× Home Journeys Jakobsweg Barr-Chatenois
Romanesque in Alsace
Overview Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
History / Stories Interesting things What's new
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

St-Pierre-et-St-Paul,
former abbey church Sainte Richardis

Richardis was the daughter of the Alsatian Count Erchanger. "Richardis" is Old High German and means "bold ruler". In 862 she married Emperor Charles the Fat, a great-grandson of Charlemagne, and was crowned Empress in Rome in 881. Accused of adultery by the opponents of the overthrown chancellor Luitward of Verona in 887 for no reason, she underwent a trial by fire. Nevertheless rejected by her husband, she then withdrew to the monastery she had founded in today's Andlau; a bear is said to have shown her the place for the foundation of the monastery. This place with the scratch marks can still be admired today in the crypt!

As abbess, Richardis was directly dependent on the papal curia and had remarkable privileges. She was also Princess of the Holy Roman Empire. The town built around the abbey was given as a fief to the influential Alsatian family "Andlau", who built a castle there and gave the town its name. Later the " Andlauer " inherited the castle " Spesburg ".

Richardis was canonized in 1049 by Pope Leo IX. Their high grave, built in 1350, is still a destination for pilgrimages today.

The first church was destroyed in 1160 by a conflagration. The transept and the choir originate from the reconstruction. In the 15th century Sophie von Andlau had the façade and towers renovated. In the 17th century the church was given its present form. Of the original church, only the western front and the crypt have survived.


Andlau Westfront

Detail from the western front. A farmer hunts with his dog the fox that stole the goose.


In the tympanum above the Romanesque portal, Christ is depicted handing over a key to Peter and a book to Paul. The group of people is framed by hunting scenes. It is believed to be a faithful replica of the same group in the Basilica of St Peter in Rome, which disappeared during the Renaissance.


1 / 4
interior view
interior view
2 / 4
interior view
interior view
3 / 4
sunrays
sunrays
4 / 4
Andlau east side
St. Peter and Paul, east side

crypt

Below the bear in the crypt are the scratch marks.


St. Richardis Hochgrab der Hl. Richardis

In the church there is this statue of Saint Richardis, the founder of the abbey, with her bear

and her high grave in the choir room.


shell symbol

× Home Reisen Jakobsweg Barr-Chatenois
Romanik im Elsass
Übersicht Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Rosheim Avolsheim Strassburg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
☰ Auswahl

St-Pierre-et-St-Paul
ehemalige Abteikirche Sainte Richardis

Richardis war die Tochter des elsässischen Grafen Erchanger. "Richardis" ist althochdeutsch und heißt "kühne Herrscherin". Sie heiratet 862 den Kaiser Karl den Dicken, einen Urenkel Karls des Grossen und wurde 881 mit diesem in Rom zur Kaiserin gekrönt. Von den Gegnern des gestürzten Kanzlers Luitward von Verona 887 grundlos des Ehebruchs beschuldigt, unterzog sie sich der Feuerprobe. Von ihrem Mann dennoch verstoßen, zog sie sich dann in das von ihr gegründete Kloster im heutigen Andlau zurück; ein Bär soll ihr den Platz für die Klostergründung gezeigt haben. Diese Stelle mit den Kratzspuren kann noch heute in der Krypta bewundert werden!

Als Äbtissin war Richardis direkt von der päpstlichen Kurie abhängig und hatte beachtenswerte Vorzugsrechte. Sie war gleichzeitig Fürstin des Heiligen Römischen Reichs. Die um die Abtei gebildete Stadt wurde als Lehensgut der einflussreichen elsässischen Familie "Andlau" gegeben, die dort ein Schloss erbaute und der Stadt ihren Namen gab. Später erbten die " Andlauer " das Schloss " Spesburg ".

Richardis wurde 1049 vom Papst Leo IX. heilig gesprochen. Ihr 1350 erbautes Hochgrab ist bis heute Ziel von Wallfahrten.

Die erste Kirche wurde 1160 durch eine Feuersbrunst zerstört. Vom Wiederaufbau stammen das Querschiff und der Chor. Im 15. Jahrhundert liess Sophie von Andlau Fassade und Türme renovieren. Im 17. Jh. erhielt die Kirche ihre gegenwärtige Form. Von der ursprünglichen Kirche ist nur die Westfront und die Krypta erhalten geblieben.


Detail aus der Westfront. Ein Bauer jagt mit seinem Hund den Fuchs, der die Gans gestohlen hat.

Im Tympanon über dem romanischen Portal ist Christus dargestellt, der Petrus einen Schlüssel und Paulus ein Buch überreicht. Die Personengruppe wird von Jagdszenen umrahmt. Man nimmt an, dass es sich dabei um eine getreue Nachbildung der gleichen Gruppe in der St. Peters Basilika in Rom handelt, die während der Renaissancezeit verschwunden ist.


1 / 4
Innenansicht
2 / 4
Innenansicht
3 / 4
Sonnenstrahlen
4 / 4
St. Peter und Paul, Ostseite

Unter dem Bären in der Krypta befinden sich die Kratzspuren.


In der Kirche befindet sich diese Statue der heiligen Richardis, der Gründerin der Abtei, mit ihrem Bären

und ihr Hochgrab im Chorraum.