× Home Journeys   Countries and Cities Ways of St. James Görlitz - Leipzig (on foot) Thoughts on Pilgrimage
Leipzig - Constance (bicycle) shell symbol
  Train to Leipzig Leipzig Leipzig- Freyburg   Merseburg Freyburg - Erfurt Erfurt   Naumburg Erfurt - Eisenach   Castle Friedenstein, Gotha   Wartburg Eisenach - Tann Tann - Fulda Fulda Fulda - Kreuzberg Kreuzberg - Schweinfurt Schweinfurt - Ochsenfurt Ochsenfurt - Rothenburg Rothenburg-Wasseralfingen Wasseralfingen - Ulm Ulm Ulm - Biberach Biberach Biberach - Bad Waldsee Bad Waldsee - Constance   Ravensburg Constance
Stories / History Interesting things What's new ?
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch British flag
Luppe

The Via Regia, the ecumenical pilgrimage route, leads us - how could it be otherwise - on the Jakobstrasse (James street) out of the city in a park, past the Zoological Garden to the Luppe and along the little river Luppe on a cycle path to the east.

Unfortunately, the Luppe has lost its natural streambed. But there is a revitalization project.


We follow the markings and decide from case to case between the bike path and the Way of St. James. Sometimes it becomes quite narrow and bumpy. Stinging nettles brush against our bare legs. Occasionally it goes through a forest. Who finds the mark (scallop shell) in the picture on the left?


ruins of the der Sixti church in Merseburg

Past the ruins of the Sixti Church, the path leads to the city of Merseburg.

The church of St. Sixti was founded in 1045 and became a collegiate church in 1327.

The new construction of the late Gothic hall church, begun in the 16th century, was not completed. Since the 30-year war St. Sixti is a ruin.

The Romanesque tower was converted into a water tower in 1888/89.


In the center of Merseburg, in the Gotthardstrasse.


Cathedral of St. John and Laurence

Merseburg is a nice town with partially intact city center.

The castle with the imposing cathedral is located on a hill. The pilgrims walk up the stairs, we push our bikes on a steep sandy path quite strenuous up. (It would have been easier from the other side.) In a castle courtyard a brass concert takes place. I am drawn to the cathedral 'St. John and Laurence'.

Brass ensemble


Cloister

Because of the 'Open Monument Day' there is a small snack stand in the cloister. We enjoy goulash soup with apple juice in the courtyard of the cloister.


We have a little trouble finding our way out of town, but eventually even that becomes clear. It goes to the stage destination in Freyburg.

Once again, the pilgrimage route runs along the bike path. It fits well that we are on the road by bike.


Castle Neuenburg on the hill

To get to Freyburg, we first climb the castle hill with Neuenburg Castle and look down on the town. A wine festival is taking place there right now.


Neuenburg Castle Entrance

Too bad, we have not visited the most beautiful castle in Saxony-Anhalt. For those interested here is a link to Neuenburg Castle



In Freyburg an der Unstrut we move into our pilgrim's quarters in the Fiedelak coach house (room on the second floor). It is a real suite! Hans sleeps in the double bed and I in the sleeping bag on the couch.

Here you can also see how the 'Via Regia' works. The ecumenical St. James' Association turns to the parishes. The parishes are looking for who can take pilgrims. The addresses are published in the pilgrim guide. The hostel parents are instructed. There are periodic meetings of the hostel parents.

× Home Reisen Länder Jakobswege Gedanken zum Pilgern Görlitz - Leipzig (zu Fuss)
Leipzig - Konstanz (Fahrrad)
  Zug nach Leipzig Leipzig Leipzig- Freyburg   Merseburg Freyburg - Erfurt Erfurt   Naumburg Erfurt - Eisenach   Schloss Friedenstein, Gotha   Wartburg Eisenach - Tann Tann - Fulda Fulda Fulda - Kreuzberg Kreuzberg - Schweinfurt Schweinfurt - Ochsenfurt Ochsenfurt - Rothenburg Rothenburg-Wasseralfingen Wasseralfingen - Ulm Ulm Ulm - Biberach Biberach Biberach - Bad Waldsee Bad Waldsee - Konstanz   Ravensburg Konstanz
Geschichte(n) Interessantes Was gibt's Neues
☰ Auswahl

Die Via Regia, der ökumenische Pilger­weg, führt uns - wie kann es anders sein - auf der Jakob­strasse hinaus aus der Stadt in einem Park, am Zoologischen Garten vorbei zur Luppe und entlang des Flüsschens Luppe auf einem Rad­weg nach Osten.

Die Luppe (linkes Bild) hat leider ihr natürliches Bachbett verloren.


Wir fahren den Markierungen nach und ent­scheiden von Fall zu Fall zwischen Radweg und Jakobsweg. Manchmal wird es recht eng und holprig. Brennnessel streifen an den nackten Beinen. Gelegent­lich geht es durch einen Wald. Wer findet die Markierung (Jakobsmuschel) im Bild links?


Ruinen der Sixti-Kirche in Merseburg

Vorbei an der Ruine der Sixti-Kirche führt der Weg in die Stadt Merseburg.

Die Kirche St. Sixti wurde 1045 gegrün­det und ist 1327 zur Stiftskirche erhoben worden.

Der im 16. Jh. begonnene Neubau zur spät­gotischen Hallenkirche wurde nicht vollendet. Seit dem 30-jährigen Krieg ist St. Sixti eine Ruine.

Den romanischen Turm baute man 1888/89 zum Wasserturm um.


Dom St. Johannes und Laurenzius

Merseburg ist ein nettes Städtchen mit teilweise intaktem Stadtkern.

Das Schloss mit dem imposanten Dom liegt auf einem Hügel. Die Jakobspilger gehen die Stiegen hinauf, wir schieben auf einem steilen Sandweg recht anstrengend unsere Räder hoch. (Es wäre von der anderen Seite auch einfacher gegangen.) In einem Schlosshof findet ein Bläserkonzert statt. Mich zieht es in den Dom 'St. Johannes und Laurentius'.


Wegen des 'Tags des offenen Denkmals' ist im Kreuz­gang ein kleiner Imbissstand. Wir geniessen Gulasch­suppe mit Apfelsaft im Hof des Kreuzgangs.


Wir haben etwas Mühe, den Weg aus der Stadt zu finden, aber irgendwann wird auch das klar. Es geht zum Etappenziel nach Freyburg.

Wieder einmal verläuft der Pilgerweg am Radweg. Es passt ja gut, dass wir mit dem Rad unterwegs sind.


Schloss Neuenburg

Um nach Freyburg zu kommen, erklim­men wir zunächst den Schlosshügel mit dem Schloss Neuenburg und blicken auf die Stadt hinunter. Dort findet gerade ein Winzerfest statt.


Schloss Naumburg

Schade, haben wir die schönste Burg in Sachsen-Anhalt nicht besichtigt. Für Interessierte hier ein Link zum Schloss Neuenburg



In Freyburg an der Unstrut beziehen wir unser Pilgerquartier in der Karosserie Fiedelak (Zimmer im ersten Stock). Es ist eine richtige Suite! Hans schläft im Doppelbett und ich im Schlafsack auf der Couch.

Hier sieht man auch wie die 'Via Regia' funktioniert. Der ökumenische Jakobs-Verein wendet sich an die Gemeinden. Die Gemeinden suchen, wer Pilger aufnehmen kann. Die Adressen kommen in den Pilgerführer. Die Herbergseltern werden instruiert. Es gibt periodische Zusam­menkünfte der Herbergseltern.