Lang1 = new Image; Lang1.src = "../../../../images/DE.gif"; Lang2 = new Image; Lang2.src = "../../../../images/DE-M.gif"; Lang5 = new Image; Lang5.src = "../../../../images/E.gif"; Lang6 = new Image; Lang6.src = "../../../../images/E-M.gif";
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

Friedenstein Castle rises above the city of Gotha on the site of the former Grimmenstein Castle. The medieval castle was converted into a fortress in the 16th century, which was destroyed in 1567. After the Ernestine division of land in 1640, Gotha became the residential town of the newly created Duchy of Saxony-Gotha. Duke Ernst I, the Pious, laid the foundation stone in 1643 for the palace building planned by Andreas Rudolph, which was given the name Friedenstein, programmatic for the period of the Thirty Years' War. Until 1825, the palace was the residence of the Dukes of Saxe-Gotha and Altenburg and then, along with Coburg, the residence of the Dukes of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha until 1918.

Friedenstein castle


Inner court

The three-winged complex opens to the south, facing away from the city. The residential area in the north, as well as the pavilions as the end of the side wings in the south, have three upper floors, the side wings two. The facades are almost unadorned, with the exception of a few architectural elements.


Festival hall

Inside, the banqueting hall and reception and living rooms from the second phase of furnishing from 1683 to 1697 under Duke Frederick I are preserved. They were executed under the direction of Giovanni Caroveri. The stuccoworkers Johann Samuel and Johann Peter Rust and the painter Seyfried Lammers were active in the palace church, which was refurnished from 1695-1697. Further living quarters were decorated in the rococo style between 1747 and 1751 according to designs by Gottfried Heinrich Krohne. In the course of the 18th century, new rooms for the ducal family were also built in the east wing. From 1796, the court sculptor Friedrich Wilhelm Eugen Doell was involved in the furnishing of neoclassical living rooms in the west wing. From 1804, Duke August also had his room creations, influenced by his own ideas, realized in this suite of rooms.


Stucco ceiling Coats of arms, figures, pictures
in the castle

Wearing felt slippers, I slog reverently through the castle, take a look at the collections - for example, the Egyptian museum with sarcophagi and mummies - and visit the baroque theater built by Conrad Ekhof in 1775.


Ekhofsches Theater

The west pavilion of the castle houses the Ekhof Theater, completed in 1683, with its original stage equipment and auditorium rebuilt in the 18th century. It experienced its heyday under Conrad Ekhof between 1775 and 1779 as a German-language stage with its own ensemble.


In the east pavilion, which burned out in 1677, the pillared hall, furnished in 1687, with original library equipment is preserved.

To the east of the palace is the Orangery Garden with an orangery building and a greenhouse on each of the north and south sides, which were built from 1747 onwards. In this garden area the widely praised potted plant stock with up to 3000 plants was presented. After the destruction of the war, the exterior of the buildings has been restored, except for the southern greenhouse. The associated garden area shows the design from the time around 1930.


view

View from the castle: In front on the right is the monument of Ernst the Pious. Down the castle hill and the square you can see the town hall with the red tower in the background.


Blick auf die Mar­garethenkirche

View of Gotha from the castle. In the center the Margarethen church.


Cranach house

Further down on the main market is the Lucas Cranach House.

Lucas Cranach the Elder, born in 1472 in Kronach, Upper Franconia; died October 16, 1553 in Weimar, was a German Renaissance painter and graphic artist.
In 1501, at the age of 29, Cranach went to Vienna and remained there until 1504. In 1505, he appears for the first time in the documents of the city of Wittenberg and was given a position as court painter to Elector Frederick the Wise of Saxony. Around 1512 Cranach married Barbara Brengebier. She was born here and was a daughter of Jobst Brengebier, the mayor of Gotha.

more about


Note on the Saxe-Coburg-Gotha family

Through clever marriage policies, several European royal houses descended from the Saxe-Coburg-Gotha dynasty.

  • former Bulgarian and Portuguese kings

  • Belgian kings until today
    In Britain, the House of Hanover, a collateral line of the German noble family of Guelph, had ruled since 1714.
    Victoria married her maternal cousin Albert of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha in 1840. She thus entered the House of Saxe-Coburg-Gotha, and her children bore that name. Saxe-Coburg-Gotha thus became the name of the new dynasty ruling in Britain. Formally, the house still reigns there today, but during the First World War King George V saw fit to change the all too German-sounding name to House of Windsor.

  • In the female line, the House of Saxe-Coburg-Gotha rules in Sweden; the eldest daughter of the last Saxe-Coburg-Gotha Duke Carl Eduard, Princess Sibylla, married Prince Gustav Adolf of Sweden in 1932. Their joint son Carl XVI Gustaf has been King of Sweden since 1973. However, since the name of the ruling dynasty is determined by male, not female, succession, the House of Bernadotte rules Sweden today.Andreas Prinz von Sachsen-Coburg und Gotha (* 21. März 1943 auf Schloß Casel in der Niederlausitz) ist seit 1998 Oberhaupt des Hauses Sachsen-Coburg und Gotha.


