× Home Journeys Monasteries
Monasteries Switzerland
Allerheiligen (Schaffhausen) Hofkirche, Lucerne Einsiedeln Kloster Fahr Fischingen Ittingen Charterhouse Monasteries along the Reuss   Königsfelden   Gnadenthal   Hermetschwil   Muri   Frauenthal Mariaberg, Rorschach Gubel, Monastery Mariahilf Hauterive, Freiburg Interlaken Kappel am Albis Schönenwer, Solothurnd Solothurn, Capuchin monastery Werthenstein Wettingen
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag
map of the Reuss


The double monastery of the Poor Clares and Franciscans was founded by the Habsburgs in 1309 and secularised after the Reformation in 1528. Since 1868 it has been home to a psychiatric clinic.


Since the end of the 13th century, the women of the community lived according to the rules of the Cistercian Order. The abbey existed until the Aargauer Klosterstreit in 1841 and again from 1843 to 1876, and today it houses a nursing home called "Reusspark".


The monastery is a Benedictine abbey dedicated to St. Martin. The monastery was founded at the end of the 12th century and abolished in 1876, but has existed again since 1985.


The Benedictine monastery was founded in 1027 by Ita of Lorraine and her husband, the Habsburg Count Radbot. The monastery was dissolved in 1841. The Habsburg house monastery, now a listed building, is one of the most important landmarks in the Aargau.


The Cistercian nunnery is situated on the little river Lorze and was founded in 1231 by Baron Ulrich von Schnabelburg and his wife. During the reformation the convent was abolished. Since the counter-reformation sisters have been living here again according to the rule of the order of St. Bernhard of Clairvaux.


The former Cistercian monastery was founded in 1245. In 1251 a building was erected which was called Domus Consilii, House of the Council, i.e. Rathausen. In the course of secularisation, the monastery was dissolved in 1848.

Hikes along the Reuss river