× Home Family Journeys   countries and cities
Empress Elisabeth
Sisi picture Vienna Schönbrunn Hermes Villa Laxenburg Bad Ischl Sisi Memorials Franz & Sisi on Zanzibar? Sisi paintings Achilleon on Korfu Artstetten Last years of the empress last resting place Sisi's message for us Sisi and the Heine memorial Coronation Church Budapest Madeira
History /stories interesting things Whats new
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

Author Name

(shortened by Gerhard Eichinger)

The long history of a monument that Sisi wanted to dedicate to her favourite poet

The Joyce-Kilmer-Park, behind the Yankee Stadium in the South Bronx, is usually not on any sightseeing program of a New York visitor. And yet the park offers a surprise of a special kind.
There is a Lorelei fountain dedicated to Heinrich Heine. This fountain was created from Tyrolean marble by Ernst Herter, the sculptor who also designed the Hermes in front of the Hermes Villa in Vienna. The client was Empress Elisabeth both times.

Sisi and Heine

Sisi was, if not a gifted one, at least a possessed poetess. After she had to give up her passion for riding in the mid-eighties for health reasons, she turned completely to travelling and poetry. Emperor Franz Josef had a hunting villa built for her in Lainz, apart from the official refuges of the Habsburgs (in the Hofburg, Schönbrunn, Laxenburg and Hetzendorf).

Elisabeth was personally involved in the selection of these monuments. At the 1881 Academy Exhibition she had met the then still unknown Berlin sculptor Ernst Herter (1846 - 1917), after she had become enthusiastic about his plaster model of the dying Achill. Elisabeth liked Herter's work so much that she also commissioned him to create a colossal statue of Hermes, which was erected in front of the Lainzer Villa and founded her present name "Hermesvilla".
Nevertheless, Elisabeth was very rare in the Hermes Villa, much to the disappointment of her husband. As she expressed in her poems, she felt like a seagull flying around without a fixed home. Her interests were limited to Greek and her poetry, in which she felt inspired by her "master" Heine. Again and again she pointed out that she got her inspiration directly from his spirit; once the "Master" even appeared to her in person.

Only a few confidants knew of Elisabeth's poems. Their veneration of Heinrich Heine, however, was generally known. Elisabeth knew long passages of Heine by heart and was intensively occupied with the life of her "master". She collected Heine manuscripts and portraits. She visited Heine's old sister Charlotte von Embden in Hamburg and prayed at Heine's grave in Paris.

At a time when monuments were erected to many intellectual greats, the plan to erect a monument to one of her most famous sons, Heinrich Heine, also matured in Düsseldorf. On the occasion of Heine's 90th birthday, a committee was founded in Düsseldorf in 1887 under the leadership of the acting mayor Lindemann, which published calls for the erection of a Heine monument in several newspapers. A storm of pros and cons set in, for Heine was a controversial poet in Wilhelmine Germany. Above all, anti-Semitic and German national groups agitated against him with great commitment.

When the Düsseldorf Heine Committee approached Elisabeth with a request for support, Elisabeth was not aware of the intensity of the public debate. For Elisabeth it was only natural that Düsseldorf wanted to erect a monument to his greatest son, and she spontaneously agreed. She committed herself both financially (with 12,950 Reichsmark) and personally to the erection of a monument for her master in his native city.

Elisabeth's Ernst Herter, who was currently working on the statue of Hermes for the Lainzer Villa, was the enforcing artist. After everything seemed clear from the public side in Düsseldorf, Herter developed two sketches and presented them to Elisabeth for appraisal. One depicted the poet sitting on a pedestal, the other was a fountain with a Lorelei motif. Elisabeth opted for the postament design. Elisabeth's saying that she "wishes the whole Heine" and "does not want to be fobbed off with a compromise" has been handed down by Herter.

Fights in Düsseldorf

But the agitations against the Heine memorial had meanwhile reached such an extent that the German Minister of Culture felt compelled to take a stand on it. He said that if the Heine memorial was to be built in the form of a statue, he would have to take the numerous protests into account. No one could object to a Lorelei fountain, however. The general applause for the Lorelei motif at an exhibition of the designs in the Düsseldorf Kunsthalle confirmed this judgement.

Nothing would have stood in the way of the completion of the Heine monument in Düsseldorf. Instead of accepting this compromise solution, the Düsseldorf Heine Committee wished Herter to create another of Heine's designs in the form of busts. Immediately the just soothed storm of indignation against the monument was renewed. But in the meantime the city government also wanted to avoid another public dispute. Under the flimsy argument that the building permit had meanwhile expired, the plan to erect a monument to Heine was abandoned. The city government even demanded that Herter reimburse the payments he had made for his preparatory work, which he of course refused. Elisabeth, too, had long since had enough of the arguments in which she was personally attacked, as far as censorship permitted. She gave up her commitment to the Düsseldorf monument in 1889.

