× Home Reisen Monasteries
Monasteries Switzerland
Allerheiligen (Schaffhausen) Hofkirche, Luzern Einsiedeln Kloster Fahr Fischingen Monasteries along the Reuss   Königsfelden   Gnadenthal   Hermetschwil   Muri     Muri Cloister   Frauenthal Mariaberg, Rorschach Gubel, Monastery Mariahilf Hauterive, Freiburg Interlaken Kappel am Albis Schönenwerd Solothurn, Capuchin monastery Werthenstein Wettingen
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

Muri Monastery is located in the Reuss Valley in the Swiss canton of Aargau. The foundation dates back to 1027. Ita, Countess of Lorraine, founded the monastery on her lands together with her husband, Count Radebot of Habsburg. Benedictine monks from Einsiedeln settled the monastery in 1032. On 11 October 1064 Bishop Rumold consecrated the church to St. Martin of Tours. Around 1080 a convent for women was established, which was moved to Hermetschwil around 1140.

Kloster Muri

During eight centuries the Habsburg house monastery developed to its present form and size. In the church, the Romanesque crypt, the Gothic high choir and the Baroque central building bear witness to the fact that the monastery buildings were extended over the centuries. In 1841 the Grand Council of Canton Aargau decided to abolish the canton's eight existing monasteries at the time, including those of Muri. In 1845 the abbot and convent moved to the former Augustinian monastery of Gries near Bolzano. At the same time, the Benedictines of Muri took over the management of the Sarnen College (today's Cantonal School of Obwalden).

The convent of Muri still lives on today in Gries in South Tyrol and in Sarnen. Since 1960, a small group has again been living in the hospice in Muri.

Kirche Westfront

West front with the striking towers


Klosterkirche Muri

The baroque monastery church stands on the site of the Romanesque basilica demolished in 1694.


Klosterkirche Muri, Innenansicht

Interior view


Muri, Kuppel
×

Picture of the dome


Muri owns five organs. The large organ on the west gallery, originally with 29 stops, dates from 1630. When the church was rebuilt in the Boroque period in 1695/97 to its present form with the dome-vaulted octagon in the centre, two gallery niches were created, which also open towards the transept, an ideal place for rood screen organs. On the epistle side, Hans Melchior von Zuben from Unterwalden reinstalled the Schnyder organ in 1696 and built a new instrument in the niche on the Gospel side. In the west the nave was extended beyond the tower front and the Schott organ was rebuilt on a new, recessed gallery. Immediately before the interior was redesigned in rococo style, Prince Abbot Gerold I. Haimb replaced both rood screen organs in 1743 with new instruments by Joseph and Viktor Ferdinand Bossart, the first representatives of the famous dynasty of organ builders from Baar in Canton Zug.

grosse Orgel

Large organ


Evangelienorgel

Gospel Organ (Evangelienorgel)

Bruder Klaus
×

The upper picture on the right side shows the Holy Brother Klaus.


Manual der Evangelienorgel

Manual of the gospel organ


Epistelorgel

Epistle Organ (Epistelorgel)

Under the pulpit kneel the devoutly praying founders.

Muri, die Stifter
×
Die Stifter

kleine Chororgel

Choir organ with organist


The fifth organ is a regal organ.


The three-row choir stalls in Muri date from the 17th century and were carved from oak by the artist Simon Bachmann, including the crowning figures with depictions of the apostles, evangelists, teachers of the church and other saints. The reliefs above the rows of seats, on the other hand, are made of lime wood and have a strong depth effect. The backs of the chairs towards the transept arms are made of walnut wood.

Chorgestühl Kloster Muri

Chorgestühl Detail

Chorgestühl Detail

Of the Romanesque church, consecrated around 1064, only the three-aisled hall crypt remains.

Kpypta

Deckengemälde Krypta

The ceiling paintings date from the early 16th century, they were later whitewashed and exposed during renovation work in 1932/33.

In the cloister with its Renaissance stained glass windows is the Loretto Chapel with the Habsburg burial place and the treasury.

