× Home Journeys   Countries and cities Ways of St. James
Danube cycling
Danube cycle overview
Vienna - Budapest
Melk

...

Entrance Vienna Vienna Carnuntum Hainburg Devin Castle Ruin Bratislava Esztergom Visegrad Szentendre Budapest Matthias Church Budapest by night
Interesting things History / Stories What's new?
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

Budapest, the capital of Hungary, has 2 million inhabitants. The Danube divides the city into two halves: Pest and Buda. To the west rises the Buda Castle Hill with its majestic castle and the historic castle quarter. The UNESCO declared the impressive castle hill a World Heritage Site.

We reached Budapest by boat. See the

first impressions.

History

Just like Vienna, Budapest was founded by the Romans and was called Aquincum.

In the course of the migration of the peoples, a Slavic population settled here at first, but from 896 onwards they were displaced by the Uralic peoples - the Hungarians.

Around the year 1000, Stephen I became the first king of Hungary. After an invasion of the Mongols in 1241 the royal residence was first moved to Visegrád. In 1308 the city of Budapest was renewed and in 1361 became the capital of the kingdom.

In the 16th century the Ottomans conquered Hungary. The capital of the still unoccupied part of Hungary, became Bratislava from 1536 to 1784, while Buda became the seat of a Turkish pasha.

Finally, the Habsburgs, who had been kings of Hungary since 1526, succeeded in driving out the Ottomans and reuniting Hungary. In 1780 German was introduced as an official language by the Habsburgs.

After the Hungarian Revolution of 1848 against the Habsburgs, a settlement was reached between Austria and Hungary. Thus Hungary became largely independent. Emperor Franz Joseph resided once a year in Budapest at the Buda Castle. During this time, dressed in the Hungarian language and in a Hungarian uniform, he held his Hungarian offices together with the ministers of Hungary and the Royal Hungarian Imperial Diet.

The pedestrian zone

,

small but nice.

In the middle of Pest city centre, between Vörösmarty Square and the central market hall, Váci utca runs along. A part of it is a pedestrian zone.

There you can find countless shops, boutiques and the everywhere existing, well-known luxury fashion houses, but also cafés.
A little aside in the side streets there are still shops with Hungarian folk art or the famous Hungarian wines.



parish church

At the Elisabeth Bridge on the Danube on the Pest side is the Liebfrauenkirche (parish church).

The church is said to stand on the place where the patron saint of the town, St. Gellért, was buried.


interior view Therese of Lisieux

The outside of the baroque church shows Gothic ribbed vaults, classicistic elements and a Gothic altar inside. I was particularly surprised by the statue of Saint Thérčse of Lisieux. It is exactly this model of the statue that I encountered a hundred times as a pilgrim to St. Jacques in France.


Sisi monument

At the other side of the Elisabeth Bridge (in Buda), this Sisi monument is located in a small park.

Fishermen's Bastion

Every tourist comes to the Fishermen's Bastion at some point. It is located in the Buda Castle District on a hill above the Danube. The name is said to come from the guild of Danube fishermen, who held their market here in the Middle Ages and had to defend this part of the city wall. The present Fishermen's Bastion was built at the end of the 19th century in the neo-Romanesque style. Its pointed stone towers symbolise the seven tribal leaders of the Hungarians.

In front of the bastion there is a bronze equestrian statue of King Stephen I the Saint, who spread Christianity in Hungary.


Heldendenkmal

On the Heroes' Square in the district of Pest, the Millennium and Heroes' Monument is located, surrounded by colonnades. On the left and right side there are art museums.


Heldenplatz

The Millennium Monument commemorates the heroes of Hungarian history. In the centre there is a 36-metre-high column that carries an approximately five-metre-high figure of the archangel Gabriel. He holds the Hungarian crown in one hand and the apostolic double cross in the other. According to the legend, the archangel is said to have appeared in the Pope's dream and proposed to him to give the already prepared royal crown to the Hungarian people. At the foot of the column you can find the equestrian statues of the seven tribal princes.



Danube ship

Danube Cruise

× Home Reisen Länder
Donauradwandern
Donauradweg Übersicht
Wien - Budapest
Melk

...

Einfahrt Wien Wien Hainburg Burgruine Theben Bratislava Esztergom Visegrad Szentendre Budapest Matthiaskirche Budapest by night
Interessantes Geschichte(n)
☰   Auswahl

Budapest, die Hauptstadt von Ungarn, hat 2 Millionen Einwohner. Die Donau teilt die Stadt in zwei Hälften: Pest und Buda. Im Westen erhebt sich der Budaer Burgberg mit dem majestät­ischen Burgschloss und dem historischen Burg­viertel. Die UNESCO ernannte den beeindruck­enden Burgberg zum Weltkulturerbe.

