× Home Journeys Jakobsweg: Haguenau
Romanesque in Alsace
Overview Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
History / Stories Interesting things What's new
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

Church of St. George

St. Georg was founded in 1143. The church building shows the elemental force of the Romanesque style, but the choir and transept are the result of a reconstruction in the 13th century. Various chapels were added from the 13th to the 16th century, the net vault in the nave 1609-11 by the Molsheim Jesuits, who took over the parish in the course of the Counter-Reformation (1354-1535).
In St. George, a crucifix and two winged altars from the 15th century, a sacrament house created by Hans Hammer in 1523 and, unfortunately unmissable, the windows by Jacques Le Chevalier (1956), which do not necessarily harmonise with the room, deserve attention. The pulpit, which was designed by Veit Wagner after 1500, is remarkable, albeit heavily restored, with the loving depictions of the George legend at the staircase, as well as of church fathers and evangelists.


1 / 5
St. Georg
2 / 5
St. Georg
3 / 5
Romanesque nave with organ gallery
4 / 5
left gothic side altar
5 / 5
right gothic side altar

fountain

Flower fountain near the church

The city of Hagenau was founded by the Count of Egisheim. The town was inherited and expanded by the Staufers. Friedrich Barbarossa elevated it to the status of an imperial Pfalz.

Pfeil SdR Pfeil SdR

Romanesque in Alsace

Haguenau on the Alsatian Way of St James
shell symbol

× Home Voyages Chemin de Saint-Jacques : Haguenau
Roman en Alsace
Aperçu Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
  ☰ sélection Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

Église Saint-Georges

La Saint George a été fondée en 1143. L'église montre la force élémentaire du style roman, mais le chœur et le transept sont le résultat d'une reconstruction au XIIIe siècle, plusieurs chapelles ont été ajoutées du XIIIe au XVIe siècle, dont la voûte en filet de la nef 1609-11 construite par les Jésuites de Molsheim, qui ont repris la paroisse lors de la contre-réforme (1354-1535).

A Saint-Georges, un crucifix et deux autels ailés du XVe siècle, une maison sacramentelle créée par Hans Hammer en 1523 et, malheureusement, les fenêtres de Jacques Le Chevalier (1956), qui ne s'harmonisent pas nécessairement avec la pièce, méritent notre attention. La chaire, conçue par Veit Wagner après 1500, est remarquable, bien que fortement restaurée, avec les représentations aimantes de la légende de George dans l'escalier, ainsi que des pères de l'église et des évangélistes.


1 / 5
Saint-Georges
2 / 5
Saint-Georges
3 / 5
Nef romane avec galerie d'orgues
4 / 5
autel latéral gothique gauche
5 / 5
autel gothique latéral droit

Brunnen

Fontaine à fleurs près de l'église

La ville de Hagenau a été fondée par le comte d'Egisheim. La ville a été héritée et agrandie par les Staufer. Friedrich Barbarossa l'a élevé au rang de palais impérial.

Pfeil SdR Pfeil SdR

Roman en Alsace

Haguenau sur le Chemin de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle alsacien
symbole du coquillage