× Home Journeys   Countries and Cities Ways of St. James Görlitz - Leipzig (on foot) Thoughts on Pilgrimage
Leipzig - Konstanz (bicycle) shell symbol
Leipzig Leipzig- Freyburg   Merseburg Freyburg - Erfurt Erfurt   Naumburg Erfurt - Eisenach   Castle Friedenstein, Gotha   Wartburg Eisenach - Tann Tann - Fulda Fulda Fulda - Kreuzberg Kreuzberg - Schweinfurt Schweinfurt - Ochsenfurt Ochsenfurt - Rothenburg Rothenburg-Wasseralfingen Wasseralfingen - Ulm Ulm Ulm - Biberach Biberach Biberach - Bad Waldsee Bad Waldsee - Constance   Ravensburg Constance
History and stories Interesting things What's new ?
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

The Augustiner Kloster in Erfurt offers an excellent breakfast buffet, like in a four-star hotel. Well fortified, we set off in the direction of Gotha. It's a steep climb and the sun shows its effect. We stop behind a dung cart and change. Still going uphill, the side road ends, we have to take the busy road. But then we discover the cycle path on the other side of the road. Once there, I realise that my gloves are no longer there. Desperately I search all my pockets. I decide to ride back to the place where we changed clothes, but then I find them. They were wrapped in the jacket.

On the way to Gotha we get a bit lost and have to re-plan the route. Instead we come to beautiful quiet asphalted side roads lined with plum trees. Wonderful!

Back on the Way of St. James, we follow the signs into the centre of Gotha. A fantastic town. We park our bikes in front of the church. It is already noon and we plan the rest of the day. Hans has an idea: he wants to ride to Eisenach today and then climb the Wartburg without luggage. Then we could skip the Wartburg and the ride through the hilly Thuringian Forest the next day and ride along the Werra to Vacha.

Gotha, on the northern edge of the Thuringian Forest, was first mentioned as "Villa Gotaha" in 775 in a document of the Frankish king Charlemagne, making it one of the oldest settlements in Thuringia. The residential town of Gotha has had town charter since the 12th century.

The geographical publishing house founded by Justus Perthes in 1785 published the Gothaer Adelskalender, which became world-famous as the "GOTHA", until 1943.

Margarethenkirche am Neuen Markt

The picture shows the Margarethenkirche on Neumarkt in Gotha. The Gothic "bridal portal" with the statues of Luther and Melanchthon is remarkable. You can zoom in on it with the plus button! and enlarge the pictures of the statues by clicking on them!

Pluszeichen     Minuszeichen

Luther
×
Melanchthon
×
Historisches Rathaus am Hauptmarkt Stadtwappen am Rathaus

I like Gotha as a small town very much. There are still many Renaissance and Baroque houses. I'm particularly interested in the Friedenstein Palace of the Princes of Saxe-Coburg-Gotha. It's much bigger than I imagined; it's huge. A baroque jewel.

I push the bike up the hill and ride into the gigantic castle courtyard and buy a ticket for the tour. To see everything, all the exhibitions, the palace park and orangery, you have to allow at least half a day. I have just under an hour. But that's enough for the most beautiful rooms and the baroque theatre.

Time is pressing. Hans is already sitting in the café waiting for me. After all, I want to eat something! it will be a slice of pizza.

Hans überquert die Bachbrücke

The ride to Eisenach becomes an adventure. After Kleinrettbach we lose the sandy cycle path and end up in a meadow. We think somehow it goes already further. that ends in the total fiasco and we have to go back again. Over an adventurous bridge we reach together with the brook over a valley. The brook really flows over the bridge!

On the other side we find the bike path again.


cycle path cycle path arround the Hörselberge

Cycle path around the Hörselberge (Hörsel mountains). The pilgrims path leads over the mountains.


Finally, a nice bike path again, or a side road and we come to Sattelstädt. The pilgrimage route leads over the Hörselberge and we cycle around it on cycle paths and the B7. The shell signs lead us to Eisenach. Already from Gotha I made a reservation for us by phone in the deaconess home. The voice on the phone was very pleasant and the concerned question whether we wanted coffee for breakfast was very reassuring. The reception is exceedingly warm. The sister with whom I had spoken shows us the pilgrims' room. It is on the top floor, where the other sisters live. The room is comfortably furnished, bed linen and towels are ready. There is information for pilgrims and a pilgrim's emergency kit with all kinds of ointments and medicines for sores and blisters - which we do not need. Right next to the pilgrim room is the bathroom.

