× Home Family Journeys   countries and cities
Empress Elisabeth
Titel image left side Vienna Schönbrunn Hermes Villa Laxenburg Bad Ischl Sisi Memorials Franz & Sisi on Zanzibar? Sisi paintings Achilleon on Korfu Artstetten Last years of the empress last resting place Sisi's message for us Sisi and the Heine memorial Coronation Church Budapest Madeira
History /stories interesting things Whats new
  ☰ Flagge Deutsch British flag

Fortunately, during the construction of the New Palace (Blauer Hof) the Old Palace was not demolished and so both castles exist today, although they suffered greatly during the war.

The Old Palace dates back to the 13th century and came into the possession of the Habsburgs in the 14th century. After the Second World War and a thorough renovation, the Old Palace belongs to the Laxenburg Betriebsgesellschaft and houses the Austrian Film Archive.

Laxenburg came into the possession of Maria Theresia in the 18th century after several renovations by Lucas v. Hildebrandt and others. She enlarged the complex to include the "Blaue Hof" (= New Palace) and outbuildings, which served the courtly pleasure.
The newly married Empress Elisabeth spent her honeymoon here with her Franz Joseph. The young marriage luck was overshadowed by a massive diplomatic crisis in connection with the Crimean War. Emperor Franz Joseph had to travel every morning from Laxenburg to the Vienna Hofburg.

In order to escape boredom, Elisabeth - to the chagrin of her mother-in-law - explored the surroundings on her own. It was not only that spontaneous rides without appropriate accompaniment were regarded as improper behaviour for the empress's position: such adventures also represented a high security risk for Elisabeth.

Here in Laxenburg Elisabeth gave birth to Gisela in 1856 and two years later to Rudolf. The baptism of the two children took place in the oval hall of the dining rooms. Rudolf later spent his honeymoon in Laxenburg with his wife Stefanie of Belgium.

Neues Schloss Laxenburg Am Weg zum Schloss

Inside the dining room there is the famous large oval dining room, whose walls are divided by architectural painting; the ceiling fresco by Vinzenz Fischer shows Putti hunting for falcons and gives this room a breathtaking appearance. It is often used for weddings.

1 / 4
ovaler Saal
2 / 4
3 / 4
4 / 4
Nebenraum

× Home Familie Reisen   Länder
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Titelbild linke Seite Wien Schönbrunn Hermes Villa Laxenburg Bad Ischl Sisi Gedenkstätten Franz & Sisi auf Zanzibar? Sisi Gemälde Achilleon auf Korfu Artstetten Letzte Jahre der Kaiserin Letzte Ruhestätte Sisi's Nachricht an uns Sisi und das Heine Denkmal Krönungskirche Budapest Madeira
Geschichte(n) Interessantes Was gibt's Neues
  ☰ Auswahl

Zum Glück wurde beim Bau des Neuen Schlosses (Blauer Hof) das Alte Schloss nicht abge­,rissen und so existieren heute beide Schlösser, obwohl sie im Krieg schwer gelitten haben.

Das Alte Schloss stammt aus dem 13. Jh. und kam im 14. Jh. in den Besitz der Habsburger. Nach dem 2. Weltkrieg und nach einer gründ­lichen Renovation gehört das alte Schloss der Laxenburg Betriebs­gesellschaft und beherbergt das Filmarchiv Österreichs.

Laxenburg gelangte nach mehrfachem Umbau u. A. von Lucas v. Hildebrandt im 18. Jh. in den Besitz von Maria Theresia. Sie vergrößerte die Anlage um den „Blauen Hof“ (= Neues Schloss) samt Nebengebäuden, die dem höfischen Vergnügen dienten.

Die frisch vermählte Kaiserin Elisabeth verbrachte hier mit ihrem Franz Joseph ihre Flitterwochen. Das junge Eheglück war von einer massiven diplomatischen Krise im Zusammenhang mit dem Krimkrieg überschattet. Kaiser Franz Joseph musste allmorgendlich von Laxen­burg in die Wiener Hofburg fahren.

Um der Langeweile zu entkommen, erkundete Elisabeth - zum Leidwesen ihrer Schwiegermutter - reitend auf eigene Faust die Umgebung. Nicht nur dass spontane Ausritte ohne entsprechende Begleitung als ein der Stellung der Kaiserin ungebührliches Verhalten gewertet wurden: derartige Abenteuer stellten auch ein hohes Sicherheitsrisiko für Elisabeth dar.

Hier in Laxenburg gebar Elisabeth 1856 Gisela und zwei Jahre darauf Rudolf. Die Taufe der beiden Kinder fand im ovalen Saal der Speisesäle statt. Rudolf verbrachte später selbst mit seiner Frau Stefanie von Belgien die Flitterwochen in Laxenburg.

Neues Schloss Laxenburg Am Weg zum Schloss

Im Inneren des Speisesaaltraktes befindet sich der berühmte grosse ovale Speisesaal, dessen Wände durch Architekturmalerei gegliedert sind; das Deckenfresko von Vinzenz Fischer zeigt Putti auf der Falkenjagd und verleiht diesem Raum ein atemberaubendes Aussehen. Er wird gerne für Hochzeiten benutzt.

1 / 4
ovaler Saal
2 / 4
3 / 4
4 / 4
Nebenraum