× Home Journeys shell symbol Molsheim - Barr
Romanesque in Alsace
Overview Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
History / Stories Interesting things What's new
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

The Romanesque church of St. Peter and Paul

The church was built in the 12th century (1132-1168). The ground plan is a cross in east/west orientation consisting of three naves with a projecting transept. In its centre a high octagonal tower rises into the sky. The rest of an unfinished predecessor tower is enclosed in the angle between the southern transept and the choir. The tambour of the bell tower with four ogival windows was extended at the end of the 13th century. Two crouching male figures adorn the gusset at the foot of the Romanesque crossing tower. On the S/O side of the tower a lion is just tearing a lamb apart.

Inside the church there is a Silbermann organ from 1733.

Sankt Peter und Paul in Rosheim Apse

The apse with the large middle window - on the left: Taurus (Luke), John (Eagle), on the right: Leo (Mark). The cube pattern on the frieze above the window is remarkable.


figure on the roof roof lion

The figures on the roof: A lion on the shoulder of a man, another figure kneeling halfway with a wrinkled robe symbolizes the symbol of contemplative prayer.

Romanesque portal

Romanesque portal


Rosheim inside

The simple interior of the church. Columns alternate with pillars.


interior view

This photo was taken in September 2016 in bright sunshine. Also in the church it was brighter. The fact that the windows shine so beautifully was only possible with intensive post-processing on the PC..

column with heads

The massive round columns are decorated with various capitals. One column carries 21 heads whose different facial expressions reflect the diversity of life.

Finger Click on the photo for a different view!

The original church was destroyed by fire in 1132. The town was then owned by the Hohenstaufer family, whose power made it possible to build a new church. In the Romanesque period, the builders traveled from one building site to another, which explains the similarity of the buildings in terms of architectural style or choice of decor.

Romanesque in Alsace

St. James Way: Molsheim - Barr

shell symbol

× Home Reisen Jakobsweg: Molsheim-Barr
Romanik im Elsass
  Übersicht   Ottmarsheim   Kaysersberg   Thann   Guebwiller   Murbach   Lautenbach   Rouffach   Eguisheim   Colmar   Riquewihr   Ribeauvillé   Sélestat St. Foy   Sélestat   Epfig   Andlau   Avolsheim   Strassburg   Marmoutier   Haguenau   Walbourg   Surbourg   Wissembourg
☰ Auswahl

die romanische Kirche Sankt Peter und Paul

Die Kirche wurde im 12. Jahrhundert (1132-1168) erbaut. Der Grundriss ist ein Kreuz in Ost/West Orientierung bestehend aus einem dreischiffigen Langhaus mit einem ausladenden Querhaus. In seinem Mittelpunkt ragt ein hoher oktogonaler Turm in den Himmel. Der Rest eines nicht vollendeten Vorgängerturms ist im Winkel zwischen südlichem Querhaus und Chor eingeschlossen. Der Tambour des Glockenturms mit vier Spitzbogenfenstern wurde Ende des 13. Jahrhunderts aufgestockt. Zwei kauernde männliche Figuren schmücken den Zwickel am Fuss des romanischen Vierungsturmes. Auf der S/O Seite des Turmes zerreist ein Löwe gerade ein Lamm.

Im Inneren der Kirche befindet sich eine Silbermann Orgel aus dem Jahre 1733.

Sankt Peter und Paul in Rosheim

Die Apsis mit dem grossen Mittelfenster, links davon: Stier (Lukas), Johannes (Adler), rechts: Löwe (Markus). Beachtenswert das Würfelmuster am Fries über dem Fenster.


 

Die Figuren am Dach sollen Dämonen vertreiben.


romanisches Eingangsportal


Der schlichte Innenraum der Kirche. Säulen wechseln mit Pfeilern ab.


Dieses Foto entstand im September 2016 bei strahlendem Sonnenschein. Auch in der Kirche war es heller. Dass die Fenster so schön leuchten war allerdings nur mit Nachbearbeitung am PC möglich.

Die massiven Rundsäulen sind mit verschieden­artigen Kapitellen ge­schmückt. Eine Säule trägt 21 Köpfe, deren verschiedene Gesichtsausdrücke die Vielfältigkeit des Lebens widerspiegeln.

Klicken Sie auf das Foto für eine andere Darstellung!


Die ursprüngliche Kirche wurde 1132 durch ein Feuer zerstört. Die Stadt war damals im Besitz der Hohenstaufer, deren Macht die Errichtung einer neuen Kirche ermöglichte. In der Romanik reisten die Baumeister von einer Baustelle zur anderen, was eine Ähnlichkeit der Bauwerke hinsichtlich des Architekturstils oder der Auswahl des Dekors erklärt.


Romanik im Elsass

Jakobsweg Molsheim - Barr