  • Eisenach Deaconesses Motherhouseour pilgrim hostel
  • Deaconesses Motherhouse
  • Pilgrim room
  • Pilgrim room

Pictures from the tour in Eisenach

Georgenkirche: The originally Gothic hall church was rebuilt in the Baroque period. Martin Luther preached here and J. S. Bach was baptized here. Elisabeth of Thuringia has married here.

The Luther House in Eisenach is one of the oldest preserved half-timbered houses in Thuringia. According to tradition, Martin Luther lived here with the Cotta family during his school years from 1498 to 1501.

  • Nikolaitor
  • Nikolaitoronly preserved city gate
  • St. George's Church
  • Market square
  • town hall
  • St. Georg's fountain
  • Georgsbrunnen am Marktplatz
  • Market square
  • Luther house
  • Luther house
  • Luther house

But first we leave our luggage in the motherhouse of the deaconesses, our hostel, and ride with the now light wheels to the Wartburg. We still have time before the last guided tour at 17:00. The Wartburg was renovated in the 19th century and decorated with paintings by Moritz von Schwind. Partly it seems a bit kitschy. The museum in the Wartburg, which we will visit after the tour, has some interesting Cranach's. At the end of the museum tour, we come to the Luther Room. This is where Martin Luther translated the Bible.

With the wheel it goes quickly back to Eisenach. Now we finally take a long shower and find a restaurant that still has Thuringian sausages with mashed potatoes and red cabbage ready for me.

More about Eisenach and Johann Sebastian Bach on the pages "in the footsteps of Bach"

Erfurt - Eisenach

Das Augustiner Kloster in Erfurt bietet ein hervorragendes Frühstücksbuffet, wie in einem Viersternhotel. Gut gestärkt fahren wir los Richtung Gotha. Es geht steil bergauf und die Sonne zeigt ihre Wirkung. Hinter einem Mistwagen bleiben wir stehen und ziehen uns um. Immer noch geht es bergauf, die Nebenfahrbahn hört auf, wir müssen auf die stark befahrene Strasse. Doch dann entdecken wir den Radweg auf der anderen Strassenseite. Dort angelangt stelle ich fest, meine Handschuhe sind nicht mehr da. Verzweifelt durchsuche ich alle Taschen. Schon beschliesse ich, bis zu der Stelle zurückzufahren, wo wir uns umgezogen haben, da finde ich sie. Sie waren in der Jacke eingewickelt.

Auf dem Weg nach Gotha verfahren wir uns etwas und müssen die Route neu planen. Dafür kommen wir auf schöne ruhige asphaltierte Nebenstrassen, die von Zwetschgenbäumen gesäumt sind. Herrlich!

Wieder am Jakobsweg folgen wir den Schildern bis in den Kern von Gotha. Eine fantastische Stadt. Vor der Kirche stellen wir unsere Räder ab. Es ist bereits Mittag und wir planen den restlichen Tag. Hans hat eine Idee: Er will heute noch bis Eisenach fahren und dann ohne Gepäck auf die Wartburg. Dann könnten wir am nächsten Tag die Wartburg und die Fahrt durch den hügeligen Thüringer Wald auslassen und entlang der Werra bis nach Vacha fahren.

Margarethenkirche am Neuen Markt

Gotha, am Nordrand des Thüringer Waldes, wird erstmals als "Villa Gotaha" im Jahre 775 in einer Urkunde des Frankenkönigs Karl des Großen erwähnt und gehört damit zu den ältesten Siedlungen Thüringens. Die Residenzstadt Gotha besitzt seit dem 12. Jahrhundert das Stadtrecht.

Im 1785 von Justus Perthes gegründeten geographischen Verlag erschien bis 1943 der Gothaer Adelskalender, der als der "GOTHA" weltbekannt wurde.

