× Home Journeys Countries and cities Monasteries Ways of St. James
shell symbol Way of St. James Austria
Way of St. James Austria Vienna - Purkersdorf

.....

  Hall in Tyrol St. Martin - Innsbruck Mariahilfbilder in Innsbruck Innsbruck Schloss Ambras Inzing, Hatting Stams Landeck
further stages
Rankweil Einsiedeln
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag
Riedmiller Denkmal

Just before the entrance to the old town of Bludenz, Captain Riedmiller welcomes us with his sabre (during the war years 1796 and 1799 he led a Bludenz rifle company as a captain in the defensive battles against the French under Napoleon)

On the left you can see the route of the Muttersberg cable car. The officially signposted Way of St. James leads out of Bludenz and past this place - an insane diversion. It is better to walk along the Alte Landstrasse directly to Nüziders to the church!


In the alleys of the old town there are houses more than 300 years old. Worth seeing are the old gates to the city, parts of the city wall and the Laurentius Church.

The centre of Bludenz's old town is the Nepomuk Fountain. In the tradition of the great Italian cities, this fountain was built here in front of the town hall at the beginning of the 18th century. St. Nepomuk is considered here above all as the patron saint against slander and suspicion.

  • IMG_2321
  • IMG_2324
  • IMG_2330

High above the old town, the St. Laurentius Church with its striking onion tower, together with the baroque Gayenhofen Palace, is the town's landmark visible from afar.

The Counts of Werdenberg built a castle here between 1222 and 1245. This meant that Bludenz was also a fortified town in Vorarlberg in the Middle Ages, alongside Bregenz and Feldkirch. From this castle the Gayenhofen Palace (by Giovanni Gaspare Bagnato) was built between 1745 and 1752. Today it serves as an official building for the district administration of Bludenz.

The St. Laurentius Church was first mentioned in 842. 100 years later (in 940), King Otto I donated the church of Bludenz to the Bishop of Chur as compensation for damage suffered. The simple single-aisle Gothic nave building dates back to 1514. The high altar made of black marble was built in 1720, and only later was the altarpiece of Mary with Child, St. Andrew and St. Lawrence created.

The bell tower was built between 1667 and 1670 according to the plans of the Feldkirch Jesuit Father Maximilian von Lerchenfeld. Above the square base tower, which has four Gospel busts at the top corners, there is a three-storey octagonal tower with round arch openings and an onion dome.

  • The striking tower
  • Inside
  • Innen Zoom
  • Altarpiece
  • Barromäus
  • The tower from the side
  • The Gayenhofen Palace

× Home Reisen Länder Klöster Jakobswege
Jakobsweg Österreich
Jakobsweg Österreich Wien - Purkersdorf

.....

  Hall in Tirol St. Martin - Innsbruck Mariahilfbilder in Innsbruck Innsbruck Schloss Ambras Inzing, Hatting Stams
weitere Etappen
Bludenz Rankweil
☰   Auswahl

Knapp vor dem Eingang zur Altstadt von Bludenz begrüsst uns Hauptmann Riedmiller mit seinem Säbel (In den Kriegs­jahren 1796 und 1799 führte er als Hauptmann eine Bludenzer Schützen­kompanie in den Abwehrkämpfen gegen die Franzosen unter Napoleon).

Links sieht man das Trasse der Muttersberg­seilbahn. Der offiziell ausgeschilderte Jakobsweg führt aus Bludenz heraus dort vorbei - ein irrsinniger Umweg. Lieber durch die Alte Landstrasse direkt nach Nüziders zur Kirche wandern!


In den Gassen der Altstadt befinden sich mehr als 300 Jahre alte Häuser. Sehenswert sind die alten Tore zur Stadt, Teile der Stadtmauer und die Laurentius­kirche.

Der Mittelpunkt der Bludenzer Altstadt ist der Nepomukbrunnen. Ganz in der Tradition der grossen italienischen Städte wurde hier zu Beginn des 18. Jahrhunderts vor dem Rathaus dieser Brunnen gebaut. Der Hl. Nepomuk gilt hier vor allem als Schutzpatron gegen Verleumdung und Verdächtigung.

Hoch über der Altstadt bildet die St. Laurentius­kirche mit dem markanten Zwiebelturm, zusammen mit dem barocken Schloss Gayenhofen, das weithin sichtbare Wahrzeichen der Stadt.

Die Grafen von Werdenberg erbauten zwischen 1222 und 1245 hier eine Burganlage. Damit war auch Bludenz neben Bregenz und Feldkirch im Mittelalter eine befestigte Stadt in Vorarlberg. Aus dieser Burg entstand in den Jahren 1745 bis 1752 das Schloss Gayenhofen (von Giovanni Gaspare Bagnato). Es dient heute der Bezirkshauptmannschaft Bludenz als Amtsgebäude.

Die St. Laurentiuskirche wird schon 842 erstmals erwähnt. 100 Jahre später (im Jahre 940) schenkte König Otto I. dem Churer Bischof die Kirche von Bludenz als Ersatz für erlittene Schäden. Der schlichte einschiffige gotische Langhausbau stammt erst aus dem Jahre 1514. 1720 wurde der Hochaltar aus schwarzem Marmor errichtet, später erst wurde das Altarbild Maria mit Kind, der Hl. Andreas und Laurentius geschaffen.

Der Glockenturm wurde 1667 bis 1670 nach den Plänen des Feldkircher Jesuiten­paters Maximilian von Lerchenfeld errichtet. Über dem viereckigen Grundturm, der oben an den Ecken vier Evangelien­büsten trägt, folgt ein dreigeschossiger Achteckturm mit Rundbogenöffnungen und Zwiebelhaube.