× Home Journeys
Romanesque in Alsace
Overview Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
History / Stories Interesting things What's new
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

former monastery church Marmoutier

The Marmoutier monastery is one of the oldest in Alsace. It was founded either around 590, according to other sources around 659, probably by St. Leonhard (Liebhard) ( around 680 in Marmoutier), a pupil of St. Columban. Marmoutier is counted among the Merovingian monasteries and was an imperial abbey.

In 724 the monastery was reformed by Abbot Maurus, whose name it bears, according to the Benedictine rule. Maurus is therefore often regarded as the actual founder of this monastery.

Of the Romanesque architecture of the collegiate church, the west façade (around 1140/50) of reddish brown sandstone, which rises like a fortress from the town's town houses, as well as the vestibule and the towers from the 11th and 12th centuries, is still preserved today. The façade is crowned by three gables and flanked by two octagonal towers. In between there is a square 36 m high main tower. Although the building is only 20 m wide, it makes a powerful impression. The front with its rich decoration of figures, but also the columns and arches of the vestibule bear witness to Romanesque sculpture. The nave of the church behind the west work was rebuilt between 1225 and 1301 in Gothic forms. In 1761-1769 the monk's choir was rebuilt in Gothic style and equipped with a remarkable choir stalls. The planned replacement of the Romanesque west work by a Baroque new building in 1788 was prevented by the outbreak of the French Revolution and the abolition of the monastery.

The monastery was plundered and partly destroyed by the Protestants during the German Peasants' War (1525), but Anton von Lothringen and his troops were able to prevent the monastery from being burned at the last moment.
The monastery was also affected by the Thirty Years' War, but the abbey church remained unscathed.

Marmoutier Westfront

romanische Monster

The monster heads on the west facade. They are located to the right of the central arched window under the clock.


Silbermann Orgel in Marmoutier

The church has an organ from the workshop of the Strasbourg organ builder Andreas Silbermann (middle of the 18th century).

The organs built by the brothers Gottfried and Andreas Silbermann (and also his son Johann Andreas) are called Silbermann organs. The brothers from Saxony (Freiberg) are today regarded as the most important German organ builders of the 18th century. Johann Sebastian Bach knew Gottfried Silbermann personally and appreciated his organs.

Andreas Silbermann settled in Strasbourg in 1701 and worked mainly in Alsace.

Johann Andreas Silbermann


Pfeil SdR Pfeil SdR

Romanesque in Alsace

× Home Voyages symbole de coquille Barr - Chatenois
Roman en Alsace
Aperçu Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
Histoire / Histoires Intéressant Quoi de neuf
  ☰ sélectionFlagge Deutsch Drapeau français

ancienne église monastique de Marmoutier (Maursmünster)

Le monastère de Marmoutier est l'un des plus anciens d'Alsace. Elle a été fondée soit vers 590, soit vers 659 selon d'autres sources, probablement par saint Léonhard (Liebhard) († vers 680 à Marmoutier), un élève de saint Columban. Marmoutier fait partie des monastères mérovingiens et était une abbaye impériale.

En 724, le monastère fut réformé par l'abbé Maurus, dont il porte le nom, selon la règle bénédictine. Maurus est donc souvent considéré comme l'actuel fondateur de ce monastère.

De l'architecture romane de la collégiale, la façade ouest (vers 1140/50) en grès brun rougeâtre, qui s'élève comme une forteresse des maisons de ville de la ville, ainsi que le vestibule et les tours des XIe et XIIe siècles, est encore conservée aujourd'hui. La façade est couronnée de trois pignons et flanquée de deux tours octogonales. Entre les deux, il y a une tour principale carrée de 36 m de haut. Bien que le bâtiment n'ait qu'une largeur de 20 m, il fait forte impression. La façade avec sa riche décoration de figures, mais aussi les colonnes et les arcs du vestibule témoignent de la sculpture romane. La nef de l'église derrière l'ouvrage ouest a été reconstruite entre 1225 et 1301 en style gothique. En 1761-1769, le chœur du moine fut reconstruit en style gothique et équipé de remarquables stalles. Le remplacement prévu de l'œuvre romane à l'ouest par un nouvel édifice baroque en 1788 a été empêché par l'éclatement de la Révolution française et l'abolition du monastère.

Le monastère fut pillé et partiellement détruit par les protestants pendant la guerre des paysans allemands (1525), mais Anton von Lothringen et ses troupes réussirent à empêcher l'incendie du monastère au dernier moment.

Le monastère a également été touché par la guerre de Trente Ans, mais l'église abbatiale est restée intacte.

Marmoutier Façade Ouest

romanische Monster

Le monstre se dirige sur la façade ouest. Ils sont situés à droite de la fenêtre centrale arquée sous l'horloge.


Orgue Silbermann à Marmoutier

L'église possède un orgue de l'atelier du facteur d'orgues strasbourgeois Andreas Silbermann (milieu du XVIIIe siècle).

Les orgues construits par les frères Gottfried et Andreas Silbermann (ainsi que son fils Johann Andreas) sont appelés orgues Silbermann. Les frères de Saxe (Freiberg) sont aujourd'hui considérés comme les facteurs d'orgues allemands les plus importants du 18ème siècle. Johann Sebastian Bach connaissait personnellement Gottfried Silbermann et appréciait ses orgues.

Andreas Silbermann s'installe à Strasbourg en 1701 et travaille principalement en Alsace.

Johann Andreas Silbermann


Pfeil SdR Pfeil SdR

Roman en Alsace