× Home Journeys   Ways of St. Jacques Monestaries
Way of St. Jacques Austria
Way of St. Jacques Austria Herzogenburg - Göttweig Göttweig Göttweig - Maria Langegg Maria-Langegg - Melk Castle Ruin Aggstein Melk Melk - Maria Taferl   Maria Taferl Maria Taferl - Ybbs Persenbeug   Ybbs Ybbs - Neustadtl Neustadtl - Zeillern Zeillern - St. Pataleon St. Pantaleon - Enns
further steps
Salzburg Wörgl Innsbruck Bludenz
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

Although the Reformation in the 16th century had swept across the country, Langegg remained a Catholic island under archbishop-Salzburg administration. After the miraculous healing of the daughter of the administrator Matthäus Hering, the latter donated a chapel. There he placed the image of the Virgin Mary, in front of which he had prayed. It was soon much visited.

Maria Langegg

The Habsburgs promoted the pilgrimage and in 1645 brought the Servites to Langegg, who built the monastery complex. They brought with them the cult of the veneration of the plague saint Peregrin. Around 1773 the church "Mary, Salvation of the Sick" became one of the most important plague pilgrimage sites in the country (1739: 39,000 pilgrims!). For 330 years the Servites at the "Austrian Hilff- und Heylberg" looked after the pilgrims.

Due to personnel problems (no new blood) the Servites left Maria Langegg in 1974 and handed over the parish to the diocese of St. Pölten. Recently the monastery has served as a branch of the Community of the Beatitudes. These receive pilgrims - except during their holiday week in August.


Maria Langegg

After the demolition of the first church, the present church was rebuilt from 1765 and completed in 1773. The presbytery still stands from the old church, it is the so-called "original chapel". The old high altar is still preserved.


Wappen der Serviten

Above the entrance gate to the church is the coat of arms of the Servites: SM = Servi Mariae, Servant of Mary.


To be love in the heart of the church
(Saint Thérèse of Lisieux)

The Community of the Beatitudes was founded in France in 1973 by two couples and is today an international private association of the faithful of papal law. It unites the laity and the clergy with the desire to come as close as possible to the example of the early Church through community life, voluntary poverty, intense sacramental and liturgical life, as well as through active engagement in service to the poor and proclamation of the Gospel.

There are about 30 houses (foundations). A General Moderator is elected every 4 years by the General Assembly and supported by a General Council. Each house is headed by a "shepherd". Several houses are grouped into regions and provinces, which are led by a provincial moderator.

From the flyer of the Community of the Beatitudes

PS: On our pilgrimage we will meet St. Thérèse of Lisieux again and again, for example in St. Johann in Tirol and later almost everywhere in France


Vreni und Gerhard in der Kirche Maria Langegg

A little tired and exhausted from the heat, we stand in the cool church of Maria Langegg, happy to have reached our destination. Behind us the altar with the miraculous image.

Gnadenbild

Plus     Minus


Mariahilbild Kopie Mariahilfbild original

In the cloister of the Maria Langegg monastery is a copy of the picture of the Virgin Mary. For comparison the original by Lucas Cranach from Innsbruck. This is at least the fifth Mariahifl picture we have seen since Vienna.

Hl.Johannes Nepomuk

This Nepomuk (patron saint of the Servites) greets those entering the cloister.

He is also included in my Nepomuk collection.


Gästezimmer im Kloster

Guest or pilgrim rooms on the first floor.
Unfortunately it is not always possible to stay overnight here. The best is to call and inquire: Tel: 02753 393

http://www.maria-langegg.kirche.at/en/html/1/0.html/

× Accueil Voyages Pays et Villes Monastères Les chemins de Saint-Jacques
Chemin de Saint-Jacques Autriche
Aperçu Herzogenburg - Göttweig Abbaye de Göttweig Göttweig - Maria Langegg Maria Langegg Maria-Langegg - Melk Ruine d'Aggstein Melk Melk - Maria Taferl   Maria Taferl Maria Taferl - Ybbs Persenbeug   Ybbs Ybbs - Neustadtl Neustadtl - Zeillern Zeillern - St. Pataleon St. Pantaleon - Enns
Salzbourg Wörgl Innsbruck
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

Bien que la Réforme ait violemment frappé le pays au XVIe siècle, Langegg est restée une île catholique sous l'administration de l'archevêque de Salzbourg. Après la guérison miraculeuse de la fille de l'intendant Matthäus Hering, celui-ci fit don d'une chapelle. Il y installa l'image de la Vierge devant laquelle il avait prié. Elle fut bientôt très visitée.

