× Home Journeys   Countries and Cities
Danube cycling
Danube cycling overview
Vienna - Budapest
Melk

...

Entrance Vienna Vienna Hainburg Devin Castle Ruin Bratislava Esztergom Visegrad Szentendre Budapest
Interesting things Stories / History What's new?
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch British flag

Szentendre is located 20 km northwest of Budapest on the right (west) bank of a branch of the Danube.

In the first half of the 20th century, the town became the place of activity of an artists' colony. Its members have been working there ever since, offering their works to the public in local galleries and exhibitions. In the 1990s, the town opened up to tourism. In recent years, this factor determines the cityscape with an international audience and the usual accompaniments such as hotels, restaurants, cafes and small stores.

1 / 8
Szentendre
2 / 8
3 / 8
4 / 8
5 / 8
6 / 8
7 / 8
8 / 8

Out of seven churches of Szentendre, four are still owned by the Serbian Orthodox Church, namely the churches of Pozsarevacska, the Church of the Annunciation, Preobrazsenszka and the Cathedral of the Assumption, also called Saborna and Belgrade Cathedral.

The Church of St. Peter and Paul took over the Roman Catholic Church, the Reformed Church took over the Opovacska Church and the Church of the Descent of the Holy Spirit (Zbeška Crkva) took over the Greek Catholic Church.

(Source: Wikipedia)

Donauschiff Donauschiff

Danube Cruise

× Home Reisen Länder Jakobswege
Donauradwandern
Donauradweg Übersicht
Wien - Budapest
Melk

...

Einfahrt Wien Wien Hainburg Burgruine Theben Bratislava Esztergom Visegrad Szentendre Budapest
Interessantes Geschichte(n)
☰   Auswahl

Szentendre liegt 20 km nordwestlich von Budapest am rechten (westlichen) Ufer eines Seitenarms der Donau.

In der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jh. wurde die Stadt zur Wirkungsstätte einer Künstlerkolonie. Deren Mitglieder arbeiten seitdem dort und bieten ihre Werke in den örtlichen Galerien und Ausstellungen dem Publikum an. In den 1990er Jahren öffnete sich die Stadt dem Tourismus. In den letzten Jahren bestimmt dieser Faktor mit einem internationalen Publikum und den üblichen Begleiterscheinungen wie Hotels, Gaststätten, Cafés und kleinen Läden das Stadtbild.

1 / 8
Szentendre
2 / 8
3 / 8
4 / 8
5 / 8
6 / 8
7 / 8
8 / 8

Von sieben Kirchen Szentendres sind noch heute vier im Besitz der serbisch-orthodoxen Kirche, nämlich die Kirchen Pozsarevacska, die Mariä-Verkündigungs-Kirche, die Preobrazsenszka und die Mariä-Entschlafens-Kathedrale, auch Saborna und Belgrad-Kathedrale genannt.

Die Kirche St. Peter und Paul hat die römisch-katholische Kirche übernommen, die reformierte Kirche übernahm die Opovacska-Kirche und die Kirche zur Herabkunft des heiligen Geistes (Zbeška Crkva) die griechisch-katholische Kirche.

(Quelle: Wikipedia)

Donauschiff Donauschiff

Donauschifffahrt