× Home Journeys Ways of St. James Artstetten
Danube cycling
Danube cycling overview Donaueschingen
Passau - Melk
Passau Engelszell Schlögener Schlinge Aschach Wilhering Linz Sankt Florian Enns Sankt Pantaleon Wallsee-Mitterkirchen Baumgartenberg Burg Clam Grein Strudengau Persenbeug Ybbs Ybbs - Pöchlarn Pöchlarn Melk
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag
Burg Clam

The travel guide says "one of the best preserved castles in Austria". The way from the Baumgartenberg monastery was strenuous, because at noon the sun was burning and it went uphill. Finally, when we reached the top, a magnificent shady avenue of oak trees leads up to the castle. There were no tourist herds, we were all alone.


Arcade courtyard of Clam Castle in flower decoration

When we rang at the gate a nice lady came after some time and offered us a guided tour. It turned out to be the Countess Clam. Since 23 generations the castle Clam is now owned by the family.

In 1149 the castle Clam is mentioned in a document for the first time. At the time of the builder and owner Otto von Machland it consisted of the 5-storey palace (residential tower) and the keep (round tower).


5-storey residential tower (Palas)

These two buildings, both over 40 metres high, can be seen from afar due to their exposed position on the granite massif above the gorge.

The second major construction phase took place in the Gothic period, when the eastern part with the "new" castle chapel was built. This we could visit. The castle survived the uncertain times of the 30-year war, it was never taken, but was in a very bad condition around 1600.

Under the rule of Baron Johann Gottfried von Clam, the castle was renovated in the 17th century (Renaissance) and the village of Klam was expanded.


Speisesaal, Burg Clam

In the 18th century the farm buildings, stables and cart sheds were built, which today form the outer courtyard of the castle. Later the castle was gradually converted from a fortress into a habitable castle. The moat was filled in and gave way to ornamental shrubs and flowers, and the drawbridge became a fortified access road.
The castle also survived the two world wars of the 20th century relatively unscathed. Only the cold war left its traces: In the eighties Heinrich Clam had a civil defence bunker built against nuclear radiation.


Group picture with the Countess Clam

The castellan had the day off, so the Countess Clam herself led us through the castle - thank you very much!

see also: www.burgclam.com


Fahrradsymbol Fahrradsymbol

Danube cycle route

× Home Reisen Jakobswege
Donauradwandern
Donauradweg Übersicht Donaueschingen
Passau - Melk
Passau Engelszell Schlögener Schlinge Aschach Wilhering Linz Sankt Florian Enns Sankt Pantaleon Wallsee-Mitterkirchen Baumgartenberg Burg Clam Grein Strudengau Persenbeug Ybbs Ybbs - Pöchlarn Pöchlarn Melk
☰            
Burg Clam

Im Reiseführer steht "eine der besterhaltenen Burgen Österreichs". Der Weg vom Kloster Baumgartenberg her war beschwerlich, weil zu Mittag die Sonne brannte und es bergauf ging. Endlich oben angelangt, führt eine prächtige schattenspendende Eichenallee bis zur Burg. Da waren keine Touristen Herden, wir waren ganz allein.

Arkadenhof der Burg Clam im Blumenschmuck Als wir am Tor läuteten kam nach einiger Zeit eine nette Dame und bot uns eine Führung an. Es stellte sich heraus, dass sie Gräfin Clam war. Seit 23 Generationen ist die Burg Clam nun schon im Besitz der Familie.

1149 wird die Burg Clam erstmals urkundlich erwähnt. Zur Zeit des Bauherrn und Besitzers Otto von Machland bestand sie aus dem 5-stöckigen Palas (Wohnturm) und dem Bergfried (Rundturm).


5 stöckiger Wohnturm (Palas)

Diese beiden über 40 Meter hohen Gebäude sind durch ihre exponierte Lage auf dem Granitmassiv oberhalb der Klamschlucht schon von Weitem zu sehen.

Der zweite große Bauabschnitt erfolgte in der Gotik, als der Ostteil mit der "neuen" Burgkapelle gebaut wurde. Diese konnten wir besichtigen. Die unsicheren Zeiten des 30-jährigen Krieges überstand die Burg, sie  wurde nie eingenommen, war aber um 1600 in einem sehr schlechten Zustand.

Unter der Herrschaft von Freiherr Johann Gottfried von Clam wurde im 17. Jahrhundert  (Renaissance) die Burg renoviert und der Ort Klam ausgebaut.


Speisesaal, Burg Clam Im 18. Jahrhundert wurden die Wirtschaftsgebäude, Stallungen und Wagenremisen erbaut, die heute den äußeren Burghof bilden. In weiterer Folge wurde die Burg nach und nach von einer Festung in eine bewohn­bare Burg umgebaut. Der Burggraben wurde zugeschüttet und wich Zier­sträuchern und Blumen und aus der Zugbrücke wurde eine befestigte Zufahrt.

Auch die beiden Weltkriege des 20. Jahrhunderts hat die Burg relativ unbeschadet überstanden. Lediglich der kalte Krieg hinterließ seine Spuren: In den achtziger Jahren liess Heinrich Clam einen Zivilschutz-Bunker gegen atomare Strahlungen errichten.


Gruppenbild mit der Gräfin Frau Clam

Der Kastellan hatte frei, also führte uns die Gräfin Clam höchstpersönlich durch die Burg - Vielen Dank!

Siehe auch: www.burgclam.com


Fahrradsymbol

Donauradweg