× Home Journeys Jakobsweg Barr-Chatenois
Romanesque in Alsace
Overview Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
History / Stories Interesting things What's new
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

Saint Michel et Saint Gangolphe.

Saint Michel et Saint Gangolphe

The monastery Lautenbach was founded in the 8th century. After its destruction during the investiture dispute, it was converted into a canon's monastery, which existed until the French Revolution. The three-nave nave was built at the end of the 11th century and represents the oldest part of the church. Its protruding transept was built a little later. The choir and northeastern chapel, both from the 13th century, adjoin the transept to the east. In the middle of the 12th century the Westwerk with the entrance hall was erected. The entire upper part of the west work is the result of considerable renovation work, which was started in 1858. The west fašade is particularly distinguished by its careful ashlar technique.

A special treasure of Romanesque Alsatian architecture is the entrance hall. As in Marmoutier, three arcades provide access to the vestibule, the depth of which is only two bays. Their ceilings have a cross-ribbed vault, with belt arches and ribs of the same thickness and shape. The structure of the vaulted supports is surprisingly delicate. Unfortunately, the portal tympanum was destroyed. All capitals are decorated with sculptured figural ornaments. The 'warrior cornice' in the portal bears depictions of vices, the punishment of sinners and the victory of good over evil.


Westfront Portal

Romanesque frieze

Cross vault in the vestibule Church, side view
Pfeil SdR

Romanesque in Alsace

Pfeil SdR

× Home Reisen
Romanik im Elsass
Übersicht Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strassburg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
☰ Auswahl

Saint Michel et Saint Gangolphe.

Das Kloster Lautenbach wurde im 8, Jahrhundert gegründet. Nach seiner Zerstörung während des Investiturstreits wurde es in ein Domherrenstift umgewandelt, das bis zur französischen Revolution bestand. Das dreischiffige Langhaus entstand Ende des 11. Jh. und stellt den ältesten Teil der Kirche dar. Sein vorspringendes Querschiff wurde etwas später gebaut. Chor und nordöstliche Kapelle, beide aus dem 13. JH. schliessen sich im Osten an das Querhaus an. Mitte des 12. Jh. errichtete man das Westwerk mit der Eingangshalle. Der gesamte obere Teil des Westwerks ist Ergebnis erheblicher Renovierungsarbeiten, die 1858 in Angriff genommen wurden. Die Westwerkfassade zeichnet sich besonders durch seine sorgfältige Quadertechnik aus.

Eine besondere Kostbarkeit romanischer, elsässischer Architektur ist die Eingangshalle. Wie auch in Marmoutier bilden drei Arkaden den Zugang zur Vorhalle, deren Tiefe hier jedoch nur zwei Joche beträgt. Ihre Decken sind mit einem Kreuzrippengewölbe ausgestattet, dessen Gurtbogen und Rippen die gleiche Stärke und Form haben. Die Struktur der Gewölbestützen überrascht durch ihre Feinheit. Leider wurde das Portaltympanon zerstört. Alle Kapitelle sind mit skulptiertem figürlichem Schmuck versehen. Das ‚Kämpfergesims’ im Portal trägt Darstellungen der Laster, der Bestrafung der Sünder und dem Sieg des Guten über das Böse.




Romanik im Elsass