× Home journeys scallop symbol Way of St James Palatinate/Alsace
scallop symbol Stage Strasbourg-Molsheim
Romanesque in Alsace
Overview Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
History / Stories Interesting things What's new
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

Strasbourg in Alsace is one of the most beautiful cities in the world - not least because of the city's landmark, the famous Strasbourg Cathedral. The Münsterplatz is considered one of the most beautiful market squares in Europe, also because there are numerous picturesque half-timbered houses, some with four and five floors. The famous, richly decorated Kammerzell House (French: Maison Kammerzell) is certainly a showpiece of Münsterplatz. The historic old town lies on an island between the two arms of the Ill, is called "Grande Ile" and was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO due to its diverse architecture. It is remarkable that an entire city centre received this award. Strasbourg is the seat of numerous EU institutions such as the European Parliament, the Council of Europe and the European Court of Human Rights.

  • Covered bridgesRemains of the 14th century city fortifications.
  • The Kammerzell Houseon Münsterplatz is a merchant's house from the 15th - 16th centuries.
  • bridge over the Ill
  • Old town with Nikolai church
  • old town
  • Petite France
  • Petite France
  • Maison des Tanneursformer tannery

The Cathedral

The impressive Cathedral of Strasbourg (Liebfrauenmünster/La Cathédrale Notre-Dame) celebrated its 1000th anniversary in 2015. The 140 m high tower, the main facade with the portal statues and the rose window with a diameter of 15 m are very impressive. Inside the cathedral the angel pillar, the pulpit, the astronomical clock and also the famous Silbermann organ are remarkable. The sacral building (1015 was begun as a Romanesque church) was built in the Gothic (1235-75) and High Gothic (1276-1330) styles. The south tower, which was never completed, can be climbed up 332 steps to the platform, which is 66 metres high. The restoration of the top of the cathedral tower was completed in 2003. Cold, water and exhaust fumes made the sandstone crumble.

  • LiebfrauenmünsterThe north tower is 142 m high
  • The huge west portaland the rose window (15m diameter)
  • West portal with figure decorationTheme of the tympanum: the Passion of Christ
  • Interior view towards the choir103 m lang, 32 m hoch
  • Interior view towards the entrancewith the rosette window
  • Rosette from insideand swallow nest organ
  • gotische Kanzel
  • angel pillar
  • Astronomical clock
  • general viewsouth side

St. Thomas Church

In 1196, the fortress-like, massive west façade was built on the remains of a predecessor church in the late Romanesque style. Around 1270/1280 the choir and the transept with the crossing tower in Gothic forms were built. This was followed by the construction of the nave as a hall church until around 1330. The construction work ended in 1521 with side chapels in the late Gothic style..

The main organ was built in 1741 by Johann Andreas Silbermann. The choir organ from 1905 by Dalstein-Haerpfer according to plans by Albert Schweitzer. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart already played the Silbermann organ in 1778.

  • St. Thomasfrom the 12th century
  • five-naved hall church
  • Silbermann Orgel von 1741
  • Original console of the Silbermann organ

Eglise Saint-Pierre-le-Jeune protestant

(Protestant Young Saint Peter Church)

In Merovingian times there was a chapel of St. Columban with a pilgrims' hostel on the site of today's church. In 1031 Bishop Wilhelm founded the collegiate monastery of St. Peter here. A Romanesque monastery complex was built. The church was renovated in Gothic style until 1320.

Three of the four arcades of the cloister date from the 11th century, the fourth from the 14th century.

The Gothic main building with its numerous chapels and elaborate ribbed vault dates from the 14th century. Numerous frescos, tomb slabs and monuments, the baptismal font, the central image of the main altar and the rood screen, now unique in Alsace, are preserved from this period and the following century and a half.

In the year 1780 the rood screen organ (restored in 1948 and 1966) by Johann Andreas Silbermann was built, which enjoys supra-regional fame. The instrument has 41 stops on 3 manuals and pedal.

  • Saint Pierre le Jeune protestanteYoung Saint Peter, Protestant
  • Cloister St. Peter
  • Cloister St. PeterArcades from the 11th and 14th century
  • Cloister 11th century
  • rood screenwith Silbermann organ
  • Jung Sankt Peterinterior view
  • chapelwith gothic baptismal font

 

Pfeil SdR

Romanesque in Alsace

Pfeil SdR

× Home voyages symbole de coquille Chemin de Saint-Jacques Palatinat - Alsace
symbole de coquille étape : Strasbourg - Molsheim
Roman en Alsace
Aperçu Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
histoires points intéressants Quoi de neuf ?
  ☰ sélection Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

Strasbourg/Strasbourg en Alsace est l'une des plus belles villes du monde, notamment en raison de la célèbre cathédrale de Strasbourg, symbole de la ville. La Place de la Cathédrale (Münsterplatz) est considérée comme l'une des plus belles places de marché d'Europe, notamment parce qu'il y a de nombreuses maisons pittoresques à colombages, certaines à quatre et cinq étages. La célèbre maison Kammerzell (Maison Kammerzell), richement décorée, est certainement un joyau de la Münsterplatz. La vieille ville historique, située sur une île entre les deux bras de l'Ill, est appelée "Grande Ile" et a été déclarée Patrimoine de l'Humanité par l'UNESCO en raison de sa diversité architecturale. Il est remarquable qu'un centre-ville entier ait reçu ce prix. Strasbourg est le siège de nombreuses institutions européennes, telles que le Parlement européen, le Conseil de l'Europe et la Cour européenne des droits de l'homme.

