× Home Journeys
Romanesque in Alsace
Overview Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

Ottmarsheim Church

The former monastery church of the Ottmarsheim monastery (Benedictine nuns), most of which dates from the first half of the 11th century, is one of the most important architectural monuments of the Romanesque period. Its central building in the form of an octagon is modelled on Aachen Cathedral.

Romanesque church Ottmarsheim

In 1030 Rudolf von Altenburg donated a Benedictine monastery in Ottmarsheim, which was to become his burial site. Pope Leo IX (from Eguisheim) consecrated the new church in 1049. The Neuchâtel family devastated the monastery in 1273, the Baslers in 1445 and 1446, the Bernese in 1468. As a result and due to the obligation of royal travellers to stay on the Heerstrasse, the monastery became impoverished. The church and above all the monastery buildings were rebuilt again and again. In 1790 the monastery was secularised and demolished. The church was purchased by the congregation and is still owned by them today.

achteckiger Innenraum der Kirche Ottmarsheim

The octagonal interior under the dome looks very simple.

Two-storey arcades open to the centre of the room, below through low arcades, above through high arch openings with double column arrangement. The light comes in through the galleries. The windows under the dome illuminate only the upper part of the room.

Capitals and bases of the columns are the only decorative elements of the room.

The side aisles are covered with vaults. The choir has a groin vault.

The annexes date from later times, the small chapel in the southeast from the 2nd half of the 15th century. The large chapel in the northeast was built in 1582. It has ribbed vaults with keystones, one of which has the monastery coat of arms.


ceiling fresco Gerhard, photographed lying on the ground

Photographing the ceiling fresco in the side chapel.


Pfeil SdR

Romanesque in Alsace

× Home Reisen
Romanik im Elsass
  Übersicht   Kaysersberg   Thann   Guebwiller   Murbach   Lautenbach   Rouffach   Eguisheim   Colmar   Riquewihr   Ribeauvillé   Sélestat St. Foy   Sélestat   Epfig   Andlau   Rosheim   Avolsheim   Strassburg   Marmoutier   Haguenau   Walbourg   Surbourg   Wissembourg
  ☰ Auswahl

Kirche Ottmarsheim

Die größtenteils aus der ersten Hälfte des 11. Jahrhundert stammende einstige Klosterkirche des Klosters Ottmarsheim (Benediktinerinnen) gehört zu den bedeutendsten Baudenkmälern der Romanik. Ihr Zentralbau in Form eines Oktogons hat sein Vorbild im Aachener Dom.

1030 stiftete Rudolf von Altenburg ein Benediktinerinnenkloster in Ottmarsheim, das seine Grablege werden sollte. Papst Leo IX. (aus Eguisheim) weihte die neue Kirche 1049. Die Neuenburger verwüsteten das Kloster 1273, die Basler 1445 und 1446, die Berner 1468. Dadurch und durch die Unterbringungspflicht königlicher Reisender auf der Heerstraße verarmte das Kloster. Die Kirche und vor allem die Klosterbauten wurden immer wieder umgebaut. 1790 wird das Kloster säkularisiert und abgebrochen. Die Kirche wurde von der Gemeinde aufgekauft und ist bis heute in deren Besitz.


Der achteckige Innenraum unter der Kuppel wirkt sehr schlicht.

Zweigeschossige Umgänge öffnen sich zur Raum­mitte, unten durch niedrige Arkaden, oben durch hohe Bogen­öffnungen mit doppelter Säulen­ordnung. Das Licht fällt über die Emporen ein. Die Fenster unter der Kuppel beleuchten lediglich den oberen Teil des Raumes.

Kapitelle und Basen der Säulen sind einzige Schmuck­elemente des Raumes.

Die Seitenschiffe sind mit Gewölben über­deckt. Der Chor besitzt ein Kreuzgrat­gewölbe.

Die Anbauten entstammen späteren Zeiten, die kleine Kapelle im Südosten aus der 2. Hälfte des 15. Jh. Die große Kapelle im Nord­osten wurde 1582 errichtet. Sie besitzt Rippen­gewölbe mit Schluss­steinen, davon einer mit dem Klosterwappen.


Beim Fotografieren des Deckenfreskos in der Seitenkapelle.


Romanik im Elsass