstube (Hotel zum Anker), gleich beim Dom habe ich mein Quartier gefunden


Rothen­burg - Wasser­alfingen


Übersicht Leipzig - Konstanz

Ulm