× Home Journeys Monasteries Ways of St. Jacques Way of St. Jacques Upper Austria
Danube cycling
Danube cycling overview Donaueschingen
Passau - Melk
Passau   Passau Mariahilfberg Engelszell Schlögener Schlinge Aschach Linz Sankt Florian Enns Sankt Pantaleon Wallsee-Mitterkirchen Baumgartenberg Burg Clam Grein Strudengau Persenbeug Ybbs Ybbs - Pöchlarn Pöchlarn Melk
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

Around 1145, the founding family, the "Lords of Wilhering", moved their residence to their newly built Waxenberg Castle and made the abandoned Wilhering Castle and the associated land in the Danube valley available to the Styrian Cistercian monastery of Rein for the founding of a daughter. The two young knights Ulrich and Kolo are described as the actual founders.

From the monastery Rein 12 monks and the newly appointed abbot came to Wilhering.

To be mentioned are two abbots who were active here:

  1. Anton Wolfradt, abbot of Wilhering 1612 - 1613
    from 1631 prince bishop of Vienna, where he resided in the castle of my Viennese home village "Ober St. Veit" and did a lot for the design of Ober St. Veit. He died in 1639 and is buried in St. Stephen's Cathedral. The Wofrath Square reminds of him.
  2. Alan Aichinger, that was the name of the abbot 1753 - 1780.
Cistercian abbey Wilhering

The Cistercian abbey was rebuilt after a fire in the 18th century. The Collegiate Church of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary was built using the Romanesque-Gothic church from 1733 and is a unique rococo jewel. The colourful ceiling painting was painted by Bartholomeo Altomonte, whom we already met in Engelhartszell.

Stiftskirche Wilhering

Those who enter the church through the simple Romanesque portal from the Gründerzeit,

Romanesque portal

can't help but be amazed. Very much in contrast to the rigid building regulations of the Cistercian Order, one experiences in the interior of the church the exuberant splendor of the rococo with hundreds of charming angels. On a banner in the ceiling fresco is written Assumpta est Maria in caelum, gaudent angeli (Assumed is Maria in heaven, above which the angels rejoice) - and how they rejoice, the angels.

interîor view Wilhering church

Detail of the interior of the church with some angels


bike symbol bike symbol

Danube cycle path

Upper Austrian Way of St. Jacques
shell symbol

× Home Reisen Klöster Jakobswege Jakobsweg Oberösterreich
Donauradwandern
Donauradweg Übersicht Donaueschingen
Passau - Melk
Passau Engelszell Schlögener Schlinge Aschach Wilhering Linz Enns Sankt Pantaleon Wallsee-Mitterkirchen Baumgartenberg Burg Clam Grein Persenbeug Ybbs Ybbs - Pöchlarn Pöchlarn Melk
☰            

Die Stifterfamilie, die "Herren von Wilhering" verlegten um 1145 ihren Wohnsitz auf die von ihnen neu erbaute Burg Waxenberg und stellten die aufgelassene Burg Wilhering und das zugehörige Land im Donautal dem steirischen Zisterzienserkloster Rein für eine Tochtergründung zur Verfügung. Als eigentliche Stifter werden die beiden jungen Ritter Ulrich und Kolo bezeichnet.

Aus dem Kloster Rein kamen 12 Mönche und der neu bestellte Abt nach Wilhering.

Zu erwähnen wären noch zwei Äbte, die hier wirkten:

  1. Anton Wolfradt, Abt von Wilhering 1612 – 1613
    ab 1631 Fürstbischof von Wien, wo er in meinem Wiener Heimatdorf "Ober St. Veit" im Schloss residierte und sehr viel für die Gestaltung von Ober St. Veit tat. Er starb 1639 und ist im Stephansdom begraben. Der Wofrathplatz erinnert an ihn.
  2. Alan Aichinger, so hiess der Abt 1753 – 1780.
Zisterzienserabtei Wilhering

Die Zisterzienserabtei wurde nach einem Brand im 18. Jh. neu aufgebaut. Die Stiftskirche Maria-Himmelfahrt wurde unter Verwendung der romanisch-gotischen Kirche ab 1733 erbaut und ist ein einzigartiges Rokokojuwel. Das bunte Deckengemälde stammt von Bartholomeo Altomonte, dem wir auch schon in Engelhartszell begegnet sind.

Stiftskirche Wilhering

Wer durch das schlichte romanische Portal aus der Gründerzeit in die Kirche tritt,

romanisches Portal Stiftskirche Wilhering

kommt aus dem Staunen nicht heraus. Sehr im Kontrast zu den rigiden Bauvorschriften des Zisterzienserordens erlebt man im Inneren der Kirche die überschäumende Pracht des Rokokos mit Hunderten von reizenden Engeln. Auf einem Spruchband im Deckenfresko steht: Assumpta est Maria in caelum, gaudent angeli (Aufgenommen ist Maria im Himmel, darüber jubeln die Engeln) - und wie sie jubeln, die Engeln.

Innenansicht Kirche Wilhering

Ausschnitt aus dem Kircheninneren mit einigen Engeln


Fahrradsymbol

Donauradweg

oberösterreichischer Jakobsweg