× Home Journeys shell symbol Molsheim - Barr
Romanesque in Alsace
Overview Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
History / Stories Interesting things What's new
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

The Romanesque church of St. Peter and Paul

The church was built in the 12th century (1132-1168). The ground plan is a cross in east/west orientation consisting of three naves with a projecting transept. In its centre a high octagonal tower rises into the sky. The rest of an unfinished predecessor tower is enclosed in the angle between the southern transept and the choir. The tambour of the bell tower with four ogival windows was extended at the end of the 13th century. Two crouching male figures adorn the gusset at the foot of the Romanesque crossing tower. On the S/O side of the tower a lion is just tearing a lamb apart.

Inside the church there is a Silbermann organ from 1733.

Sankt Peter und Paul in Rosheim Apse

The apse with the large middle window - on the left: Taurus (Luke), John (Eagle), on the right: Leo (Mark). The cube pattern on the frieze above the window is remarkable.


figure on the roof roof lion

The figures on the roof: A lion on the shoulder of a man, another figure kneeling halfway with a wrinkled robe symbolizes the symbol of contemplative prayer.

Romanesque portal

Romanesque portal


Rosheim inside

The simple interior of the church. Columns alternate with pillars.


interior view

This photo was taken in September 2016 in bright sunshine. Also in the church it was brighter. The fact that the windows shine so beautifully was only possible with intensive post-processing on the PC..

column with heads

The massive round columns are decorated with various capitals. One column carries 21 heads whose different facial expressions reflect the diversity of life.

Finger Click on the photo for a different view!

The original church was destroyed by fire in 1132. The town was then owned by the Hohenstaufer family, whose power made it possible to build a new church. In the Romanesque period, the builders traveled from one building site to another, which explains the similarity of the buildings in terms of architectural style or choice of decor.

Romanesque in Alsace

St. James Way: Molsheim - Barr

shell symbol

× Home Voyages symbole de coquille Chemin de Saint-Jacques : Molsheim-Barr
Roman en Alsace
Aperçu Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
  ☰ sélection Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

L'église romane Saint-Pierre-et-Paul

L'église a été construite au 12ème siècle (1132-1168). Le Le plan d'étage est une croix en orientation est-ouest composée d'un nef à trois nefs avec un grand transept. En son centre il y a un haut sommet octogonal. Tour au paradis. Le reste d'une tour inachevée se trouve dans l'angle entre le sud et le sud. Transept et choeur inclus. Le tambour du clocher à quatre fenêtres ogivales a été achevé à l'extrémité de la tour. du 13ème siècle. Deux figures männliche accroupies ornent le gousset au pied du mur roman. Tours de passage à niveau. Du côté S/O de la tour, un agneau est en train de déchirer un agneau.

A l'intérieur de l'église il y a un orgue Silbermann de l'année 1733.

Saint Pierre et Paul à Rosheim L'abside

L'abside avec la grande fenêtre centrale, à gauche : Taureau (Luc), Jean (Aigle), à droite : Lion (Markus). A noter le motif des dés sur la frise au-dessus de la fenêtre.


Figure sur le toit lion de toit

Les figures sur le toit : un lion sur l'épaule d'un homme, une autre figure agenouillée à mi-chemin avec une robe ridée. symbolise le symbole de la prière contemplative.

portail roman

portail roman


Rosheim Intérieur

L'intérieur simple de l'église. Les colonnes alternent avec les piliers.


vue intérieure

Cette photo a été prise en septembre 2016 sous un soleil radieux. Aussi dans l'église, c'était plus lumineux. Que les fenêtres brillaient si joliment mais seulement possible avec un post-traitement intensif sur PC.

Colonne avec plusieurs têtes

Les colonnes rondes massives sont équipées de différents types de Capitales décorées. Une tête porte 21 têtes, les différents les expressions du visage reflètent la diversité de la vie.

doigtCliquez sur la photo pour une vue différente !

L'église originale a été construite en 1132 par un incendie détruit. A cette époque, la ville appartenait à la famille Hohenstaufer, dont la Rend possible la construction d'une nouvelle église. A l'époque romane, les maître d'œuvre d'un chantier à l'autre, ce qui fait une similitude des bâtiments le style architectural ou le choix du décor.

Roman en Alsace

Chemin de Saint-Jacques : Molsheim - Barr

symbole de coquille