× Home Journeys
Romanesque in Alsace
Overview Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
History / Stories Interesting things What's new
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

The Romanesque Abbey Church of Murbach

Murbach gross

Murbach

The Benedictine Abbey of Murbach was founded in 727 under St. Pirmin after a donation from Count Eberhard. Pirmin is said to have brought 12 monks from Reichenau Abbey. The abbey church was probably built after 1150 and is one of the most important Romanesque buildings in Alsace. The choir head and gable are richly decorated with figures and ornaments. Where the nave once stood, there is now a cemetery. The nave was demolished in 1739 to make room for a new building. But it did not come to that.

For a long time Murbach was regarded as the centre of Carolingian Renaissance. Its library contained thousands of manuscripts. Today the Murbach manuscripts are scattered in cities such as Colmar, Gotha, Epinal, Besançon, Geneva, Oxford, Strasbourg, Basel, Vienna, Berlin and Manchester.

From the 8th century onwards, the Upper Alsace belonged to the diocese of Basel and the Lower Alsace to the diocese of Strasbourg. The contacts between Alsatian spiritual principalities and monasteries and those in today's Switzerland were very close: a bishop of Basel, for example, was at the same time abbot of Murbach.

In 750 the monks from Murbach founded the monastery 'Im Hof' in Lucerne, which belonged to Murbach until 1291. The monastery 'Im Hof' remained subject to the Alsatian abbey in spiritual matters until 1456. The court church (Hof Kirche) was then converted into a canon's abbey of St. Leodegar.


Im Hof, Luzern

To the Benedictine monastery in Lucerne belonged also a Meierhof in


Pfeil SdR

Romanesque in Alsace

Pfeil SdR

× Home Reisen
Romanik im Elsass
Übersicht Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strassburg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
  ☰ Auswahl

Die romanische Abteikirche Murbach

Murbach

Die Benediktinerabtei Murbach wurde im Jahre 727 unter dem hl. Pirmin nach einer Schenkung eines Grafen Eberhard gegründet. Pirmin soll 12 Mönche aus der Abtei Reichenau mitgebracht haben. Die Abteikirche entstand vermutlich nach 1150 und ist eines der bedeutendsten roman­ischen Bauwerke im Elsass. Am Chorhaupt und Giebel befindet sich reicher Figurenschmuck und Verzierungen. Dort, wo das Kirchenschiff einmal stand, ist heute ein Friedhof. Das Langhaus wurde 1739 abgebrochen um für einen Neubau Platz zu schaffen. Dazu kam es aber nicht.

Lange Zeit galt Murbach als das Zentrum karolingischer Renaissance. Seine Bibliothek umfasste tausende von Handschriften. Die Murbacher Manuskripte  sind heute in Städten wie Colmar, Gotha, Epinal, Besançon, Genf, Oxford, Strassburg, Basel, Wien, Berlin oder Manchester zerstreut.

Vom 8. Jh. an gehörte das Oberelsass zur Diözese Basel und das Unterelsass zur Diözese Strassburg. Die Kontakte zwischen elsässischen geistlichen Fürstentümern und Klöstern und solchen im Gebiet der heutigen Schweiz waren sehr eng: Ein Bischof von Basel war z.B. gleichzeitig Abt von Murbach.

Die Mönche aus Murbach gründeten im Jahre 750 das Kloster 'Im Hof' in Luzern, das bis 1291 fest zu Murbach gehörte. Das Kloster 'Im Hof' blieb der elsässischen Abtei in geistlichen Angelegen­heiten noch bis 1456 unterworfen. Danach wurde die Hofkirche in ein Chorherrenstift St. Leodegar umgewandelt.


Im Hof, Luzern

Zum Benediktiner Kloster in Luzern gehörte auch ein Meierhof in


Romanik im Elsass