× Home Journeys
Romanesque in Alsace
Overview Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
History / Stories Interesting things What's new
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag
Otfried von Weissenburg

The Benedictine abbey in Wissembourg was founded as early as the 7th century and became the richest abbey in Alsace through donations of land. In 974 the abbey was elevated to imperial status. The monk Otfried of Wissembourg worked here in the 9th century. Otfried wanted to prove with his "Gospel Book", begun in 863 and completed in 871, that artistic poetry was also possible in the vernacular. The work, a rhymed, epic gospel harmony in the South Franconian dialect, describes in five books the life of Jesus on the basis of all four gospels. Otfrid is regarded as the "progenitor of German literature". He introduced the Romanic end rhyme instead of the Germanic staff rhyme. At the Zehntenscheune, Place du Saumon, a relief shows Otfried reading in the Gospels.

The town of Weissenburg developed on the river Lauter from a settlement around the monastery. 1306-1697 it was a free imperial city. It belonged to the Zehnstädtebund of Alsatian imperial cities.

The Romanesque monastery church was built in the 11th century. In the 13th century the church was largely demolished and rebuilt in Gothic style. Only the Romanesque tower has survived. The construction of a cloister was also begun. It is a pity that it was never finished, because what you see is very beautiful.

The serious, frontally depicted head of "Christ of Weissenburg" dates from around 1065 and can now be admired in the Frauenhausmuseum (French Musée de l'Œuvre Notre-Dame) in Strasbourg. It is a fragment of an older window from 1070, one copy of which can be found in the modern stained glass window of the chapter house and another hanging as a picture in the sanctuary (September 2015).

Pictures of the church St. Peter and Paul

  • Church of St. Peter and Paulseen from the town hall square
  • The abbey was founded in the 7th century by East French aristocrats
  • The abbey church is predominantly Gothic (13th century)
  • View from southwith Romanesque tower
  • Tower from the 11th centuryRest of the early Romanesque site
  • View from the northOnly an unfinished Gothic cloister remains of the old Wissembourg monastery.
  • cloister
  • cloister
  • Romanesque chapter house (1060)was later used as a chapel, today as a room for exhibitions.
  • chapter housenote the window
  • modern window in the chapter houseIt is a copy of the glass window fragment "Christus vom Weissenburg" from the year 1070.
  • interior viewSt. Peter und Paul
  • ChoirStained glass window from the 14th century and a copy of Christ of Wissembourg.
  • Organ in one of the most splendid baroque casings in AlsaceThe organ was restored to its original state in 2010/12.
  • organwas originally built in 1766 and is the work of organ builder Louis Dubois.
  • Holy grave (14th-16th century)
  • Heiliges GrabDetail
  • 11 meter high Saint ChristopherFresco from the 14th century.
  • rose window14. Jhd.

× Home Voyages
Roman en Alsace
Aperçu Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
Histoire / Histoires Intéressant Quoi de neuf
  ☰ sélection Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag
Otfried de Wissembourg

L'abbaye bénédictine de Weissenburg (Wissembourg) a été fondée dès le VIIe siècle et est devenue l'abbaye la plus riche d'Alsace grâce à des dons de terres ; en 974, elle a été élevée au statut impérial. Le moine Otfried von Weissenburg y travaillait au IXe siècle. Otfried voulait prouver avec son "Livre de l'Evangile", commencé en 863 et achevé en 871, que la poésie artistique était aussi possible dans la langue vernaculaire. L'œuvre, une harmonie évangélique épique et rimée en dialecte de Franconie du Sud, décrit dans cinq livres la vie de Jésus sur la base des quatre évangiles. Otfrid est considéré comme "l'ancêtre de la littérature allemande". Il a introduit la comptine romane au lieu de la comptine germanique. Dans la dixième grange, place du Saumon, un relief montre la lecture d'Otfried dans les Évangiles.

La ville de Weissenburg s'est développée sur la rivière Lauter à partir d'un peuplement autour du monastère. 1306-1697 c'était une ville impériale libre. Elle appartenait au Zehnstädtebund des villes impériales d'Alsace.

L'église du monastère roman a été construite au XIe siècle. Au XIIIe siècle, l'église fut en grande partie démolie et reconstruite en style gothique. Seule la tour romane a survécu. La construction d'un cloître a également commencé. C'est dommage qu'il n'ait jamais été terminé, parce que ce que vous voyez est beau.

La sérieuse tête du "Christ de Weissenburg", représentée de face, date d'environ 1065 et peut être admirée au Musée de l'Œuvre Notre-Dame de Strasbourg, à la Frauenhausmuseum. Il s'agit d'un fragment d'un vieux vitrail de 1070, dont une copie se trouve dans le vitrail moderne de la salle capitulaire et une autre accrochée comme tableau dans le sanctuaire (septembre 2015).

Photos de l'église Saint-Pierre et Paul

  • Église Saint-Pierre et Paulvue de la place de la mairie
  • L'abbaye a été fondée au VIIe siècle par des aristocrates de Franconie orientale.
  • L'église abbatiale est à prédominance gothique (XIIIe siècle)
  • Vue du sudavec tour romane
  • Tour du 11ème siècleReste de la plante romane primitive
  • vue du nordDe l'ancien monastère de Wissembourg ne subsiste qu'un cloître gothique inachevé
  • cloître
  • cloître
  • Salle capitulaire romane (1060)servit plus tard de chapelle, aujourd'hui salle d'exposition.
  • cloîtrenotez la fenêtre
  • fenêtre moderne dans la salle capitulaireIl s'agit d'une copie du fragment de fenêtre en verre Christ du Wissembourg de l'an 1070.
  • vue intérieureSaint Pierre et Paul
  • salle de choraleVitrail du XIVe siècle et copie du Christ de Wissembourg.
  • Orgue dans l'un des plus beaux boîtier baroques d'AlsaceIl a été restauré à son état d'origine en 2010/12.
  • L'orguedate de 1766 et est l'œuvre du facteur d'orgues Louis Dubois.
  • Tombe sainte (XIVe-XVIe siècle)
  • Tombe sainteDétail
  • 11 mètres de haut Saint ChristopheFresko aus dem 14. Jhd.
  • <span>Fenêtre en rosace</span>XIVème siècle