× Home Journeys   Countries and Cities Ways of St. James Thoughts on Pilgrimage Görlitz - Leipzig (on foot)
Leipzig - Constance (Bicycle) shell symbol
  Train to Leipzig Leipzig Leipzig- Freyburg   Merseburg Freyburg - Erfurt Erfurt   Naumburg Erfurt - Eisenach   Friedenstein castle, Gotha   Wartburg Eisenach - Tann Tann - Fulda Fulda Fulda - Kreuzberg Kreuzberg - Schweinfurt Schweinfurt - Ochsenfurt Ochsenfurt - Rothenburg Rothenburg-Wasseralfingen Wasseralfingen - Ulm Ulm Ulm - Biberach Biberach Biberach - Bad Waldsee Bad Waldsee - Constance   Ravensburg Constance
History and stories Interesting things What's new ?
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

Rothenburg is on a hill. So it goes first downhill to the Tauber and then uphill again on the other side of the valley, partly quite steep, so that I have to push. Finally arrived at the top, the path becomes reasonably flat and it goes on quite briskly. I am pleased about the scallops that accompany my way.

Road with birch trees

The sky is overcast. Sometimes I encounter wet roads. In the distance I see rain. But I myself am spared.


The next larger town is called Crailsheim. My first impression is that of a town destroyed in the war and rebuilt afterwards. There are hardly any old houses left in the town center. I pass the Liebfrauenkirche (Church of Our Lady), but the Johanneskirche (church of St. John) fascinates me and I visit it.

Crailsheim St John

The present St. John's Church dates from 1398 to 1440 and was built on the model of a late Gothic mendicant church, the Franciscan church in Rothenburg/Tauber. Of the former 13 altars, the altar of St. John with the Crucified in the center, the Baptist John, the Mother Mary and the Apostles John and Andrew still adorns the choir of the church.


St. John's Church Portal

St. John's Church Portal


Johanneskirche Interior view

Of particular art-historical importance are the altarpieces, which show four scenes of the Passion of Christ on the inside and tell the life of John the Baptist on the outside. They come from the workshop of Michael Wolgemut, Albrecht Dürer's teacher (Nuremberg, late 15th century).

Plus Minus

In the church you can admire a twelve-meter-high sacrament box from 1499, created by Crailsheim stonemason Andreas Embhardt. Near the main portal there are two uncovered wall paintings from the 15th century. They show the martyrdom of St. Sebastian (Völkerskapelle) and a dance of death (Empore).


Organ

View of the organ in the west gallery. It dates from 1709 and has been restored several times.

arrow

From Crailsheim to Jagstheim, the bike path corresponds to the Way of St. James. Then they separate. The decision is difficult for me, but I stay on the bike path because it is next to the railroad and therefore flat. The Jakobsweg, however, leads over very humpy terrain.

About 30 km further along the Way of St. James I come to Ellwangen. The city has a small old town center with beautiful town houses and an interesting double church. The baroque Protestant city parish church and the collegiate church of St. Vitus are built together. They overlap. I am very pleased with the beautiful Gothic cloister and the Romanesque porch of St.Vitus (St.Veit).


church in Ellwangen romanesque portal

On the left of the (upper or left) picture you can see the towers of the baroque city parish church, in the center of the picture the originally Romanesque St. Vitus church. Inside it has also been baroqueized.

Another picture shows the Romanesque entrance to the St. Vitus Church.


St. Vitus church

St. Vitus Church was built between 1182 and 1233 and is the third church on this site, dating back to 764. This monumental building from the Staufer period is considered the most important Romanesque vaulted basilica in Swabia.


Ellwangen cloister

Cloister (south wing)

Ellwangen cloister

Cloister (east wing)

The Gothic cloister was built in 1468 - 1473. Each of the 29 windows has a slightly different work of fish bubble mass. In the west wing of the cloister is the Chapel of Our Lady.


