× Home Journeys Monestaries
Way of St. Jacques Austria
Way of St. Jacques Austria Herzogenburg - Göttweig Göttweig Maria Langegg Maria-Langegg - Melk Melk - Maria Taferl   Maria Taferl Maria Taferl - Ybbs Salzburg Wörgl Innsbruck
Danube cycling
Passau

...

Pöchlarn Wachau   Castle Ruin Aggstein   Schönbühel Monestary Dürnstein Krems Traismauer Ahrenberger Kellergasse Atzenbrugg Tulln Greifenstein Klosterneuburg entrance to Vienna Vienna
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

The Melk Benedictine Monastery

is situated on a hill above the Danube in Lower Austria at the beginning of the Wachau.

Melk Abbey

Margrave Leopold I made the castle in Melk his residence in 976 and his successors furnished it with valuable treasures and relics. For about 100 years Melk was the main castle and burial place of the Babenbergs in 'Ostarrichi', Bavaria's eastern Mark. When the margraves extended their power and moved their seat further east to Klosterneuburg, Margrave Leopold II gave the castle to Benedictine monks from Lambach in 1089. Since then monks have lived and worked here in uninterrupted succession according to the Rule of St. Benedict. Already since the 12th century a school has been connected with the monastery and valuable manuscripts have been collected and prepared in the library. At the time of the so-called "Melker Reform" in the 15th century, the monastery was the starting point of one of the most important medieval monastic reforms and maintained close ties with the humanists at the University of Vienna.

The baroque Melk Monastery

The magnificent baroque building, which is visible from afar today, was built by Jakob Prandtauer between 1702 and 1736. Important artists of that time (J. M. Rottmayr, P. Troger, L. Mattielli, A. Beduzzi, J. W. Bergl, P. Widerin etc.) contributed to the construction. After a fire in 1738, the church towers were fitted with the rococo helmets visible today.

1 / 5
Weg zum Stift
way to the abby
2 / 5
Babenbergertürme
towers from the time of the Babenberger
3 / 5
entrance
entrance to the abby
4 / 5
to the Passauerhof
towards Passauerhof
5 / 5
Passauerhof
the Passauerhof, the largest of 8 inner courtyards

Abbey visit:

Via the Kaiserstiege one gets to the first floor, where the tour starts in the 196m long Kaisergang.

Kaiserstiege

During the tour you will be surprised by a flood of pictures and frescos. Here is a small compilation of the paintings that one should see.

Famous in Melk Abbey are the frescoes in the Abbey Church by Johann Michael Rottmayer (1716-1722) and/or the ceiling frescoes in the Marble Hall and Library by Paul Troger from 1731 and 1732. Further Troger-frescoes can be found outside the viewing area in the Festival Hall of the Prelature, in the Kolomanisaal and in the Imperial Oratory.

Five of the six altarpieces of the collegiate church are also from Rottmayr and Troger. The sixth altarpiece, that of the Leopoldi Altar by Georg Bachmann (1650), is the only painting that was taken over from the old collegiate church in the baroque new building. It was probably reinstalled because it depicts the founding history of Melk.

A special feature is the gallery on the Kaisergang. It is a closed series of larger-than-life portraits of all Austrian regents from Leopold I to Emperor Karl I by Josef Kremer (around 1750) and from Maria Theresa onwards by contemporary painters.

The altarpieces by Jörg Breu the Elder (around 1500/1502) are remarkable in the newly designed Abbey Museum. These are eight panels, painted on both sides, of a late Gothic winged altar with depictions of Mary's life and the Passion story, among other things.

Prälatensaal

For me as a Cranach fan, the highlight is the Prelature's banqueting hall, which houses a baroque picture gallery with the panel painting "Madonna in the Vine Arbour" by Lukas Cranach (around 1525) and 146 small-format paintings, mostly copies after works from the 17th and 18th centuries. Unfortunately the banqueting hall is only open to the public on special occasions. I was lucky!


Bibliothek Stift Melk

Library with ceiling painting by Paul Troger


Alkane Stift Melk

The altane is the connecting balcony between the marble hall and the library. From the Altane there is a beautiful view of the Danube, the Wachau landscape as well as of the town of Melk and the Danube power station.


Stiftskirche Melk, Innenaufnahme

A view into the collegiate church. At the high altar the martyrdom of the apostles Peter and Paul is embodied.


Sarkophag des hl. Koloman

The left side altar in the transept contains the bones of Saint Koloman in a sarcophagus.

statue of Koloman

His statue stands to the west in front of the church.


External front of the Melk Abbey

The impressive 320 meter long outer front of the monastery.


bicycle symbol bicycle symbol

Danube cycle route


Maria Langegg

Muschelsymbol

Maria Taferl

× Home Reisen Klöster
Jakobsweg Österreich
Jakobsweg Österreich Herzogenburg - Göttweig Göttweig Maria Langegg Maria-Langegg - Melk Melk - Maria Taferl   Maria Taferl Maria Taferl - Ybbs Salzburg Wörgl Innsbruck
Donauradwandern
Wachau   Burgruine Aggstein   Kloster Schönbühel Dürnstein Krems Traismauer Ahrenberger Kellergasse Atzenbrugg Tulln Greifenstein Klosterneuburg Einfahrt Wien Wien
☰            

Das Benediktinerstift Melk liegt auf einem Hügel über der Donau in Niederösterreich am Beginn der Wachau.

