× Home Journeys Countries and cities Monasteries Ways of St. James
shell symbol Way of St. James Austria
Way of St. James Austria Vienna - Purkersdorf

.....

  Hall in Tirol St. Martin - Innsbruck Mariahilfbilder in Innsbruck Innsbruck Ambras Castle Inzing, Hatting Landeck
weitere Etappen
Bludenz Rankweil
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

The Cistercian monastery of Stams is located in the Austrian Upper Inn Valley about 35 km west of Innsbruck and can be seen from far away.

Stams Monastery
Stams

The monastery was founded by Elisabeth of Bavaria in 1272. It became an important economic centre of the region, privileges were extended, fiefs existed as far as the Swabian area and Bavaria. In the 14th century, the Stamser Fathers were even entrusted with the preservation of the imperial regalia for several decades.

In the 16th century the monastery was plundered in the course of the peasant uprisings and in 1152 Elector Moritz of Saxony devastated the monastery again in the turmoil of the Schmalkaldic Wars. Finally, in 1593 a large fire destroyed large parts of the monastery complex.

The Baroque reconstruction took place between 1650 and 1750, during which, among other things, the two striking "onion towers" were built. The baroque and rococo interior of the church also dates from this period.

After the turmoil of the Second World War, the collegiate church was thoroughly renovated under Abbot Bernhard (1973-1985).

The Cistercians in the Middle Ages


Die Staufer

Friedrich v. Büren 1094

Friedrich I, Hg. v. Schwaben 1105

   Friedrich II            Kg. Konrad III.
Hg. v. Schwaben           1138-1152
    1147

Ks. Friedrich I. Barbarossa 1152-1190

Ks. Heinrich VI. 1190-1197

Ks. Friedrich II. 1212/15-1250

Kg. Konrad IV. 1237-1257

Konradin 1268

The story of Elisabeth of Bavaria and how the Stams monastery was founded.

Bei During a stay of Emperor Friedrich II in Bavaria in 1235, he engaged his seven-year-old son Konrad to Elisabeth (born around 1227), the daughter of Duke Otto II the Illustrious of Bavaria, and Agnes, daughter of Heinrich, Count Palatine near Rhine. The marriage took place in 1246. Konradin became the only child from this marriage. King Konrad IV, who never saw his son, died only two years after his birth. After Konrad's death, the concern was for her son Konradin and the task of preserving his paternal inheritance. Before leaving for Wasserburg am Inn, Elisabeth stayed with little Konradin, initially with her brother, Duke Ludwig II, the Strict of Bavaria, who was Konrad's guardian. Queen Elisabeth was present when he had his wife Maria of Brabant executed on 18 January 1256, probably without reason.

It is understandable that the mother withdrew her son from this guardian. He came into the care of Bishop Eberhard of Constance, where he spent a happy childhood, enjoyed an excellent upbringing and was instructed in chivalric exercises such as minnesong.

Five years after the death of her first husband, Elizabeth entered into a second marriage with Meinhard II in 1259. Counts of Gorizia and Tyrol. Konradin seems to have remained in Constance during this time - he is said to have later disapproved of his mother's marriage, which was not in keeping with his social status.

She stubbornly defended her son's right as successor to Conrad IV against Manfred, who wanted to assert the Sicilian heritage of the Staufers.

After Manfred's death in the Battle of Benevento in 1266, Konradin decided, after a busy life in Germany, to move to Italy himself and fight for the Staufer southern empire. After a brilliant court day in Augsburg in 1266, Konradin fixed his move to Italy for the late summer of 1267. His mother strongly advised that he should be content with a peaceful and quiet life in his duchy, his guardian and uncle advised him to take the train to Italy.

On August 22, 1267 Conradin said goodbye to his mother in Hohenschwangau. In Castle Tyrol, where Elisabeth now lived, she received the news of her defeat at Tagliacozzo and the execution of her son.

The reports about where the dead Konradin was taken to contradict each other. One of them says, "that Elizabeth hurried to Naples, but came too late and was only given permission to build a chapel over his grave. This report does not seem very credible. Conrad's tomb is today in the church of S. Maria del Carmine in Naples.

