× Home Journeys   Countries and Cities Ways of St. James Ways of St. James Germany Görlitz - Leipzig (on foot)
Erfurt
Michaelis church Cathedral and Severi church Augustiner monastery Hotel Nikolai and Tower Kaufmanns church Wenigemarkt Krämer bridge Junkersand Fischmarkt Prediger church Marktstrasse
In Bach's footsteps
Overview Weimar Eisenach Johann Sebastian Bach
Stories / History Interesting things What's new ?
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch British flag
Marien-Cathedral und St. Severi church

In Erfurt we visit many carefully restored Renaissance and half-timbered houses which, together with other buildings and the famous Krämerbrücke, form one of the best-preserved medieval city centres in Germany. Once 36 parish churches, chapels and 15 monasteries and convents gave the city the nicknames "Thuringian Rome" and "Erfordia turrita" (tower-crowned Erfurt). For centuries, Erfurt's silhouette has been defined by the ensemble of two mighty sacred buildings: St. Mary's Cathedral and the Church of St. Severi.

Erfurt is criss-crossed by small rivers such as the Gera, the Bergstrom and the Walkstrom. Our hotel was located directly on the Gera near the Nikolai Tower.

Almost all the sights in Erfurt's old town are documented with pictures (yellow markings). Just move the mouse over the map. In some cases a click leads to further pictures - see also navigation bar on the left.

Text

Karte von Erfurt

Erfurt, the Thuringian state metropolis, was founded by Bonifacius in 742 and grew into a powerful trading and university city at the intersection of ancient trade routes in the Middle Ages. Its cultural life attracted great personalities such as Luther (Augustinian monastery), Adam Ries, Goethe, Schiller, Herder, Wieland, Humboldt, Czar Alexander and Napoléon to Erfurt. Johann Sebastian Bach's parents were married in the Kaufmannskirche.

× Home Reisen Länder Jakobswege Deutsche Pilgerwege Görlitz - Leipzig (zu Fuss)
Erfurt
Erfurt am Jakobsweg Michaeliskirche Dom und Severi Kirche Augustinerkloster Hotel Nikolai und Turm Kaufmannskirche Wenigemarkt Krämerbrücke Junkersand Fischmarkt Predigerkirche Marktstrasse
Auf Bach's Spuren
Übersicht Weimar Eisenach Johann Sebastian Bach
Geschichte(n) Interessantes Was gibt's Neues
☰        
Marien-Dom und der Kirche St. Severi

In Erfurt besichtigen wir viele sorgfältig restaurierten Renaissance- und Fachwerkhäuser, die mit anderen Gebäuden und der berühmten Krämerbrücke einen der am besten erhaltenen mittelalterlichen Stadtkerne Deutschlands bilden. Einst gaben 36 Pfarrkirchen, Kapellen sowie 15 Klöster und Stifte der Stadt die Beinamen "Thüringer Rom" und "Erfordia turrita" (turmgekröntes Erfurt). Erfurts Silhouette ist seit Jahrhunderten vom Ensemble zweier mächtiger Sakralbauten bestimmt: vom Marien-Dom und der Kirche St. Severi.

Erfurt wird von kleinen Flüsschen wie der Gera, dem Berg- und Walkstrom durchzogen. Direkt an der Gera beim Nikolai Turm lag auch unser Hotel.

Fast alle Sehenswürdigkeiten in der Altstadt von Erfurt sind mit Bildern dokumentiert (gelbe Markierungen). Einfach mit der Maus auf die Karte fahren. Ein Klick führt in manchen Fällen zu weiteren Bildern - siehe auch Navigationsleiste links.

Text

Karte von Erfurt

Erfurt, die thüringische Landesmetropole, wurde 742 von Bonifacius gegründet und wuchs im Schnittpunkt alter Handelsstraßen im Mittelalter zu einer mächtigen Handels- und Universitätsstadt heran. Ihr kulturelles Leben zog große Persönlichkeiten, wie Luther (Augustinerkloster), Adam Ries, Goethe, Schiller, Herder, Wieland, Humboldt, Zar Alexander und Napoléon nach Erfurt. Die Eltern von Johann Sebastian Bach wurden in der Kaufmannskirche getraut.