× Home Journeys Camino de Santiago
Monestaries
Monasteries
Romanik
Romanik
Romanik Schweiz
Clugin, GR Payerne Allerheiligen in Schaffhausen St. Arbogast in Winterthur Zillis, GR
History and stories Interesting things Whats new
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

In the 8th century, during the Frankish period, the monastery "Werith" was built, which was first connected with the southern French bishopric of Arles and since 778 with the cathedral chapter of Strasbourg. Around 1030 the monastery was converted into a noble canon's monastery and the collegiate church was built.

The collegiate church is the oldest place of worship still in use in Canton Solothurn. It was consecrated to Saints Trophimus (from Arles) and Leodegar (from Alsace). Originally, it had a western work with two towers and a chapel of St. Michael. The canons maintained a school. In the time of the Counter-Reformation, the church became a Marian pilgrimage sanctuary after the legendary discovery of a statue of Mary from the Bernbiet. In the second half of the 17th century it received its present baroque tower and the interior was redesigned in rococo style.

In 1874 the monastery was abolished. The church fell to the newly founded Christian Catholic parish. Since 1880 it has also been used by the Reformed Church. In 1938 a new Roman Catholic church was built above the collegiate church. Today, the three local parishes maintain a close ecumenical cooperation and hold many events and services together.


  • Church St. Leodegar
  • romanesque apse
  • Entrance
  • finest rococo
  • View from the organ loft
  • Mary altar with the holy Leodegar
  • Votive plaque thanks Maria that nothing more serious happened during the big fire
  • reliquary
  • romanesque cloister
  • cloister
  • cloister
  • Cloister with frescos
  • Inner courtyard of the cloister

Link to the Romanesque St. Leodegar church in Alsace

× Home Reisen Jakobswege Geschichte(n)
Romanik
Romanik
Romanik Schweiz
Clugin, GR Payerne Allerheiligen in Schaffhausen St. Arbogast in Winterthur Zillis, GR
Klöster
Klöster
☰ Auswahl

Im 8. Jahrhundert, in der fränkischer Zeit, entsteht das Kloster „Werith“, das zuerst mit dem süd­französischen Bischofs­sitz von Arles und seit 778 mit dem Domkapitel von Strassburg verbunden ist. Um 1030 wird das Kloster in ein adliges Chorherrenstift umgewandelt und die Stiftskirche erbaut.

Die Stiftskirche ist der älteste noch in Gebrauch stehende Kultusraum des Kantons Solothurn. Sie war den Heiligen Trophimus (aus Arles) und Leodegar (aus dem Elsass) geweiht. Ursprünglich hatte sie ein Westwerk mit zwei Türmen und einer Michaelskapelle. Die Chorherren unterhielten eine Schule. In der Zeit der Gegenreformation wurde die Kirche durch die sagenhafte Auffindung einer Marienstatue aus dem Bernbiet zu einem Marienwallfahrtsheiligtum. In der zweiten Hälfte des 17. Jahrhunderts erhielt sie ihren heutigen barocken Turm und wurde im Inneren im Rokoko-Stil umgestaltet.

1874 wurde das Stift aufgehoben. Die Kirche fiel an die neu gegründete christkatholische Kirchgemeinde. Sie wird seit 1880 auch von den Reformierten benützt. 1938 wurde oberhalb der Stiftskirche eine neue römisch-katholische Kirche gebaut. Die drei Kirchgemeinden am Ort pflegen heute eine enge ökumenische Zusammenarbeit und führen viele Veranstaltungen und Gottesdienste gemeinsam durch.



Link zur romanischen St. Leodegar Kirche im Elsass


Pfeil oben