  • Ponts-CouvertsVestiges des fortifications de la ville du 14ème siècle.
  • Maison Kammerzellsur la Place de la Cathédrale est une maison de commerce des XVe et XVIe siècles.
  • Pont sur l'Ill
  • Vieille ville avec l'église de Nikolaï
  • vieux quartier
  • Petite France
  • Petite France
  • Maison des Tanneursancienne tannerie

La Cathédrale

L'impressionnante cathédrale de Strasbourg (Liebfrauenmünster/La Cathédrale Notre-Dame) a célébré son 1000e anniversaire en 2015. La tour de 140 m de haut, la façade principale avec les statues du portail et la rosace d'un diamètre de 15 m sont très impressionnantes. A l'intérieur de la cathédrale, le pilier des anges, la chaire, l'horloge astronomique ainsi que le célèbre orgue Silbermann sont remarquables. L'édifice sacré (1015 a commencé comme une église romane) a été construit dans les styles gothique (1235-75) et gothique élevé (1276-1330). La tour sud, qui n'a jamais été achevée, peut être montée sur 332 marches jusqu'à la plate-forme, haute de 66 mètres. La restauration du sommet de la tour de la cathédrale a été achevée en 2003. Le froid, l'eau et les gaz d'échappement ont fait s'effriter le grès.

  • La LiebfrauenmünsterLa tour nord mesure 142 m de haut.
  • L'immense portail ouestet la rosace (15m de diamètre)
  • Portail ouest avec décoration de figurinesThème du tympan : la Passion du Christ
  • Vue intérieure du chur103 m de long, 32 m de haut
  • Vue intérieure de l'entréeavec la rosette
  • Rosette de l'intérieuret avaler l'organe du nid
  • chaire gothique
  • pilier angélique
  • Horloge astronomique
  • avis généralversant sud

L'église St. Thomas

En 1196, la forteresse, semblable à une forteresse, était massive. Façade ouest construite sur les vestiges d'une ancienne église de style roman tardif. Vers 1270/1280, le chur et le transept avec la tour de croisement furent construits en Formes gothiques. Ceci a été suivi par la construction de l'église de Lang en tant que hall d'entrée jusqu'à environ 1330 : Les travaux de construction s'achèvent en 1521 avec des chapelles latérales de style gothique tardif.

L'orgue principal de 1741 a été construit par Johann Andreas. Silverman. L'orgue de chur de 1905 de Dalstein-Haerpfer selon les plans. par Albert Schweitzer. Sur l'orgue Silber­mann Wolfgang Amadeus jouait déjà en 1778. Mozart.

  • St. Thomasdu 12ème siècle.
  • église à cinq nefs
  • Orgue Silbermann de 1741
  • Console originale de l'orgue Silbermann

Eglise Saint-Pierre-le-Jeune protestant

(Protestantische Jung Sankt-Peter Kirche)

Sur le site de l'église actuelle était en une chapelle St Columban avec auberge de pèlerins. 1031 fondée L'évêque Wilhelm ici présent, le monastère collégial Saint-Pierre. Un ensemble abbatial roman s'est levé. L'église a été rénovée en style gothique jusqu'en 1320.

Trois des quatre arcades datent du XIe siècle. du cloître, la quatrième arcade date du XIVe siècle.

Le corps de logis gothique avec ses nombreuses chapelles et ses nombreuses chapelles la voûte en croisée d'ogives élaborée date du 14ème siècle. De ce Le temps et le siècle et demi suivant sont de nombreuses fresques, Dalles et monuments funéraires, les fonts baptismaux, l'image centrale de l'autel principal, et le jubé, désormais unique en Alsace.

En l'an 1780, le (1948 et 1966 restauré) L'orgue Lettner de Johann Andreas Silbermann, la réputation régionale de Lettner apprécié. L'instrument dispose de 41 jeux sur 3 claviers et pédale.

  • Saint Pierre le Jeune protestante
  • Cloître Saint Pierre
  • Cloître Saint PierreArcades des XIe et XIVe siècles.
  • Cloître du XIe siècle.
  • Jubéavec orgue Sibermann
  • Saint-Pierre-le-Jeune protestantvue intérieure
  • Chapelleavec fonts baptismaux gothiques

 

flèche SdR

Roman en Alsace

flèche SdR