Kreuzgang Kloster Muri

see also

× Home Reisen Klöster
Klöster Schweiz
Allerheiligen (Schaffhausen) Am Hof, Luzern Einsiedeln Kloster Fahr Fischingen Klöster entlang der Reuss   Königsfelden   Gnadenthal   Hermetschwil   Muri     Muri Kreuzgang   Frauenthal Gubel, Kloster Mariahilf Hauterive, Freiburg Interlaken Kappel am Albis Schönenwerd Solothurn, Kapuzinerkloster Werthenstein Wettingen
  ☰ Auswahl

Das Kloster Muri liegt im Reusstal im Schweizer Kanton Aargau. Die Gründung geht auf das Jahr 1027 zurück. Ita, Gräfin von Lothringen, stiftete auf ihren Ländereien zusammen mit ihrem Gatten, Graf Radebot von Habsburg, das Kloster. Benediktinermönche von Einsiedeln besiedelten 1032 das Kloster. Am 11. Oktober 1064 weihte Bischof Rumold die Kirche auf den heiligen Martin von Tours. Um 1080 entstand ein Frauenkonvent, der um 1140 nach Hermetschwil verlegt wurde.

Kloster Muri

Während acht Jahrhunderten entwickelte sich das habsburgische Hauskloster zur heutigen Form und Grösse. In der Kirche zeugen die romanische Krypta, der gotische Hochchor und der barocke Zentralbau davon, dass die Klosterbauten über Jahrhunderte ausgebaut wurden. Der Grosse Rat des Kantons Aargau beschloss 1841 die Aufhebung der damals bestehenden acht Klöster des Kantons, darunter auch die von Muri. 1845 über­siedeln Abt und Konvent in das ehemalige Augustiner­kloster Gries bei Bozen. Die Benediktiner von Muri übernahmen gleichzeitig die Leitung des Kollegiums Sarnen (heutige Kantonsschule Obwalden).

Der Konvent von Muri lebt bis heute in Gries und in Sarnen weiter. Seit 1960 ist eine kleine Gruppe wieder im Hospiz in Muri ansässig.

Klosterkirche Muri

Die barocke Klosterkirche steht an der Stelle der 1694 abgerissenen romanischen Basilika.

Klosterkirche Muri, Innenansicht
Muri, Kuppel
×

Bild von der Kuppel


Muri besitzt fünf Orgeln. Die grosse Orgel auf der Westempore mit ursprünglich 29 Registern stammt aus dem Jahr 1630. Beim Umbau der Kirche in der Borockzeit 1695/97 zur heutigen Gestalt mit dem kuppel­überwölbten Oktogon im Zentrum entstanden zwei Emporennischen, die sich auch gegen das Querhaus öffnen, ein idealer Platz für Lettner­orgeln. Auf der Epistel­seite stellte Hans Melchior von Zuben aus Unter­walden 1696 die Schnyder-Orgel wieder auf und baute in die Nische auf der Evangelienseite ein neues Instru­ment. Im Westen wurde das Schiff über die Turm­front hinaus verlängert und die Schott-Orgel auf einer neuen, zurückgesetzten Empore wieder aufgerichtet. Unmittelbar vor der Umgestaltung des Innenraumes im Stile des Rokoko liess Fürstabt Gerold I. Haimb im Jahre 1743 beide Lettner­orgeln ersetzen durch neue In­strumente von Joseph und Viktor Ferdinand Bossart, den ersten Vertretern der berühmten Orgelbauerdynastie aus Baar im Kanton Zug.

Grosse Orgel


Evangelienorgel

Evangelienorgel

Bruder Klaus
×

Das obere Bild auf der rechten Seite stellt den Heiligen Bruder Klaus dar.


Manual der Evangelienorgel


Epistelorgel

Epistelorgel

Unter der Kanzel knien die fromm betenden Stifter

Muri, die Stifter
×

kleine Chororgel

Chororgel mit Organistin


Die fünfte Orgel ist ein Regal.


Das dreireihige Chorgestühl in Muri stammt aus dem 17. Jh. und wurde vom Künstler Simon Bachmann einschliesslich der Bekrönungsfiguren mit den Darstellungen der Apostel, Evangelisten, Kirchenlehrer und weiterer Heiliger aus Eichenholz geschnitzt. Die Reliefs über den Sitzreihen hingegen sind aus Lindenholz gefertigt und haben eine starke Tiefenwirkung. Die Rückseiten des Gestühls zu den Querschiffarmen hin sind aus Nussbaumholz.

Chorgestühl Kloster Muri

Von der um das Jahr 1064 geweihten romanischen Kirche ist einzig die dreischiffige Hallenkrypta übrig geblieben.

Kpypta

Deckengemälde Krypta

Die Deckenbemalung stammt aus dem frühen 16. Jahrhundert, sie wurden später übertüncht und bei Renovationsarbeiten 1932/33 wieder freigelegt.

Im Kreuzgang mit seinen Renaissance Glasfenster befindet sich die Loretokapelle mit der Habsburger Begräbnisstätte und die Schatzkammer.

Kreuzgang Kloster Muri

siehe auch