× Home Journeys Jakobsweg Barr-Chatenois
Romanesque in Alsace
Overview Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
History / Stories Interesting things What's new
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

St-Pierre-et-St-Paul,
former abbey church Sainte Richardis

Richardis was the daughter of the Alsatian Count Erchanger. "Richardis" is Old High German and means "bold ruler". In 862 she married Emperor Charles the Fat, a great-grandson of Charlemagne, and was crowned Empress in Rome in 881. Accused of adultery by the opponents of the overthrown chancellor Luitward of Verona in 887 for no reason, she underwent a trial by fire. Nevertheless rejected by her husband, she then withdrew to the monastery she had founded in today's Andlau; a bear is said to have shown her the place for the foundation of the monastery. This place with the scratch marks can still be admired today in the crypt!

As abbess, Richardis was directly dependent on the papal curia and had remarkable privileges. She was also Princess of the Holy Roman Empire. The town built around the abbey was given as a fief to the influential Alsatian family "Andlau", who built a castle there and gave the town its name. Later the " Andlauer " inherited the castle " Spesburg ".

Richardis was canonized in 1049 by Pope Leo IX. Their high grave, built in 1350, is still a destination for pilgrimages today.

The first church was destroyed in 1160 by a conflagration. The transept and the choir originate from the reconstruction. In the 15th century Sophie von Andlau had the façade and towers renovated. In the 17th century the church was given its present form. Of the original church, only the western front and the crypt have survived.


Andlau Westfront

Detail from the western front. A farmer hunts with his dog the fox that stole the goose.


In the tympanum above the Romanesque portal, Christ is depicted handing over a key to Peter and a book to Paul. The group of people is framed by hunting scenes. It is believed to be a faithful replica of the same group in the Basilica of St Peter in Rome, which disappeared during the Renaissance.


1 / 4
interior view
interior view
2 / 4
interior view
interior view
3 / 4
sunrays
sunrays
4 / 4
Andlau east side
St. Peter and Paul, east side

crypt

Below the bear in the crypt are the scratch marks.


St. Richardis Hochgrab der Hl. Richardis

In the church there is this statue of Saint Richardis, the founder of the abbey, with her bear

and her high grave in the choir room.


shell symbol

× Home Voyages symbole du coquillage Barr - Chatenois
Roman en Alsace
Aperçu Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
  ☰ sélection Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

St-Pierre-et-St-Paul,
ancienne église abbatiale Sainte Richardis

Richardis était la fille du comte alsacien Erchanger. "Richardis" est l'ancien haut allemand et signifie "souverain audacieux". En 862, elle épouse l'empereur Charles le Gros, arrière-petit-fils de Charlemagne, et est couronnée impératrice à Rome en 881. Accusée d'adultère par les opposants du chancelier Luitward de Vérone renversé en 887 sans raison, elle subit un procès par le feu. Néanmoins rejetée par son mari, elle se retira ensuite dans le monastère qu'elle avait fondé dans l'Andlau d'aujourd'hui ; un ours lui aurait montré la place pour la fondation du monastère. On peut encore admirer aujourd'hui dans la crypte cet endroit aux égratignures !

En tant qu'abbesse, Richardis dépendait directement de la curie pontificale et bénéficiait de droits préférentiels remarquables. Elle était aussi princesse du Saint Empire romain. La ville construite autour de l'abbaye fut donnée en fief à l'influente famille alsacienne "Andlau", qui y fit construire un château et donna son nom à la ville. Plus tard, le " Andlauer " hérita du château " Spesburg ".

Richardis a été canonisé par le pape Léon IX en 1049. Leur tombe haute, construite en 1350, est encore aujourd'hui un lieu de pèlerinage.

La première église a été détruite par un incendie en 1160. Le transept et le chœur ont été reconstruits. Au XVe siècle, Sophie von Andlau fit rénover la façade et les tours. Au XVIIe siècle, l'église a reçu sa forme actuelle. De l'église d'origine, seuls le front ouest et la crypte ont survécu.


Andlau, Front occidental

Détail du front ouest. Un fermier chasse avec son chien le renard qui a volé l'oie.at.


Dans le tympan au-dessus du portail roman, le Christ est représenté en train de remettre une clé à Pierre et un livre à Paul. Le groupe de personnes est encadré par des scènes de chasse. On pense qu'il s'agit d'une réplique fidèle du même groupe dans la basilique Saint-Pierre à Rome, qui a disparu à la Renaissance.


1 / 4
vue intérieure
vue intérieure
2 / 4
vue intérieure
vue intérieure
3 / 4
rayons solaires
rayons solaires
4 / 4
Andlau côté est
Saint Pierre et Paul, côté est

crypte

Sous la statue de l'ours dans la crypte se trouvent les rayures.


Saint Richardis Hochgrab der Hl. Richardis

Dans l'église il y a cette statue de Saint Richardis, la fondatrice de l'abbaye, avec son ours.

et sa haute tombe dans la salle de la chorale.


symbole du coquillage