Wir haben Budapest per Schiff erreicht. Sehen Sie erste Eindrücke.

Ebenso wie Wien wurde Budapests von den Römern gegründet und hiess Aquincum.

Im Zuge der Völkerwanderung siedelte hier zunächst eine slawische Bevölkerung, die aber ab 896 von Ungarn, uralischen Völkern, verdrängt wurden.

Etwa im Jahr 1000 wurde Stephan I. der erste König von Ungarn. Nach einem Einfall der Mongolen 1241 wurde die königliche Residenz zunächst nach Visegrád verlegt. 1308 wurde die Stadt Budapest erneuert und 1361 Hauptstadt des Königreiches.

Im 16. Jh. eroberten die Osmanen Ungarn. Die Hauptstadt des noch unbe­setzten Teils von Ungarns, wurde von 1536 bis 1784 Preßburg, während Buda zum Sitz eines türkischen Paschas wurde.

Schließlich gelang es den Habsburgern, die seit 1526 Könige von Ungarn waren, die Osmanen zu vertreiben und Ungarn wieder zu vereinen. 1780 wurde Deutsch von den Habsburgern als Amtssprache eingeführt.

Nach der ungarischen Revolution 1848 gegen die Habsburger kam es zum Aus­gleich zwischen Österreich und Ungarn. Damit wurde Ungarn weitgehend unab­hängig. Kaiser Franz Joseph residierte einmal jährlich in Budapest auf der Budaer Burg und nahm in dieser Zeit - in ungarischer Sprache und in eine ungarische Uniform gekleidet - mit den Ministern Ungarns und dem königlich ungarischen Reichstag seine ungarischen Ämter wahr.

Die Fußgängerzone, klein aber fein.

Mitten in der Pester Innenstadt, zwischen Vörösmarty Platz und zentraler Markthalle, führt die Váci utca entlang. Ein Teil davon ist Fußängerzone.

Dort findet man unzählige Geschäfte, Boutiquen und die überall vorhandenen, bekannten Luxus-Modehäuser, aber auch Cafés.

Etwas abseits in den Seitenstrassen gibt es noch Läden mit ungarischer Volkskunst oder den berühmten ungarischen Weinen.



Bei der Elisabethbrücke an der Donau auf der Pester Seite liegt die Liebfrauenkirche (Stadtpfarrkirche).

Die Kirche steht angeblich an der Stelle, wo der Schutzpatron der Stadt, der Hl. Gellért, begraben wurde.


Die aussen barocke Kirche zeigt innen gotische Rippen­gewölbe, klassi­zistische Elemen­te und einen gotischen Altar. Besonders über­rascht hat mich die Staue der Heiligen Thérèse von Lisieux. Genau dieses Modell der Statue ist mir als Jakobs­pilger in Frank­reich hundertfach begegnet.


Auf der anderen Seite der Elisabethbrücke (in Buda) steht in einem kleinen Park dieses Sisi-Denkmal.

Jeder Tourist kommt irgendwann auf die Fischerbastei. Sie liegt im Budaer Burgviertel auf einem Hügel über der Donau. Der Name stammt angeblich von der Zunft der Donau­fischer, die hier im Mittelalter ihren Markt abhielten und diesen Teil der Stadtmauer zu verteidigen hatten. Die heutige Fischer­bastion wurde Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts im neo­romanischen Stil errichtet. Ihre spitzen Stein­türme symbolisieren die sieben Stammes­führer der Ungarn.

Vor der Bastei steht eine Bronze-Reiterstatue von König Stephan I. dem Heiligen, der das Christentum in Ungarn verbreitete.


Auf dem Heldenplatz im Stadtteil Pest steht das Millenniums- und das Helden­denkmal, umgeben von Kolonnaden. Auf der linken und der rechten Seite befinden sich Kunstmuseen.


Das Millenniumsdenkmal erinnert an die Helden der ungarischen Geschichte. In der Mitte erhebt sich eine 36 Meter hohe Säule, die eine etwa fünf Meter große Figur des Erz­engels Gabriel trägt. Dieser hält in einer Hand die ungar­ische Krone, in der anderen das apostolische Doppel­kreuz. Der Sage nach soll der Erzengel im Traum des Papstes erschienen sein und ihm vor­geschlagen haben, die bereits vorbereitete königliche Krone dem ungarischen Volk zu geben. Zu Füßen der Säule findet man die Reiterstatuen von den sieben Stammes­fürsten.



Donauschiff

Donauschiff­fahrt