× Home Journeys Wissembourg - Surbourg
Romanesque in Alsace
Overview Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
History / Stories Interesting things What's new ?
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

former monastery church St. Arbogast

The monastery of Surbourg was founded in the 6th century during the Merovingian period. In the 11th century the relics of the founder Saint Arbogast were kept here. The former abbey church is the first church in Alsace with a cruciform ground plan. The nave and the transept are the same height and width. There is also an early example of the Rhenish change of columns. The columns bear simple cube capitals. From the original building from the last third of the 11th century, the three-nave nave, the transept, the crossing tower and the apsidioles are still preserved.

Surbourg Sankt Arbogast

Surbourg Sankt Arbogast, Innenaufnahme

Arbogast, born in Ireland as Arascach, according to other tradition coming from southern France, came to Alsace around 550 as a missionary.

According to legend, he settled in the forest of Hagenau and one day brought back to life the son of King Scrooge II, who had been killed by a boar. Arbogast was appointed bishop of Strasbourg.

Older legends let Arbogast walk across a river without getting his feet wet, heal the sick, expel demons and settle disputes. He had himself buried under a gallows to honour an innocently executed man.

As Bishop of Strasbourg, Arbogast was very blessed, had churches and monasteries built and made the city flourish. Arbogast is considered the main founder of Christianity in Alsace. Already during his lifetime he was highly revered.

Some sources state the year 678 as the date of his death, which is contradicted by archaeological finds.

A monastery of his name stood later before the gates of Strasbourg. According to further legends, Arbogast first lived with Götzis in Vorarlberg in Austria as a hermit; there he is venerated in the pilgrimage church St. Arbogast.


Relief

The relief at the entrance:
shows Arbogast, King Scrooge and his son.


gate roman column

Outside, above the side entrance door, there is a Carolingian stone with flower ornaments above the front side entrance. At the main entrance a part of a Roman Jupiter column is walled in, above it an early Gothic mass. The column fragment is decorated with a scale pattern.
In Oberwinterthur there is also a Romanesque church dedicated to St. Arbogast.


Pfeil SdR Pfeil SdR

Romanesque in Alsace


Way of St James from Surbourg to Haguenau

× Home Voyages Chemin de Saint-Jacques : Wissembourg-Surbourg
Roman en Alsace
Aperçu Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Wissembourg
  ☰ sélection Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

ancienne église du monastère St. Arbogast

Le monastère de Surbourg a été fondé au 6ème siècle pendant la période mérovingienne. Au XIe siècle, les reliques du fondateur Saint Arbogast y sont conservées. L'ancienne église abbatiale est la première église d'Alsace à plan cruciforme. La nef et le transept ont la même hauteur et la même largeur. Il y a aussi un exemple précoce du changement rhénan des colonnes. Les colonnes portent de simples chapiteaux cubiques. Du bâtiment d'origine du dernier tiers du XIe siècle, on conserve encore la nef à trois nefs, le transept, la tour croisée et les apsidioles.

Surbourg Sankt Arbogast

Surbourg Sankt Arbogast, Innenaufnahme

Arbogast, né en Irlande comme Arascach, selon une autre tradition venue du sud de la France, est venu en Alsace vers 550 comme missionnaire.

Selon la légende, il s'installa dans la forêt de Hagenau et ramena un jour à la vie le fils du roi Dagobert II (Scrooge II), qui avait été tué par un sanglier. Dagobert II. Arbogast nommé évêque de Strasbourg.

Des légendes anciennes font marcher Arbogast pieds nus à travers une rivière, guérissent les malades, chassent les démons et règlent les disputes. Il s'est fait enterrer sous une potence pour honorer un homme innocemment exécuté.

En tant qu'évêque de Strasbourg, Arbogast a été très bénéfique, il a fait construire des églises et des monastères et a assuré la prospérité de la ville. Arbogast est considéré comme le principal fondateur du christianisme en Alsace. Déjà de son vivant, il était très vénéré.

Certaines sources indiquent l'année 678 comme date de la mort, ce qui est contredit par les découvertes archéologiques.

Plus tard, un monastère de son nom se dressa aux portes de Strasbourg. Selon d'autres légendes, Arbogast vécut d'abord avec Götzis dans le Vorarlberg en Autriche comme ermite ; il y est vénéré dans l'église de pèlerinage Sainte-Arbogast.


Relief

Le relief à l'entrée :
montre Arbogast, le roi Dagobert et son fils.


portillon colonne romaine

À l'extérieur, au-dessus de la porte d'entrée latérale, il y a une pierre carolingienne avec des ornements floraux au-dessus de l'entrée latérale avant. A l'entrée principale, une partie d'une colonne romaine de Jupiter est murée, au-dessus de laquelle se trouve une masse gothique primitive. Le fragment de colonne est décoré d'un motif à l'échelle.

A Oberwinterthur, il y a aussi une église romane dédiée à Saint Arbogast.


Pfeil SdR Pfeil SdR

Roman en Alsace


Chemin de Saint-Jacques de Surbourg à Haguenau