Westvorhalle

Romanesque west porch of St. Vitus Church

Only three rooms remain from the Romanesque period: The west vestibule, St. Michael's Chapel above (inaccessible) and the crypt.


Ellwangen

Two pictures from Ellwangen

Ellwangen Minipicture 1 Ellwangen Minipicture 2

After a purchase in the supermarket I continue again. It goes very, very steeply uphill. For a long time I have to push. Finally I arrive on a plateau and it goes lively there, until a place name sign. But this does not fit at all to my way! A horrible thought flashes through my mind. The steep mountain - all in vain. I have to go back and find the bike path to Wasseralfingen / Aalen.

Gasthof Goldener Stern

My intended destination would be Aalen. But in Ellwangen I have lost a lot of time and it is getting late. So I start to look for a quarter, but find none. Only in Wasseralfigen I find signs. In the inn "Goldener Stern" I get a room, and what a room it is. There is a huge settee for at least 10 people. There is a huge TV and, funnily enough, two bunk beds. The bathroom is across the hall. I enjoy the stage beer and a fine dinner in the guest room.

After that I sleep wonderfully.

× Home Reisen Jakobswege deutsche Pilgerwege Gedanken zum Pilgern
Leipzig - Konstanz (Fahrrad)
Leipzig Leipzig- Freyburg Freyburg - Erfurt Erfurt Erfurt - Eisenach Eisenach - Tann Tann - Fulda Fulda Fulda - Kreuzberg Kreuzberg - Schweinfurt Schweinfurt - Ochsenfurt Ochsenfurt - Rothenburg Rothenburg-Wasseralfingen Wasseralfingen - Ulm Ulm Ulm - Biberach Biberach Biberach - Bad Waldsee Bad Waldsee - Konstanz   Ravensburg Konstanz
Geschichte(n) Interessantes Was gibt's Neues
☰ Auswahl

Rothenburg liegt auf einem Hügel. Also geht es zunächst bergab zur Tauber und dann wieder auf der anderen Talseite bergauf, zum Teil recht steil, sodass ich schieben muss. Endlich oben angelangt wird der Weg halbwegs eben, und es geht recht zügig weiter. Ich freue mich über die Jakobsmuscheln, die meinen Weg begeleiten.

Der Himmel ist bedeckt. Manchmal treffe ich auf nasse Strassen. In der Ferne sehe ich Regen. Ich selbst bleibe aber verschont.


Der nächste grössere Ort heisst Crailsheim. Mein erster Eindruck ist der einer im Krieg zerstörten und nachher wieder aufgebauten Stadt. Es gibt im Stadtkern kaum mehr alte Häuser. An der Liebfrauenkirche fahre ich vorbei, die Johannes­kirche fasziniert mich aber, und ich besichtige sie.

Crailsheim Johanneskirche

Die jetzige Johanneskirche stammt aus der Zeit von 1398 bis 1440. Sie wurde nach dem Vorbild einer spätgotischen Bettel­ordenskirche, der Franziskaner- Kirche in Rothenburg /Tauber, er­baut. Von den einst 13 Altären schmückt noch der Johannesaltar mit dem Gekreuzigten in der Mitte, dem Täufer Johannes, der Mutter Maria sowie den Aposteln Johannes und Andreas den Chor des Gotteshauses.


Portal zur Johanneskirche


Von besonderer kunsthistorischer Bedeutung sind die Altarbilder, die auf den Innenseiten vier Szenen der Leidensgeschichte Christi zeigen und außen das Leben Johannes des Täufers erzählen. Sie stammen aus der Werkstatt von Michael Wolgemut, dem Lehrers Albrecht Dürers (Nürnberg, Ende 15.Jh.).

In der Kirche kann man ein zwölf Meter hohes Sakramentshäuschen von 1499 bewundern, das vom Crailsheimer Steinmetz Andreas Embhardt geschaffen wurde. In der Nähe des Hauptportals befinden sich zwei freigelegte Wandgemälde aus dem 15. Jahrhundert. Sie zeigen das Martyrium des Heiligen Sebastian (Völkers­kapelle) sowie einen Totentanz (Empore).


