× Home Family Journeys
Vienna
my home town Vienna St. Stephens Kapuzinergruft Schönbrunn Schottenstift Hermes Villa Ober St. Veit Otto Wagner Church former Servitenkloster Vienna City Wall Sisi memorial sites Franz Schubert Biedermeier cementery St Marx
History /stories interesting things Whats new
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

Schloss Hof is situated in Lower Austria, east of Vienna not far from the River March, which forms the border with Slovakia and is the largest of the six Marchfeldschlösser. (castels in Marchfeld).

We have visited Hof Palace several times - most recently in July 2017 on the occasion of the Maria Theresa exhibition - and were delighted every time that this jewel is so wonderfully renovated and reconstructed. A detailed description of the complex with the wonderful baroque garden and the history of Hof Palace can be found on the website of the  Schloss Hof.

Eugen Franz, Prinz von Savoyen-Carignan

Since the 12th century a "castle" (Veste Hof) stood here, which was rebuilt several times, in 1620 to a Renaissance fort.

In 1725 the 62-year-old general Prince Eugene of Savoy bought this one-storey Renaissance fort with a rectangular ground plan and commissioned Johann Lucas von Hildebrandt to build a representative hunting seat.

In 1755 Empress Maria Theresia acquired Schloss Hof from Prince Eugene's heirs. In the 1770s, the imperial court architect Franz Anton Hillebrandt made far-reaching changes to the palace in order to fulfil Maria Theresa's representational duties. This reconstruction phase gave the palace its present appearance with a further floor.

After Maria Theresa's death in 1780, the Marchfeld summer residence was largely left to nature's influence.

In 1898 Emperor Franz Joseph decided to hand over the complex to the army administration. Two riding halls were built on the first terrace. After the end of the Habsburg Monarchy, the property became state property. Little changed for Hof Palace. It remained under military administration and the ravages of time gnawed at it.

On the occasion of the Lower Austrian Provincial Exhibition "Prince Eugene and Baroque Austria" in 1986, the first major restoration and restoration works were carried out in the castles of Hof and Niederweiden, which had already fallen into disrepair at that time. The final restoration of the two palaces was achieved in 2002 with the founding of the Marchfeldschlösser Revitalisierungs- und Betriebsges.m.b.H., which was incorporated into Schönbrunn Palace Kultur- und Betriebsges.m.b.H. in 2015.

die grosse Kaskade
×

Within the large grounds of Hof Palace, consisting of a baroque palace, a seven-barred garden and a manor, the "Great Cascade" was the showpiece of Prince Eugene's times. The totally destroyed fountain has been extensively reconstructed since 2016 and was ceremonially opened on 02.05.2018.

1 / 14
Schloss Hof
2 / 14
3 / 14
4 / 14
5 / 14
6 / 14
7 / 14
8 / 14
9/ 14
10 / 14
11 / 14
12 / 14
13 / 14
14 / 14
Orangerie

× Home Reisen   Länder
Wien
Meine Heimatstadt Wien Stephansdom Schönbrunn Schottenstift Kapuzinergruft Hermes Villa Ober St. Veit Otto Wagner Kirche ehem. Servitenkloster Die Wiener Stadtmauer Sisi Gedenkstätten Franz Schubert Biedermeierfriedhof St Marx
☰ Auswahl

Schloss Hof liegt in Niederösterreich, östlich von Wien unweit der March, die die Grenze zur Slowakei bildet und ist das größte der sechs Marchfeldschlösser.

Wir haben Schloss Hof mehrmals besucht - zuletzt im Juli 2017 anlässlich der Maria-Theresia Ausstellung - und freuten uns jedes Mal darüber, dass dieses Juwel so wunderbar renoviert und rekonstruiert wird. Eine ausführ­liche Beschreibung der Anlage mit dem wunder­baren Barockgarten und über die Geschichte von Schloss Hof gibt es auf der Website vom Schloss Hof.

Eugen Franz, Prinz von Savoyen-Carignan

Seit dem 12. Jahrhundert stand hier ein „Schloss“ (Veste Hof), das mehrmals umgebaut wurde, im Jahr 1620 zu einem Renaissance­kastell.

1725 kaufte der 62jährige Feldherr Prinz Eugen von Savoyen dieses ein-stöckige Renaissancekastell mit recht­eckigem Grundriss und beauftragte Johann Lucas von Hildebrandt, einen repräsentativen Jagdsitz zu errichten.

1755 erwarb Kaiserin Maria Theresia Schloss Hof von Prinz Eugens Erben. Tiefgreifende Veränder­ungen am Schloss erfolgten in den 1770er Jahren durch den kaiserlichen Hof­archi­tekten Franz Anton Hillebrandt, um den Repräsentationspflichten von Maria Theresia zu genügen. Diese Umbauphase gab dem Schloss sein heutiges Erscheinungs­bild mit einem weiteren Stockwerk.

Nach dem Tod Maria Theresias 1780 wurde die Marchfelder Sommer­residenz weitgehend den Einflüssen der Natur überlassen.

1898 beschloss Kaiser Franz Joseph, die Anlage der Heeres­verwaltung zu übergeben. Es wurden zwei Reithallen auf der ersten Terrasse errichtet. Nach dem Ende der Habs­burger­monarchie ging der Besitz in Staats­eigentum über. Für Schloss Hof änderte sich wenig. Es blieb unter Militärverwaltung und der Zahn der Zeit nagte daran.

Anlässlich der Niederösterreichischen Landes­ausstellung „Prinz Eugen und das barocke Österreich im Jahr 1986 erfolgten erste größere Restaurierungs- und Wiederher­stellungs­arbeiten in den bereits zu diesem Zeitpunkt verfallenen Schlössern Hof und Niederweiden. Die endgültige Wiederher­stellung der beiden Schlösser gelang ab 2002 mit der Gründung der Marchfeldschlösser Revitalisierungs- und Betriebsges.m.b.H. Diese wurde 2015 in die Schloß Schönbrunn Kultur- und Betriebsges.m.b.H. eingefügt.

Innerhalb der großen Anlage von Schloss Hof aus barockem Schloss, sieben­terrassiger Gartenanlage und einem Gutshof war die „Große Kaskade“ zu Prinz Eugens Zeiten das Prunkstück. Die Brunnenanlage wird seit 2016 aufwändig rekonstruiert und soll bis September 2017 wieder hergestellt sein.


1 / 14
Schloss Hof
2 / 14
3 / 14
4 / 14
5 / 14
6 / 14
7 / 14
8 / 14
9/ 14
10 / 14
11 / 14
12 / 14
13 / 14
14 / 14
Orangerie