In 1272, Elisabeth had a monastery built in Stams by her second husband Count Meinhard II of Gorizia-Tyrol in memory of Conradin, in place of a wooden pilgrimage chapel in the middle of old oak woods, dedicated to John the Baptist and looked after by twelve monks.

The second marriage of Elizabeth produced four sons and two daughters. Their daughter Elizabeth married Albrecht I of Habsburg. When her husband was murdered in Windisch (Switzerland, Aargau), she founded the monastery there.

Elisabeth of Bavaria died in 1273 at Gojen Castle above Meran before the Stams Monastery was completed. She was first buried at Castle Tyrol, and then ceremonially buried in Stams in 1284. Her husband was buried at her side in 1298. Four children of Meinhard and Elisabeth also rest there.



For the next 35 km to Innsbruck, the Inn Valley Cycle Path runs a little off the motorway. Only at Zirl it gets uncomfortable again, so close to the highway. Finally I was in Innsbruck, which was full of tourists as usual and it was hard to find a place to stay overnight.

Inn Valley Cycle Path

× Home Reisen Länder Klöster Jakobswege
Jakobsweg Österreich
Jakobsweg Österreich Wien - Purkersdorf

.....

  Hall in Tirol St. Martin - Innsbruck Mariahilfbilder in Innsbruck Innsbruck Schloss Ambras Inzing, Hatting
weitere Etappen
Bludenz Rankweil
☰   Auswahl

Das Zisterzienserstift Stams liegt im österreichischen Oberinntal ca. 35 km westlich von Innsbruck und ist schon von weitem zu sehen.

Kloster Stams
Stams

Das Kloster wurde von Elisabeth von Bayern 1272 gegründet. Es wurde zu einem bedeutenden wirtschaftlichen Zentrum der Region, Privilegien wurden erweitert, Lehen existierten bis in den schwäbischen Raum und nach Bayern. Im 14. Jahrhundert wurde den Stamser Patres sogar die Bewahrung der Reichskleinodien für einige Jahrzehnte anvertraut.

Im 16. Jahrhundert wurde das Kloster im Zuge der Bauernaufstände geplündert und 1152 devastierte Kurfürst Moritz von Sachsen in den Wirren der Schmalkaldischen Kriege das Kloster abermals. Schließlich vernichtete ein Grossfeuer 1593 große Teile des Klosterkomplexes.

Der barocke Neuaufbau fand zwischen 1650 und 1750 statt, bei welchem u.a. die beiden markanten "Zwiebeltürme" errichtet wurden. Auch stammt die barocke bis ins Rokoko übergehende Innenausstattung der Kirche aus dieser Zeit.

Nach den Wirren des zweiten Weltkriegs wurde unter Abt Bernhard (1973-1985) die Stiftskirche grundlegend renoviert.

Die Zisterzienser im Mittelalter


Die Staufer

Friedrich v. Büren †1094

Friedrich I, Hg. v. Schwaben †1105

   Friedrich II            Kg. Konrad III.
Hg. v. Schwaben           1138-1152
    †1147

Ks. Friedrich I. Barbarossa 1152-1190

Ks. Heinrich VI. 1190-1197

Ks. Friedrich II. 1212/15-1250

Kg. Konrad IV. 1237-1257

Konradin †1268

Die Geschichte der Elisabeth von Bayern und wie es zur Gründung vom Kloster Stams kam.

Bei einem Aufenthalt Kaiser Friedrich II. in Bayern 1235 verlobte er seinen siebenjährigen Sohn Konrad mit Elisabeth (geboren um 1227), der Tochter des Herzogs Otto II. des Erlauchten von Bayern, und der Agnes, Tochter Heinrichs, Pfalzgrafen bei Rhein. Die Vermählung fand 1246 statt. Konradin wurde das einzige Kind aus dieser Ehe. König Konrad IV., der seinen Sohn nie gesehen, starb schon zwei Jahre nach dessen Geburt. Nach dem Tod Konrads galt die Sorge ihrem Sohn Konradin und der Aufgabe, ihm das väterliche Erbe zu erhalten. Elisabeth blieb, vor ihrem Fortzug nach Wasserburg am Inn, mit dem kleinen Konradin zunächst bei ihrem Bruder, dem Herzog Ludwig II., dem Strengen von Bayern, der der Vormund Konradins war. Königin Elisabeth war anwesend, als dieser seine Gemahlin Maria von Brabant am 18. Januar 1256 wahrscheinlich grundlos hinrichten ließ.

