× Home Journeys   Countries and Cities Ways of St. James
Danube cycling
Danube cycling overview
Vienna - Budapest
Melk

...

Entrance Vienna Vienna Hainburg Devin Castle Ruin Bratislava Esztergom Visegrad Szentendre Budapest
Interesting things Stories / History What's new?
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch British flag

The town of Hainburg is located on the Danube between Vienna and Bratislava in the industrial quarter of Lower Austria, close to the Slovakian border, and is the easternmost town in Austria.

Hainburg

In the first centuries of our era, an important border station of the Roman Empire was located here, where Rome's legions were stationed as protection for Carnuntum and Vindobona.

With its 2.5 km long city walls, three preserved gates and 15 towers from the 13th century, Hainburg has one of the oldest and best preserved city fortifications in Europe.

Wiener Tor

In 1108 the castle came into the possession of the Babenbergs. In the second half of the 12th century, the castle was extended by the ransom of Richard the Lionheart. Around 1220-1225 the fortifications were further strengthened. Among other things, the Vienna Gate was built, making it the largest medieval city gate in Europe. The lower part was built in the first half of the 13th century, the upper part in 1267/1268 by Ottokar II of Bohemia.

On 11 February 1252, the sister of the last Babenberg Duke Frederick II, Margaret of Babenberg, married Ottokar II, Margrave of Moravia and later King of Bohemia, in the castle chapel on the Schlossberg.

In 1278 Ottokar lost the Battle of Dürnkrut. The castle came into the possession of the Habsburgs. They mortgaged the castle to various owners. The town was neglected and thus lost its importance. The castle passed into the possession of the town in 1629.

On 11 July 1683, during the "second Ottoman campaign" (Great Turkish War), the town was captured and completely destroyed, and the castle and fortifications suffered severe damage. The population tried to flee through the Fisherman's Gate into the Danube meadows, but the gate wings could not be opened in time. In the narrow alley in front of the Fischertor, there was mass panic and slaughter. According to tradition, over 8000 people died, almost the entire city population. One of the few survivors was the Wagnerian journeyman Thomas Haydn, grandfather of Joseph and Michael Haydn.


Hainburg

 


biker symbol right biker symbol left

along the Danube

× Home Reisen Länder Jakobswege
Donauradwandern
Donauradweg Übersicht
Wien - Budapest
Melk

...

Einfahrt Wien Wien Hainburg Burgruine Theben Bratislava Esztergom Visegrad Szentendre Budapest
Interessantes Geschichte(n)
☰   Auswahl

Die Stadt Hainburg liegt an der Donau zwischen Wien und Bratislava im Industrieviertel in Niederösterreich in unmittelbarer Nähe zur slowakischen Grenze und ist die östlichste Stadt Österreichs.

In den ersten Jahrhunderten unserer Zeitrechnung befand sich hier eine wichtige Grenzstation des Römischen Reiches, wo Roms Legionen als Schutz für Carnuntum und Vindobona stationiert waren.

Mit seinen 2,5 km langen Stadtmauern, drei erhaltenen Toren und 15 Türmen aus dem 13. Jahrhundert besitzt Hainburg eine der ältesten und am besten erhaltenen Stadtbefestigungen Europas.

Wiener Tor

1108 kam die Burg in den Besitz der Babenberger. In der zweiten Hälfte des 12. Jahrhunderts wurde die Burg durch das Lösegeld für Richard Löwenherz erweitert. Um 1220–1225 wurde die Befestigungsanlage noch verstärkt. Unter anderem wurde das Wienertor und damit das größte mittelalterliche Stadttor Europas gebaut. Der untere Teil wurde in der ersten Hälfte des 13. Jahrhunderts gebaut, der obere Teil 1267/1268 durch Ottokar II. von Böhmen.

Am 11. Februar 1252 heiratete die Schwester des letzten Babenberger Herzogs Friedrich II., Margarethe von Babenberg, in der Burgkapelle auf dem Schlossberg den Markgrafen von Mähren und späteren König von Böhmen Ottokar II.

1278 verlor Ottokar die Schlacht von Dürnkrut. Die Burg kam in den Besitz der Habsburger. Diese verpfändeten die Burg an verschiedene Besitzer. Die Stadt wurde vernachlässigt und verlor dadurch an Bedeutung. Die Burg ging 1629 in den Besitz der Stadt über.

Am 11. Juli 1683 wurde im „zweiten osmanischen Feldzug“ (Großer Türkenkrieg) die Stadt eingenommen und gänzlich zerstört, die Burganlage und Befestigungsanlagen erlitten starke Schäden. Die Bevölkerung versuchte durch das Fischertor in die Donauauen zu fliehen, die Torflügel konnten jedoch nicht rechtzeitig geöffnet werden. In der engen Gasse vor dem Fischertor kam es zu einer Massenpanik und einem Gemetzel. Der Überlieferung nach starben über 8000 Menschen, fast die gesamte Stadtbevölkerung. Einer der wenigen Überlebenden war der Wagnergeselle Thomas Haydn, Großvater von Joseph und Michael Haydn.



Fahrradsymbol

der Donau entlang