 Wy of St. Jmes Erfurt - Eisenach

shell symbol

× Home Reisen Jakobswege deutsche Pilgerwege Gedanken zum Pilgern
Leipzig - Konstanz (Fahrrad)
Leipzig Leipzig- Freyburg Freyburg - Erfurt Erfurt Erfurt - Eisenach Eisenach - Tann Tann - Fulda Fulda Fulda - Kreuzberg Kreuzberg - Schweinfurt Schweinfurt - Ochsenfurt Ochsenfurt - Rothenburg Rothenburg-Wasseralfingen Wasseralfingen - Ulm Ulm Ulm - Biberach Biberach Biberach - Bad Waldsee Bad Waldsee - Konstanz   Ravensburg Konstanz
Geschichte(n) Interessantes Was gibt's Neues
☰ Auswahl

Über der Stadt Gotha erhebt sich Schloss Frieden­stein an Stelle der früheren Burg Grim­menstein. Die mittel­alterliche Burg wurde im 16. Jahr­hundert in eine Festung umgebaut, die 1567 zerstört wurde. Nach der ernestinischen Landes­teilung 1640 wurde Gotha Residenz­stadt des neu geschaffenen Herzog­tums Sachsen-Gotha. Herzog Ernst I., der Fromme, legte 1643 den Grundstein für den von Andreas Rudolph geplanten Schlossbau, der den für die Zeit des Dreißig­jährigen Krieges program­matischen Namen Friedenstein erhielt. Bis 1825 war das Schloss Residenz der Herzöge von Sachsen-Gotha und Altenburg und danach bis 1918 neben Coburg Residenz der Herzöge von Sachsen-Coburg und Gotha.


Die dreiflügelige Anlage öffnet sich von der Stadt abgewandt nach Süden. Der Wohn­bereich im Norden, wie auch die Pavillons als Abschluss der Seitenflügel im Süden besitzen drei Ober­geschosse, die Seitenflügel zwei. Die Fassaden zeigen sich - bis auf wenige Gliederungs­elemente der Architektur - fast schmucklos.


Im Inneren sind der Festsaal sowie Empfangs- und Wohnräume aus der zweiten Aus­stattungs­phase von 1683 bis 1697 unter Herzog Friedrich I. erhalten. Sie wurden unter der Leitung von Giovanni Caroveri ausgeführt. In der von 1695-1697 neu ausgestatteten Schlosskirche waren die Stuckatoren Johann Samuel und Johann Peter Rust sowie der Maler Seyfried Lammers tätig. Weitere Wohnräume wurden zwischen 1747 und 1751 nach Entwürfen von Gottfried Heinrich Krohne im Rokokostil gestaltet. Im Laufe des 18. Jahrhunderts entstanden außerdem neue Räume für die herzogliche Familie im Ostflügel. Ab 1796 war der Hofbildhauer Friedrich Wilhelm Eugen Doell im Westflügel an der Ausstattung klassizistischer Wohnräume beteiligt. In dieser Raumflucht ließ auch Herzog August ab 1804 seine von eigenen Ideen beeinflussten Raumschöpfungen verwirk­lichen.



In Filzpantoffeln schlapfe ich ehrfürchtig durch das Schloss, werfe einen Blick in die Sammlungen – z.B. das ägyptische Museum mit Sarkophagen und Mumien - und besichtige das von Conrad Ekhof 1775 errichtete Barock­theater.


Im Westpavillon des Schlosses befindet sich das 1683 fertig gestellte Ekhofsche Theater mit seiner originalen Bühnentechnik und dem im 18. Jahrhundert umgebauten Zuschauerraum. Es erlebte seine Blütezeit unter Conrad Ekhof zwischen 1775 und 1779 als deutschsprachige Bühne mit eigenem Ensemble.


In dem 1677 ausgebrannten Ostpavillon ist der 1687 eingerichtete Pfeilersaal mit originaler Bibliotheksausstattung er­halten.

Östlich des Schlosses liegt der Orangerie­garten mit jeweils einem Orangeriegebäude und einem Gewächs­haus an der Nord- und Südseite, die ab 1747 errichtet wurden. In diesem Gartenbereich wurde der weithin gerühmte Kübel­pflanzen­bestand mit bis zu 3000 Pflanzen präsentiert. Die Bauten sind nach der Kriegszerstörung bis auf das südliche Gewächshaus im Äußeren wieder­hergestellt. Die zugehörige Gartenanlage zeigt sich in der Gestaltung aus der Zeit um 1930.


Aussicht vom Schloss: Vorne rechts steht das Denkmal von Ernst dem Frommen. Den Schlossberg und den Maktplatz hinunter sieht man in Hintergrund das Rathaus mit dem roten Turm.


Blick vom Schloss auf Gotha. In der Mitte die Mar­garethenkirche.


Weiter unten am Hauptmarkt steht das Lucas Cranach Haus.

Lucas Cranach der Ältere, geboren 1472 in Kronach, Oberfranken; gestorben 16. Oktober 1553 in Weimar, war ein deutscher Maler und Grafiker der Renaissance.

Mit 29 Jahren ging Cranach 1501 nach Wien und blieb dort bis 1504. 1505 erscheint er in den Urkunden der Stadt Witten­berg erstmals und bekam eine Anstellung als Hofmaler bei Kurfürst Friedrich dem Weisen von Sachsen. Um 1512 heiratete Cranach Barbara Brengebier. Sie wurde hier geboren und war eine Tochter von Jobst Brengebier, dem Bürgermeister von Gotha.

mehr zu


Anmerkung zur Familie Sachsen-Coburg-Gotha

Durch geschickte Heiratspolitik stammen mehrere europäische Königshäuser vom Geschlecht Sachsen-Coburg-Gotha ab.

Andreas Prinz von Sachsen-Coburg und Gotha (* 21. März 1943 auf Schloß Casel in der Niederlausitz) ist seit 1998 Oberhaupt des Hauses Sachsen-Coburg und Gotha.


 Jakobsweg Erfurt - Eisenach