Es ist verständlich, dass die Mutter ihren Sohn diesem Vormund entzog. Er kam in die Obhut des Bischofs Eberhard von Konstanz, wo er eine glückliche Kindheit verlebte, eine vorzügliche Erziehung genoss und in den ritterlichen Übungen wie im Minnesang unterwiesen wurde.

Elisabeth ging fünf Jahre nach dem Tode ihres ersten Gatten 1259 eine zweite Ehe mit Meinhard II. Grafen von Görz und Tirol ein. Konradin scheint in jener Zeit in Konstanz geblieben zu sein - er soll später die nicht standesgemäße Ehe seiner Mutter missbilligt haben.

Sie verteidigte hartnäckig das Recht ihres Sohnes als Nachfolger Konrads IV. gegen Manfred, der das sizilianische Erbe der Staufer behaupten wollte.

Nach Manfreds Tod in der Schlacht bei Benevent 1266 entschloss sich Konradin nach reger Tätigkeit in Deutschland selber nach Italien zu ziehen und um das staufische Südreich zu kämpfen. Nach einem glänzenden Hoftag in Augsburg 1266 legte Konradin seinen Zug nach Italien für den Spätsommer 1267 fest. Die Mutter riet dringend, er möge sich mit einem friedlichen und ruhigen Leben in seinem Herzogtum begnügen, der Vormund und Oheim rieten zu dem Zug nach Italien.

Am 22. August 1267 verabschiedete sich Konradin in Hohenschwangau von seiner Mutter. Im Schloss Tirol, wo Elisabeth nun lebte, erhielt sie die Nachricht von der Niederlage bei Tagliacozzo und der Hinrichtung ihres Sohnes.

Die Berichte darüber, wohin der tote Konradin gebracht wurde, wider­sprechen einander. Einer lautet dahin, "dass Elisabeth nach Neapel eilte, kam aber zu spät und erhielt bloß die Erlaubnis, eine Kapelle über seinem Grabe zu bauen. Dieser Bericht erscheint wenig glaub­würdig. Die Grabstätte Konradins befindet sich heute in der Kirche S. Maria del Carmine in Neapel.

1272 ließ Elisabeth in Stams durch ihren 2. Mann Graf Meinhard II. von Görz-Tirol, an Stelle einer hölzernen Wallfahrts­kapelle inmitten alter Eichenwälder, die Johannes dem Täufer geweiht war und von zwölf Mönchen betreut wurde, zum Gedenken an Konradin ein Kloster errichten.

Aus der zweiten Ehe Elisabeths gingen vier Söhne und zwei Töchter hervor. Ihre Tochter Elisabeth heiratete Albrecht I. von Habsburg. Als ihr Mann in Windisch (Schweiz, Aargau) ermordet wurde, stiftet sie dort das Kloster.

Elisabeth von Bayern starb 1273 auf der Burg Gojen über Meran, bevor das Kloster Stams fertig war. Sie wurde zunächst auf Schloss Tirol bestattet, dann 1284 feierlich in Stams beigesetzt. An ihrer Seite wurde 1298 ihr Gemahl bestattet. Dort ruhen auch vier Kinder Meinhards und Elisabeths.


Die nächsten 35 km bis nach Innsbruck führt der Inntal­radweg etwas abseits von der Autobahn. Nur bei Zirl wird es noch einmal unangenehm, so ganz dicht an der Autobahn. Endlich war ich in Innsbruck, das wie immer voller Touristen war und es war schwer eine Übernachtungs­möglich­keit zu finden.

Inntal Radweg