Pluszeichen     Minuszeichen

Im Bild links die Margarethenkirche am Neumarkt in Gotha. Bemerkenswert ist das gotische „Brautportal“ mit den Statuen Luthers und Melanchthons. Sie können es mit der Plustaste ranzoomen! und die Statuen via untenstehenden Links ansehen:

Luther

Melanchthon

Historisches Rathaus am Hauptmarkt

Stadtwappen am Rathaus

Gotha gefällt mir als Städtchen ausgezeichnet. Es gibt noch viele Renaissance- und Barockhäuser. Ganz besonders interessiere ich mich für das Schloss Friedenstein der Fürsten Sachsen-Coburg-Gotha. Es ist viel grösser, als ich es mir vorgestellt habe; es ist riesig. Ein Barockjuwel.

Ich schiebe das Rad auf dem Hügel und fahre in den gigantischen Schlosshof und kaufe ein Ticket für die Besichtigung. Um alles zu sehen, all die Ausstellungen, den Schlosspark und Orangerie muss man mindestens einen halben Tag rechnen. Mir bleibt knapp eine Stunde. Das reicht aber für die schönsten Räume und das Barocktheater.

Die Zeit drängt. Hans sitzt bereits im Café und wartet auf mich. Schliesslich will ich auch noch etwas essen – es wird ein Pizzastück.

Hans überquert die Bachbrücke

Die Fahrt nach Eisenach wird zum Abenteuer. Nach Kleinrettbach verlieren wir den sandigen Radweg und enden auf einer Wiese. Wir meinen irgendwie gehe es schon weiter – das endet im totalen Fiasko und wir müssen wieder zurück. Über eine abenteuerliche Brücke gelangen wir samt dem Bach über ein Tal. Der Bach fliesst wirklich über die Brücke!

Auf der anderen Seite finden wir den Radweg wieder.

Radweg rund um die Hörselberge

Radweg rund um die Hörselberge

Endlich wieder ein schöner Radweg, bzw. eine Nebenstrasse und wir kommen nach Sattelstädt. Der Pilgerweg führt über die Hörselberge und wir fahren auf Radwegen und der B7 darum herum. Die Muschelzeichen führen uns nach Eisenach. Bereits von Gotha aus habe ich telefonisch im Diakonissinenheim für uns reserviert. Die Stimme am Telefon war sehr angenehm und die besorgte Frage, ob wir Kaffee zum Frühstück wünschen, war sehr beruhigend. Der Empfang ist überaus herzlich. Die Schwester, mit der ich gesprochen hatte, zeigt uns das Pilgerzimmer. Es ist im obersten Stock, dort wo auch die andere Schwestern leben. Das Zimmer ist komfortabel eingerichtet, Bettwäsche und Handtücher liegen bereit. Es liegen Informationen für Pilger auf und es gibt einen Pilgernotkoffer mit allen möglichen Salben und Medikamenten für wunde Stellen und Blasen - was wir aber nicht benötigen. Direkt neben dem Pilgerzimmer ist das Badezimmer.

Diakonissinnenheim in Eisenach

Marktplatz

Pilgerzimmer aussen

Pilgerzimmer innen

Georgenkirche: Die ursprünglich gotische Hallenkirche wurde in der Barockzeit umgebaut. Hier predige Martin Luther und hier wurde J. S. Bach getauft. Klick mal auf die goldene Figur am Georgsbrunnen!

Links: Das Rathaus am Marktplatz.

Zunächst lassen wir aber unser Gepäck hier und fahren mit den jetzt leichten Rädern auf die Wartburg. Wir haben noch Zeit vor der letzte Führung um 17:00. Die Wartburg wurde im 19.Jh. renoviert und mit Gemälden von Moritz von Schwind ausgeschmückt. Teilweise wirkt das ein wenig kitschig. Das Museum in der Wartburg, das wir anschliessend an die Führung besichtigen, besitzt einige interessante Cranach’s. Am Ende des Museums-Rundgangs kommt man zur Luther-Stube. Dort hat Martin Luther die Bibel übersetzt.

Mit dem Rad geht es rasch wieder zurück nach Eisenach. Jetzt wird endlich ausgiebig geduscht und wir finden ein Lokal, das für mich noch Thüringer Bratwürste mit Kartoffelpüree und Rotkraut bereit hat.

Mehr über Eisenach und Johann Sebastian Bach auf den Seiten "auf den Spuren von Bach"

  Erfurt


Übersicht Leipzig - Konstanz

weiter nach Tann