× Home Journeys
Romanesque in Alsace
Overview Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Colmar, Museum Unterlinden Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
History / Stories Interesting things What's new
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

What you can see in Colmar:

Museum Unterlinden

The Musée Unterlinden in the former convent "Unter den Linden" (Under the lime trees), which was founded in the 13th century.


"Little Venice" is the name of the course of the leeks in Colmar. This name comes from the original orientation of the houses on both sides of the river, which runs towards the south-east of the city.

The house Pfister was built in 1537 by order of the hat maker Ludwig Scherer. He gained his fortune by trading silver in the Val de Lièpvre. Despite its medieval characteristics, the house is the first example of the architectural renaissance in Colmar. With its corner oriel on two floors, its wooden gallery, its octagonal tower and its wall ribbon depicting biblical and secular scenes, the Pfisterhaus has become one of the symbols of ancient Colmar. It is named after the family who lived in the house between 1841 and 1892.

The collegiate church of St Martin, built between 1235 and 1365, is a major work of Gothic architecture in Alsace. For a long time the people of Colmar regarded the collegiate church of St. Martin as their cathedral (Münster).

The Dominican church dates from the early Middle Ages and originally corresponded to the austere architecture of the mendicant order, but was baroqueised in 1720. For most of the 19th century it was used for secular purposes before it was reused as a church in 1898.

Around 1475 Martin Schongauer's studio erected the altar of the Dominicans, which is now exhibited in the Unterlinden Museum. Since 1973, the Dominican Church has housed the main work of Martin Schongauer, the Madonna in the Rose Hag.

  • Place des Dominicains
  • Martins church
  • Figurefrom the 16. century
  • Maison Pfister was built in 1537 by order of the rich hatter Ludwig Scherer from Besancon. The building is a jewel of the Renaissance.
  • Place de l'Ancienne Douane
  • Place de l'Ancienne Douane
  • Restaurant Au Kauhfhusmit Schwendi Brunnen
  • board
  • Rue de Boulangers
  • Little Venice
  • Little Venice

Pictures: G. u. V. Eichinger, Feb 2016


RR-left

Romanesque in Alsace

RR-right

× Home Voyages symbole du coquillage Barr - Chatenois
Roman en Alsace
Aperçu Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar - Unterlinden Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
  ☰ menu Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

Ce que vous pouvez voir à Colmar:

Museum Unterlinden

Le Musée Unterlinden dans l'ancien couvent "Unter den Linden", fondé au 13ème siècle.


"Petite Venise" est le nom du parcours des poireaux de Colmar. Ce nom vient de l'orientation originale des maisons des deux côtés de la rivière, qui coule vers le sud-est de la ville.

La maison Pfister a été construite en 1537 sur l'ordre du chapelier Ludwig Scherer. Il a gagné sa fortune en négociant de l'argent dans le Val de Lièpvre. Malgré ses caractéristiques médiévales, la maison est le premier exemple de la renaissance architecturale de Colmar. Avec son donjon d'angle sur deux étages, sa galerie en bois, sa tour octogonale et son ruban mural représentant des scènes bibliques et profanes, la Pfisterhaus est devenue l'un des symboles du Colmar antique. Il porte le nom de la famille qui a habité la maison entre 1841 et 1892.

La collégiale Saint-Martin, construite entre 1235 et 1365, est une œuvre majeure de l'architecture gothique en Alsace. Les Colmarois ont longtemps considéré la collégiale Saint-Martin comme leur cathédrale (Münster).

L'église dominicaine remonte au début du Moyen Âge et correspondait à l'architecture austère de l'ordre mendiant, mais elle fut baroque en 1720. Pendant la plus grande partie du XIXe siècle, il a été utilisé à des fins séculières avant d'être réutilisé comme église en 1898.

Vers 1475, l'atelier de Martin Schongauer érigea l'autel des Dominicains, qui est aujourd'hui exposé au Musée d'Unterlinden. Depuis 1973, l'Église dominicaine abrite l'œuvre principale de Martin Schongauer, La Vierge au buisson de roses.

  • Place des Dominicains
  • Cathédrale Saint Martin
  • Figurine de commerçant à la maison au collieraus dem 16. Jh.
  • Das Maison Pfister a été construite en 1537 sur l'ordre du riche chapelier Ludwig Scherer de Besançon. Le bâtiment est un joyau de la Renaissance.
  • Place de l'Ancienne Douane
  • Place de l'Ancienne Douane
  • Restaurant Au Kauhfhusavec fontaine Schwendi
  • signe
  • Rue de Boulangers
  • Petite Venise
  • Petite Venise

Photos : G. u. V. Eichinger, Fév 2016


SDR-gauche

Roman en Alsace

SDR-droite