× Home Family Journeys   countries and cities
Empress Elisabeth
Sisi picture Vienna Schönbrunn Hermes Villa Laxenburg Bad Ischl Sisi Memorials Franz & Sisi on Zanzibar? Sisi paintings Achilleon on Korfu Artstetten Last years of the empress last resting place Sisi's message for us Sisi and the Heine memorial Coronation Church Budapest Madeira
History /stories interesting things Whats new
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

Sisi - Painting on the Spice Island Zanzibar

To my great surprise there is a painting by Sisi and Franz Josef in the Palast Museum on the spice island Zanzibar! During our visit in 2004 I took the pictures with the film camera in bad light.

Zanzibar never belonged to the K&K monarchy, but in colonial times first to the Portuguese and then to the English.

The pictures in Zanzibar and especially the frames are damaged and look rather strange in the otherwise oriental surroundings.

Zanzibar Museum Eingang

Sisi in Zanzibar

×

Sisi painting in Zanzibar

Bild von Franz Josef in Zanzibar

Franz Joseph painting in Zanzibar


The picture is probably a copy of Georg Raab's "Elisabeth in Ruby Jewellery". The artist painted the 30-year-old in the Hungarian Coronationornat and for the last time in 1879 at the time of the silver wedding anniversary in ruby jewellery. The direction of the fan is strikingly different. The original can be found in Vienna in the Hofburg in the Sisi Museum.

×

The ruby jewellery comes from the estate of Marie Antoinette and was reworked for her in 1854. It consisted of a diadem, belt, necklace, corsage and earrings. The originals are lost. Replicas can be admired in the Sisi Museum in Vienna.

×

× Home Familie Reisen   Länder
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Sisibild Wien Schönbrunn Hermes Villa Bad Ischl Sisi Gedenkstätten Franz & Sisi auf Zanzibar? Sisi Gemälde Achilleon auf Korfu Artstetten Letzte Jahre der Kaiserin Letzte Ruhestätte Sisi's Nachricht an uns Sisi und das Heine Denkmal Krönungskirche Budapest Madeira
Geschichte(n) Interessantes Was gibt's Neues
☰ Auswahl

Sisi - Bild auf der Gewürzinsel Zanzibar

Zu meiner grossen Verwunderung befinden sich im Palast Museum auf der Gewürzinsel Zanzibar ein Gemälde von Sisi und Franz Josef! Bei unserem Besuch im Jahre 2004 habe ich die Aufnahmen mit der Filmkamera bei schlechter Beleuchtung gemacht.

Zanzibar gehörte nie zur K&K Monarchie, sondern in der Kolonialzeit zunächst den Portugiesen und dann den Engländern.

Die Bilder in Zanzibar und besonders die Rahmen sind beschädigt und wirken eher fremd in der sonst orientalischen Umgebung.


Sisi in Zanzibar

×

Sisi Bild in Zanzibar

Bild von Franz Josef in Zanzibar

Franz Joseph Bild in Zanzibar


Das Bild ist wahrschein­lich eine Kopie von Georg Raabs "Elisabeth im Rubin­schmuck" Der Künstler malte die 30-jährige im ungarischen Krönungs­ornat und 1879 ein letztes Mal zum Zeitpunkt der Silberhochzeit im Rubinschmuck. Die Richtung des Fächers ist auffallend unterschiedlich. Das Original befindet sich in Wien in der Hofburg im Sisi-Museum.

×

Der Rubinschmuck stammt aus dem Nachlass von Marie Antoinette und wurde 1854 für sie umgearbeitet. Er bestand aus Diadem, Gürtel, Collier, Corsage und Ohrgehänge. Die Originale sind verschollen. Im Sisi-Museum kann man Replikate bewundern.

×