× Home Journeys
Romanesque in Alsace
Overview Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

Ottmarsheim Church

The former monastery church of the Ottmarsheim monastery (Benedictine nuns), most of which dates from the first half of the 11th century, is one of the most important architectural monuments of the Romanesque period. Its central building in the form of an octagon is modelled on Aachen Cathedral.

Romanesque church Ottmarsheim

In 1030 Rudolf von Altenburg donated a Benedictine monastery in Ottmarsheim, which was to become his burial site. Pope Leo IX (from Eguisheim) consecrated the new church in 1049. The Neuchâtel family devastated the monastery in 1273, the Baslers in 1445 and 1446, the Bernese in 1468. As a result and due to the obligation of royal travellers to stay on the Heerstrasse, the monastery became impoverished. The church and above all the monastery buildings were rebuilt again and again. In 1790 the monastery was secularised and demolished. The church was purchased by the congregation and is still owned by them today.

achteckiger Innenraum der Kirche Ottmarsheim

The octagonal interior under the dome looks very simple.

Two-storey arcades open to the centre of the room, below through low arcades, above through high arch openings with double column arrangement. The light comes in through the galleries. The windows under the dome illuminate only the upper part of the room.

Capitals and bases of the columns are the only decorative elements of the room.

The side aisles are covered with vaults. The choir has a groin vault.

The annexes date from later times, the small chapel in the southeast from the 2nd half of the 15th century. The large chapel in the northeast was built in 1582. It has ribbed vaults with keystones, one of which has the monastery coat of arms.


ceiling fresco Gerhard, photographed lying on the ground

Photographing the ceiling fresco in the side chapel.


Pfeil SdR

Romanesque in Alsace

× Home Voyages
Roman en Alsace
Aperçu Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
  ☰ sélection Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

Église d'Ottmarsheim

L'ancienne église du monastère d'Ottmarsheim (bénédictines), dont la plupart datent de la première moitié du XIe siècle, est l'un des monuments architecturaux les plus importants de l'époque romane. Son bâtiment central en forme d'octogone s'inspire de la cathédrale d'Aix-la-Chapelle.

romanische Kirche Ottmarsheim

En 1030, Rudolf von Altenburg fit don d'un monastère bénédictin à Ottmarsheim, qui devait devenir son lieu de sépulture. Le pape Léon IX (d'Eguisheim) consacra la nouvelle église en 1049, la famille neuchâteloise dévasta le monastère en 1273, les Basler en 1445 et 1446, les Bernois en 1468, ce qui eut pour conséquence l'appauvrissement du monastère en raison de la présence de voyageurs du roi dans la Heerstrasse. L'église et surtout les bâtiments du monastère ont été reconstruits encore et encore. En 1790, le monastère fut sécularisé et démoli. L'église a été rachetée par la congrégation et leur appartient encore aujourd'hui.

achteckiger Innenraum der Kirche Ottmarsheim

L'intérieur octogonal sous la coupole semble très simple.

Des arcades de deux étages s'ouvrent sur le centre de la pièce, en bas par des arcades basses, en haut par de hautes ouvertures en arche avec une double disposition en colonnes. La lumière entre par les galeries. Les fenêtres sous la coupole n'éclairent que la partie supérieure de la pièce.

Les chapiteaux et les bases des colonnes sont les seuls éléments décoratifs de la pièce.

Les nefs latérales sont couvertes de voûtes. Le chœur a un saut à l'aine.

Les annexes datent d'époques postérieures, la petite chapelle au sud-est de la 2ème moitié du 15ème siècle, la grande chapelle au nord-est a été construite en 1582. Elle a des voûtes nervurées avec des clés de voûte, dont l'une porte les armoiries du monastère.

Deckenfresko Gerhard, photographié allongé sur le sol

Photographie de la fresque du plafond dans la chapelle latérale.


Pfeil SdR

Roman en Alsace