× Home Reisen
Wien
My hometown Vienna St Stephen's Cathedral Schönbrunn Schottenstift Hermes Villa Ober St. Veit Otto Wagner Church former Servitenkloster Vienna city wall Sisi memorial sites Franz Schubert Biedermeier cementery St Marx
History /stories interesting things Whats new
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

The Imperial Crypt (Capuchin Crypt) is located under the Capuchin Church on the Neuer Markt in the centre of Vienna. It is the last resting place of the imperial Habsburg family.

Empress Anna, the wife of Emperor Matthias, stipulated in her will in 1618 that a Capuchin monastery including a burial place for her and her husband would be built within the city walls of Vienna.

To this day, 146 people, including 12 emperors and 19 empresses and queens, have found their last resting place in the crypt. Not all Habsburgs are here. Rudolf I lies in Speyer and the first Habsburgs, who had originally been buried in Switzerland in the Basler Münster and in the Königsfelden monastery church, were first transferred to the St. Blasien monastery due to the turmoil of the Reformation and then, when this monastery was to be abolished, to the St. Paul monastery in the Lavantal valley (Carinthia). The homepage of the Capuchin crypt provides information about other burial sites of the Habsburgs.

Sarg von Maria Theresia und Franz I. Stephan

Maria Theresia and emperor Franz I. Stephan

Sarg von Kaiser Franz Josef, Sisi und Rudolf

Franz Josef (center) with Sisi (left) and Rudolf.
Sisi died on 10 September 1898 due to an assassination. That was more than 120 years ago and still flowers are brought to her.

Gertrud von Supplinburg

Looking for Gertrud:

Gertrud von Supplinburg did not belong to the Habsburgs, but through marriage to her second husband, Duke Heinrich II, Jasomirgott, belonged to the Babenbergs. She also died in 1143, about 500 years before the Imperial crypt was built.

She is not buried here.

Note: where are the Babenbergs buried?

× Home Reisen
Wien
Meine Heimatstadt Wien Stephansdom Schönbrunn Schottenstift Hermes Villa Ober St. Veit Otto Wagner Kirche ehem. Servitenkloster Die Wiener Stadtmauer Sisi Gedenkstätten Franz Schubert Biedermeierfriedhof St Marx
 ☰ Auswahl

Die Kaisergruft (Kapuziner­gruft) befindet sich unter der Kapuzinerkirche am Neuen Markt in der Wiener Innenstadt. Sie ist die letzte Ruhestätte der kaiserlichen Familie Habsburg.

Kaiserin Anna, die Gemahlin von Kaiser Matthias, legte 1618 testamentarisch fest, dass ein Kapuzinerkloster samt Begräbnisstätte für sie und ihren Gemahl innerhalb der Stadtmauern Wiens errichtet werde.

In der Gruftanlage haben bis heute 146 Personen, darunter 12 Kaiser und 19 Kaiserinnen und Königinnen, ihre letzte Ruhestätte gefunden. Es sind nicht alle Habsburger hier. Rudolf I. liegt in Speyer und die ersten Habsburger, die ursprünglich in der Schweiz im Basler Münster und in der Klosterkirche Königsfelden bestattet worden waren, wurden wegen der Wirren in der Reformation zunächst ins Kloster St. Blasien und dann, als auch dieses Kloster aufgehoben werden sollte, ins Kloster St. Paul im Lavantal (Kärnten) verlegt. Über weitere Begräbnisstätten der Habsburger gibt die Homepage der Kapuzinergruft Auskunft.

Sarg von Maria Theresia und Franz I.

Maria Theresia und Kaiser Franz I. Stephan

Sarg von Kaiser Franz Josef, Sisi und Rudolf

Franz Josef (Mitte) mit Sisi (links) und Rudolf.
Sisi starb am 10. September 1898 auf Grund eines Attentats. Das war vor mehr als 100 Jahren und noch immer werden ihr Blumen gebracht.



Gertrud von Supplinburg

Auf der Suche nach Gertrud:

Gertrud von Supplinburg, gehörte nicht zu den Habsburgern, sondern durch Heirat mit ihrem zweiten Mann, Herzog Heinrich II, Jasomirgott zu den Babenbergern. Ausserdem starb sie bereits im Jahre 1143, also ca. 500 Jahre bevor die Gruftanlage gebaut wurde.
Hier ist sie nicht begraben.



Hinweis: wo sind denn die Babenberger begraben?