Blick auf die Orgel auf der Westempore. Sie stammt aus dem Jahr 1709 und wurde mehrfach restauriert.

Pfeil

Von Crailsheim bis Jagstheim entspricht der Radweg dem Jakobsweg. Dann trennen sie sich. Der Entschluss fällt mir schwer, aber ich bleibe am Radweg, weil der neben der Bahn liegt und daher eben ist. Der Jakobsweg hingegen führt über sehr buckeliges Gelände.

Ca. 30 km weiter am Jakobsweg komme ich nach Ellwangen. Die Stadt besitzt einen kleinen alten Stadtkern mit schönen Bürgerhäusern und eine interessante Doppelkirche. Die barocke evan­gelische Stadtpfarrkirche und die Stiftskirche St. Veit sind zusammengebaut. Sie überschneiden sich. Sehr freue ich mich über den schönen gotischen Kreuzgang und über die romanische Vorhalle von St.Vitus (St.Veit).


Kirche Ellwangen romanisches Portal

Links am (oberen bzw. linken) Bild sieht man die Türme der barocken Stadtpfarr­kirche, in der Bildmitte die ursprünglich roman­ische St. Veit Kirche. Im Inneren ist sie ebenfalls barockisiert worden.

Ein weiteres Bild zeigt den romanischer Eingang in die St. Veit Kirche


Die St. Veit Kirche entstand in den Jahren 1182 bis 1233. Sie ist die dritte Kirche an dieser Stelle und geht in ihren Anfängen auf das Jahr 764 zurück. Dieser monumentale Bau aus der Staufer­zeit gilt als die bedeutendste romanische Gewölbebasilika Schwabens.


Ellwangen Kreuzgang

Kreuzgang (Südflügel)

Ellwangen Kreuzgang

Kreuzgang (Ostflügel)

Der gotische Kreuzgang wurde 1468 - 1473 errichtet. Jedes der 29 Fenster weist ein etwas anders gearbeitetes Fischblasen­masswerk auf. Im Westflügel des Kreuzganges liegt die Liebfrauen­kapelle.


Romanische Westvorhalle der St. Veit Kirche

Aus romanischer Zeit sind nur noch drei Räume erhalten: Die Westvorhalle, die darüber liegende Michaelskapelle (unzugänglich) und die Krypta.


Ellwangen

Zwei Bilder aus Ellwangen

Ellwangen Minibild 1 Ellwangen Minibild 2


Nach einem Einkauf im Supermarkt fahre ich wieder weiter. Es geht sehr, sehr steil bergauf. Lange muss ich schieben. Endlich bin ich auf einem Plateau angelangt und es geht munter dahin, bis zu einem Ortsschild. Das passt aber gar nicht zu meinem Weg! Ein entsetzlicher Gedanke durchzuckt mich. Der steile Berg – alles umsonst. Ich muss wieder zurück und finde den Radweg nach Wasseralfingen /Aalen.

Gasthof Goldener Stern

Mein angestrebtes Ziel wäre Aalen. Aber in Ellwangen habe ich sehr viel Zeit verloren und es wird spät. So beginne ich nach einem Quartier Ausschau zu halten, finde aber keines. Erst in Wasseralfigen finde ich Hin­weisschilder. Im Gasthof "Goldener Stern" erhalte ich ein Zimmer, und was für eines. Da gibt es eine riesige Sitzgarnitur für mindestens 10 Personen. Ein gewaltiger Fernsehapparat steht da und lustigerweise zwei Stockbetten. Das Bade­zimmer ist vis-à-vis vom Gang. Das Etappen­bier und ein feines Abendessen geniesse ich in der Gast­stube.

Danach schlafe ich wunderbar.