Stift Melk

Markgraf Leopold I. machte 976 die Burg in Melk zu seiner Residenz und seine Nachfolger statteten sie mit wertvollen Schätzen und Reliquien aus. Etwa 100 Jahre lang war Melk die Hauptburg und Grabstätte der Babenberger in 'Ostarrichi', Bayerns östlicher Mark. Als die Markgrafen ihre Macht ausdehnten und ihren Sitz weiter nach Osten nach Klosterneuburg verlegten, übergab 1089 Markgraf Leopold II. die Burg Benediktinermönchen aus Lambach. Seither leben und wirken hier bis heute in ununterbrochener Folge Mönche nach der Regel des hl. Benedikt. Schon seit dem 12. Jahrhundert ist eine Schule mit dem Kloster verbunden und in der Bibliothek wurden wertvolle Handschriften gesammelt und angefertigt. Zur Zeit der so genannten “Melker Reform” im 15. Jahrhundert war das Stift Ausgangspunkt einer der bedeutendsten mittelalterlichen Klosterreformen und unterhielt enge Verbindungen zu den Humanisten an der Wiener Universität.

Das barocke Stift Melk

Der heute weithin sichtbare grossartige Barockbau wurde von Jakob Prandtauer 1702-1736 errichtet. Bedeutende Künstler dieser Zeit (J. M. Rottmayr, P. Troger, L. Mattielli, A. Beduzzi, J. W. Bergl, P. Widerin etc.) haben mitgewirkt. Nach einem Brand 1738 wurden die Kirchentürme mit den heute sichtbaren Rokokohelmen ausgestattet.

Eingang ins Stift

Passauerhof im Stift Melk

Der Passauerhof, der grösste von acht Innenhöfen

Stiftsbesichtigung: Beim Rundgang wird man von einer Flut von Bildern und Fresken überrascht. Hier eine kleine Zusammenstellung der Gemälde, die man sehen sollte.

Berühmt sind im Stift Melk die Fresken in der Stiftskirche von Johann Michael Rottmayer (1716-1722) bzw. die Deckenfresken in Marmorsaal und Bibliothek von Paul Troger von 1731 und 1732. Weitere Troger-Fresken gibt es außerhalb des Besichtigungsbereiches im Festsaal der Prälatur, im Kolomanisaal und im Kaiseroratorium.

Von Rottmayr und Troger stammen auch fünf der sechs Altarbilder der Stiftskirche. Das sechste Altarbild, jenes beim Leopoldi-Altar von Georg Bachmann (1650), ist das einzige Bild, das beim barocken Neubau aus der alten Stiftskirche übernommen wurde. Es wurde wohl deshalb wieder aufgestellt, weil es eine Darstellung der Melker Gründungsgeschichte zum Inhalt hat.

Eine Besonderheit ist die Galerie am Kaisergang. Es handelt sich dabei um eine geschlossene Reihe von überlebensgroßen Porträts aller österreichischer Regenten von Leopold I. bis Kaiser Karl I. von Josef Kremer (um 1750) bzw. ab Maria Theresia von zeitgenössischen Malern.

Im neu gestalteten Stiftsmuseum sind die Altarbilder von Jörg Breu dem Älteren (um 1500/1502) bemerk­enswert. Es handelt sich dabei um acht, beidseitig bemalte Tafeln eines spätgotischen Flügelaltares mit Darstellungen u. a. aus dem Marienleben und der Passionsgeschichte.

Prälatensaal

Für mich als Cranach-Fan ist das Highlight der Festsaal der Prälatur, der eine barocke Gemälde-galerie mit dem Tafelbild „Madonna in der Weinlaube“ von Lukas Cranach (um 1525) und 146 kleinformatigen Gemälden, grossteils Kopien nach Werken des 17. und 18. Jhs., beherbergt. Leider ist der Festsaal nur zu besonderen Gelegenheiten öffentlich zugänglich. Ich hatte Glück!


Bibliothek Stift Melk

Bibliothek mit Deckengemälde von Paul Troger


Die Altane ist der Verbindungsbalkon zwischen dem Marmorsaal und der Bibliothek. Von der Altane aus gibt es einen wunderschönen Blick auf die Donau, die Wachaulandschaft sowie auf die Stadt Melk und auf das Donaukraftwerk (leider!)


Stiftskirche Melk, Innenaufnahme

Ein Blick in die Stiftskirche. Am Hochaltar wird das Martyrium der Apostel Petrus und Paulus verkörpert.


Sarkophag des hl. Koloman

Der linke Seitenaltar im Querschiff enthält in einem Sarkophag die Gebeine des heiligen Koloman.


Die eindrucksvolle 320 Meter lange Aussen­front des Stiftes.


Fahrradsymbol

Donauradweg


Maria Langegg

Maria Taferl