× Home Journeys Countries and cities Ways of St. James
shell symbol Way of St. Jacques, Austria
Overview Vienna - Purkersdorf

.....

Rattenberg Rattenberg - Strass im Zillertal Strass im Zillertal - Fiecht Stift Fiecht, Tirol Fiecht - St Martin/Gnadenwald   Hall in Tirol St. Martin - Innsbruck Mariahilfbilder in Innsbruck Innsbruck
further stages
Bludenz Rankweil
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

The Ambras Castle is situated in the south of Innsbruck at the foot of the Pascherkofel in the Schlossstrasse just above the motorway and is now a museum.

The Tyrolean Prince Archduke Ferdinand II. (1529-95), son of Emperor Ferdinand I, had the medieval Ambras Castle rebuilt into a Renaissance palace. A separate museum building was erected to house his world-famous collections, which is still preserved in its original location today.

The Spanish Hall is one of the most beautiful free-standing hall buildings of the Renaissance. It was built between 1569 and 1572 according to the ideas of Archduke Ferdinand II as a representation hall. The picturesque design of the 43m long hall is dominated by the 27 full-length portraits of the Tyrolean sovereigns and ranges from Count Albrecht I of Tyrol to the Counts of Görz-Tyrol and Margarethe Maultasch up to the Habsburgs to end with Ferdinand II.

The St. Nicholas Chapel in the castle is very popular for weddings. Its current appearance dates back to the 19th century, when the governor of Tyrol, Archduke Karl Ludwig, had the damaged 16th century wall paintings knocked down and commissioned a general redesign.

  • Schloss Ambras
  • ArmouryTournament armour of the 15th century from the possession of Emperor Maximilian I.
  • Giant
  • Ceiling frescoin the armoury
  • Armouries of the 16th and 17th centuryand a wedding
  • Kaiser Leopold I (1640-1705)Son of Emperor Ferdinand III.
  • Alabaster imagePerseus and Andromeda
  • Toedlein
  • Spanish Hall
  • Wall painting in the Spanish HallMargarethe Maultasch
  • Renaissance Court
  • St. Nicholas Chapel
  • Family portrait of Emperor Ferdinand I.The portraits begin on the left with the father, Ferdinand I, followed by his sons, descending in age and height: Maximilian, Ferdinand, John and Charles. Next is the youngest daughter Johanna, followed by her sisters. On the far right is Queen Anna.
  • family tree
  • Chambers of art and curiosities and armories
  • Ambras Castle

Innsbruck

shell symbol

× Home Reisen Länder Jakobswege
Jakobsweg Österreich
Jakobsweg Österreich Wien - Purkersdorf

.....

Rattenberg Rattenberg - Strass im Zillertal Strass im Zillertal - Fiecht Stift Fiecht, Tirol Fiecht - St Martin/Gnadenwald   Hall in Tirol St. Martin - Innsbruck Mariahilfbilder in Innsbruck Innsbruck
weitere Etappen
Rankweil
☰   Auswahl

Das Schloss Ambras liegt im Süden von Innsbruck am Fusse des Pascherkofels in der Schlossstrasse etwas oberhalb der Autobahn und ist heute ein Museum.

Der Tiroler Landesfürst Erzherzog Ferdinand II. (1529-95), Sohn Kaiser Ferdinands I., liess die mittelalterliche Burg Ambras zu einem Renaissance­schloss umbauen. Für die Unterbringung seiner weltberühmten Sam­mlungen wurde ein eigenes Museumsgebäude errichtet, das bis heute an seinem ursprüng­lichen Ort erhalten ist.

Der Spanische Saal zählt zu den schönsten freistehenden Saalbauten der Renaissance. Er wurde 1569-1572 nach den Vorstellungen Erzherzog Ferdinand II. als Repräsentations­saal errichtet. Die malerische Gestaltung des 43m langen Saales wird von den 27 ganz­figurigen Porträts der Tiroler Landesfürsten bestimmt und reicht von Graf Albrecht I. von Tirol über die Grafen von Görz-Tirol und Margarethe Maultasch bis zu den Habsburgern, um mit Ferdinand II. zu enden.

Die Sankt Nicklauskapelle im Schloss ist für Hochzeiten sehr beliebt. Ihr heutiges Er­scheinungs­bild geht auf das 19. Jahrhundert zurück, als der Statthalter von Tirol, Erzherzog Karl Ludwig, die schadhaften Wandmalereien des 16. Jahrhunderts abschlagen ließ und eine allgemeine Neugestaltung in Auftrag gab.

  • Schloss Ambras
  • RüstkammerTurnierharnische des 15. Jh. aus dem Besitz von Kaiser Maximilian I.
  • Riese
  • Deckenfreskoin der Rüstkammer
  • Rüstkammern des 16. u. 17. Jh.und eine Hochzeit
  • Kaiser Leopold I (1640-1705)Sohn Kaiser Ferdinand III.
  • AlabasterbildPerseus und Andromeda
  • Toedlein
  • Spanischer Saal
  • Wandgemälde im Spanischen SaalMargarethe Maultasch
  • Renaissance Hof
  •  St. Nikolauskapelle
  • Familienbild Kaiser Ferdinand I.Die Brustbilder beginnen lionks mit dem Vater, Ferdinand I, gefolgt von seinem Söhnen, dem Alter und der Grösse nach abfallend: Maximilian, Ferdinand,Johannes und Karl. Daran schliesst sich die jüngste TochterJohanna an, gefolgt von ihren Schwestern. Ganz rechts befindet sich Königin Anna.
  • Stammbaum
  • Kunst- u Wunderkammer u Rüstkammern
  • Schloss Ambras

Innsbruck