× Home Journeys   Countries and Cities
Danube cycling
Danube cycling overview
Vienna - Budapest
Melk

...

Entrance Vienna Vienna Hainburg Devin Castle Ruin Bratislava Esztergom Visegrad Szentendre Budapest
Interesting things Stories / History What's new?
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch British flag

The castle of Visegrád was once built by King Béla IV. (Béla=Adalbert) after the devastation of the country by the Tartars around 1250 as the first fortified defense structure in Hungary. Several Hungarian kings resided here.

The castle of Visegrád experienced its heyday under King Matthias I (1458-1490), who had only his summer residence here, but conducted his diplomacy from Visegrád and received foreign state guests here. The area was his hunting ground, a royal ban territory.

Today only a few remains of the once mighty Visegrád Castle are left. Through careful reconstruction work, elements such as roofs have been added back. Of the originally much larger complex, largely only walls and ground plans remain. The large wall around the hill can only be guessed at from afar, as almost nothing remains of it.

From here, the entire Danube Bend can be overlooked.


Danube ship Danube ship

Danube cruise

× Home Reisen Länder Jakobswege
Donauradwandern
Donauradweg Übersicht
Wien - Budapest
Melk

...

Einfahrt Wien Wien Hainburg Burgruine Theben Bratislava Esztergom Visegrad Szentendre Budapest
Interessantes Geschichte(n)
☰   Auswahl

Die Schlossburg von Visegrád wurde einst vom König Béla IV. (Béla=Adalbert) nach der Verwüstung des Landes durch die Tataren um 1250 als erste befestigte Wehranlage in Ungarn erbaut. Hier residierten einige ungarische Könige.

Ihre Glanzzeit erlebte die Burg von Visegrád unter König Matthias I. (1458-1490), der hier nur seine Sommerresidenz hatte, dafür aber seine Diplomatie aus Visegrád betrieb und die ausländischen Staatsgäste hier empfang. Die Gegend war sein Jagdrevier, ein königliches Banngebiet.

Von der einst mächtigen Burg Visegrád sind heute nur noch wenig übrig. Durch sorgfältige Rekon­struktions­arbeiten wurden Elemente wie Dächer wieder hinzugefügt. Von der ursprünglich viel grösseren Anlage sind weitgehend nur noch Mauern und Grundrisse erhalten. Die grosse Mauer rund um den Berg lässt sich von weitem nur noch erahnen, da von ihr fast nichts mehr übrig geblieben ist.

Von hier aus kann das gesamte Donauknie überblickt werden.


Donauschiff Donauschiff

Donauschifffahrt