Maria Langegg

Les Habsbourg encouragèrent le pèlerinage et firent venir les Servites à Langegg en 1645, qui construisirent le monastère. Ils apportèrent avec eux le culte de la vénération de Peregrin, le saint de la peste. L'église "Maria, Heil der Kranken" (Marie, salut des malades) devint vers 1773 l'un des plus importants lieux de pèlerinage contre la peste du pays (1739 : 39'000 pèlerins !). Pendant 330 ans, les Servites se sont occupés des pèlerins sur le "Hilff- und Heylberg autrichien".

En raison de problèmes de personnel (pas de relève), les Servites ont quitté Maria Langegg en 1974 et ont confié la paroisse au diocèse de St Pölten. Plus récemment, le monastère sert d'établissement à la communauté des Béatitudes. Ceux-ci accueillent des pèlerins - sauf pendant leur semaine de vacances en août.


Maria Langegg

L'église actuelle a été reconstruite à partir de 1765 après l'enlèvement de la première église et achevée en 1773. De l'ancienne église, il reste aujourd'hui le presbytère, c'est ce qu'on appelle la "chapelle d'origine". L'ancien maître-autel est encore conservé.


Armoiries des Servites

Au-dessus de la porte d'entrée de l'église se trouve le blason des Servites : SM = Servi Mariae, serviteurs de Marie.


Au cur de l'Église, je veux être amour
(Sainte Thérèse de Lisieux)

Fondée en France en 1973 par deux couples, la Communauté des Béatitudes est aujourd'hui une association privée internationale de fidèles de droit pontifical. Elle réunit des laïcs et des ecclésiastiques désireux de se rapprocher le plus possible du modèle de l'Eglise primitive par la vie communautaire, la pauvreté volontaire, une vie sacramentelle et liturgique intense, ainsi que par un engagement actif au service des pauvres et l'annonce de l'Evangile.

Il y a environ 30 maisons (fondations). Un modérateur général est élu tous les 4 ans par l'assemblée générale et est assisté par un conseil général. Chaque maison est dirigée par un "pasteur". Plusieurs maisons sont regroupées en régions et provinces, dirigées par un modérateur provincial.

Extrait du dépliant de la Communauté des Béatitudes

PS : Sur notre chemin de pèlerinage, nous rencontrerons régulièrement sainte Thérèse de Lisieux, par exemple à St. Johann in Tirol et plus tard presque partout en France.


Vreni et Gerhard à l'église de Maria Langegg

Un peu fatigués et épuisés par la chaleur, nous nous tenons dans la fraîcheur de l'église de Maria Langegg, heureux d'avoir atteint le but de l'étape. Derrière nous, l'autel avec l'image miraculeuse.

Image de la grâce

Plus     Minus


Copie de l'image de Mariahilf Mariahilfbild original

Dans le cloître du monastère de Maria Langegg se trouve une copie de l'image de Mariahilf. En comparaison, l'original de Lucas Cranach d'Innsbruck. C'est au moins le cinquième tableau de Mariahilf que nous rencontrons depuis Vienne.

Saint Jean Népomucène

Ce Népomucène (patron des Servites) salue ceux qui entrent dans le cloître.
Il fera lui aussi partie de ma collection de Nepomuk.


Chambres d'hôtes au monastère

Chambre d'hôtes ou de pèlerins au premier étage.

Malheureusement, il n'est pas toujours possible d'y passer la nuit. Le mieux est de téléphoner et de se renseigner : Tél : 02753 393

http://www.maria-langegg.kirche.at/