× Home Journeys
Romanesque in Alsace
Overview Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Colmar, Museum Unterlinden Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
History / Stories Interesting things What's new
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

What you can see in Colmar:

Museum Unterlinden

The Musée Unterlinden in the former convent "Unter den Linden" (Under the lime trees), which was founded in the 13th century.


"Little Venice" is the name of the course of the leeks in Colmar. This name comes from the original orientation of the houses on both sides of the river, which runs towards the south-east of the city.

The house Pfister was built in 1537 by order of the hat maker Ludwig Scherer. He gained his fortune by trading silver in the Val de Lièpvre. Despite its medieval characteristics, the house is the first example of the architectural renaissance in Colmar. With its corner oriel on two floors, its wooden gallery, its octagonal tower and its wall ribbon depicting biblical and secular scenes, the Pfisterhaus has become one of the symbols of ancient Colmar. It is named after the family who lived in the house between 1841 and 1892.

The collegiate church of St Martin, built between 1235 and 1365, is a major work of Gothic architecture in Alsace. For a long time the people of Colmar regarded the collegiate church of St. Martin as their cathedral (Münster).

The Dominican church dates from the early Middle Ages and originally corresponded to the austere architecture of the mendicant order, but was baroqueised in 1720. For most of the 19th century it was used for secular purposes before it was reused as a church in 1898.

Around 1475 Martin Schongauer's studio erected the altar of the Dominicans, which is now exhibited in the Unterlinden Museum. Since 1973, the Dominican Church has housed the main work of Martin Schongauer, the Madonna in the Rose Hag.

  • Place des Dominicains
  • Martins church
  • Figurefrom the 16. century
  • Maison Pfister was built in 1537 by order of the rich hatter Ludwig Scherer from Besancon. The building is a jewel of the Renaissance.
  • Place de l'Ancienne Douane
  • Place de l'Ancienne Douane
  • Restaurant Au Kauhfhusmit Schwendi Brunnen
  • board
  • Rue de Boulangers
  • Little Venice
  • Little Venice

Pictures: G. u. V. Eichinger, Feb 2016


RR-left

Romanesque in Alsace

RR-right

× Home Reisen Jakobsweg Barr-Chatenois
Romanik im Elsass
Übersicht Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Rosheim Avolsheim Strassburg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
Geschichte(n) Interessantes Was gibt's Neues
  ☰ Auswahl

Was es in Colmar so zu sehen gibt:

Museum Unterlinden

Das Unterlindenmuseum im ehemaligen Frauenkloster "Unter den Linden", das im 13. Jahrhundert gegründet wurde


"Klein-Venedig" ist der Name des Verlaufs der Lauch in Colmar. Dieser Name stammt von der ursprünglichen Ausrichtung der Häuser zu beiden Seiten des Flusses, der auf den Süd-Osten der Stadt zuläuft.

Das Haus Pfister wurde 1537 im Auftrag des Hutmachers Ludwig Scherer erbaut. Dieser erlangte sein Vermögen mit dem Handel von Silber im Val de Lièpvre. Trotz seiner mittelalter­lichen Merkmale, ist das Haus das erste Beispiel für die architektonische Renaissance in Colmar. Mit seinem Eckerker auf zwei Etagen, seiner Holzgalerie, seinem achteckigen Türmchen und seinem Mauerband, das biblische und weltliche Szenen zeigt, ist das Pfisterhaus eines der Symbole des alten Colmars geworden. Es ist nach der Familie benannt, das das Haus zwischen 1841 und 1892 bewohnte.

Die Stiftskirche St. Martin, erbaut von 1235 bis 1365, ist ein Hauptwerk der gotischen Architektur im Elsass. Lange betrachteten die Colmarer die Stiftskirche St. Martin als ihre Kathedrale (Münster).

Die Dominikanerkirche stammt dem frühen Mittelalter und entsprach ursprünglich der kargen Architektur des Bettelordens wurde aber 1720 barockisiert. Während eines Großteils des 19. Jahrhunderts war sie weltlichen Zwecken zuge­teilt, bevor sie 1898 wieder als Kirche benutzt wurde.

Um 1475 errichtete das Atelier Martin Schongauers den Altar der Dominikaner, der heute im Unterlindenmuseum ausgestellt ist. Seit 1973 beherbergt die Dominikanerkirche das Hauptwerk Martin Schongauers, die Madonna im Rosenhag.

 

  • Place des Dominicains
  • Martinsmünster
  • Figur am Haus zum Kragenaus dem 16. Jh.
  • Das Maison Pfister wurde 1537 im Auftrag von dem reichen Hutmacher Ludwig Scherer aus Besancon errichtet. Das Gebäude ist ein Schmuckstück der Renaissance.
  •   Place de l'Ancienne Douane
  •  Place de l'Ancienne Douane
  • Restaurant Au Kauhfhusmit Schwendi Brunnen
  • Schild
  • Rue de Boulangers
  • Klein Venedig
  • Klein Venedig

Fotos: G. u. V. Eichinger, Feb 2016


Romanik im Elsass