For Elisabeth, the erection of a Heine monument, much to the disappointment of many liberals who saw her as an ally against nationalist and anti-Semitic trends, had from the outset been a purely personal affair. Moreover, Herter's Lorelei design, which she had paid for herself, was only the second best solution for her. She wanted to have her master depicted in full size.

The poet on Corfu

Since the late eighties Elisabeth has been travelling a lot in Greece. In 1888 she told her husband that she regarded Greece as her future home. Franz Joseph was not very enthusiastic about this, but fulfilled his wife's wish and had an expensive private castle built in the style of Troy and Pompeii.

In her private castle, called Achilleion, Elisabeth could finally pay homage to her beloved master Heine without compromise. She examined various portraits of Heine and then invited his nephew Gustav Heine-Geldern to determine which portrait was most similar to Heine. She finally decided on a design by the Danish sculptor Hasselriis. Heine's life-size figure, which resembled Herther's first design for Düsseldorf, was set up in a small temple in the garden of the Achilleion.

But this Heine monument, like the Lorelei fountain, was also to have an eventful future. After Elisabeth's death in 1898, her eldest daughter Gisela inherited the Achilleion. She sold the uncomfortable castle to the Imperial Family Fund, which sold it on to Wilhelm II in 1907. His first act as the new landlord was to have the Heine monument removed. This calculated gesture promptly earned him the enthusiastic applause of the German Boulevard. After several detours, Hasselriis' Heine monument finally reached France in the Jardin de Mourillon in Toulon, where it still stands today.

Heinrich Heine Denkmal in Toulon

Heine Monument in the Jardin de Mourillon in Toulon

But back to Düsseldorf. The model of the Lorelei fountain, which had received so much applause at the Düsseldorf exhibition, was included in the Great Academic Exhibition in Berlin and published in several specialist journals, including international ones. Thus the people of Arion, a German association in New York, became aware of Herter's design. In 1895 they asked the artist whether he would be willing to build Heine's Lorelei fountain in New York. Herter happily agreed. After he had already done all the preparatory work, the work progressed rapidly. But there were also initial difficulties with the erection of the monument in New York. Originally, the Arion Association wanted to erect the Heine monument at a central location in Manhattan. First they had thought of the Columbus Circle, then of Central Park, but both places were not approved by the New York City Council.

Poetry without a head

For the New Yorkers, Heine was not such a controversial figure as for the Düsseldorfers, but a German Jew who had spent his entire life in Europe was not necessarily given a prominent place in Manhattan. Finally, the city council approved a square in a beautiful park in the Bronx. This place was a bit remote at that time, but a nice residential area, where Mark Twain was also at home.

On 8 July 1899 the unveiling of the monument took place, to which Herter travelled from Germany. According to his diary, the unveiling was an impressive manifestation of Germanism in America, with flags, parades and music bands. But the controversies surrounding this Heine monument continued even after the unveiling in New York. While in Germany it was only anti-Semitic Germans who agitated against Heine, in New York it was not only anti-Semites who perished at his monument. Especially during the two world wars, anti-German acts of vandalism repeatedly occurred against Heine as one of the most famous German poets.

Half a year after its unveiling, on 29 January 1900, the monument was devastated for the first time: The head of the personification of the poetry was cut off.

However, the damage to the monument continued. The personification of satire got a completely new head in the sixties, which was soon missing again. After the end of the Second World War, the anti-German acts of vandalism clearly declined, but at the same time the South Bronx experienced a general social decline. Anti-Semitic or anti-German acts of destruction were replaced by apolitical acts of vandalism by the local youth.

One last move

For a few years now, New York City Council has been trying to revitalize the shabby South Bronx, and indeed violent crime and acts of vandalism have recently declined.
The Heine memorial has not been covered with graffiti lately. Nevertheless, the general condition was very poor and the heads of the well, which mostly did not function, were missing. Only Lorelei herself, who combs her hair at the top of the monument, has been largely spared from devastation due to its inaccessible location.
But because this story is at least partly an American fairy tale, there is now a happy ending. Early this year, New York Mayor Rudolph Giuliani and the Borough President of the Bronx, Fernando Ferrer, set up a community fund to renovate the Heine memorial, which grew to an impressive $1.2 million.

With this money, the Heine monument could be sent back on its travels. It was brought to Canada for restoration work in October. At the same time, the south side of the Joyce-Kilmer-Park was redesigned where the Lorelei fountain has been located since October 1999.

Heinrich Heine Denkmal in der Bronx

Lorelei Monument in the Joyce-Kilmer-Park in New York

Der article was published by the "Wiener Zeitung"


Heinrich HeineHeinrich Heine, last poet of romanticism,
* 13. December 1797 as Harry Heine in Düsseldorf; 17. February 1856 in Paris

× Home Familie Reisen   Länder
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Titelbild linke Seite Wien Schönbrunn Hermes Villa Bad Ischl Sisi Gedenkstätten Franz & Sisi auf Zanzibar? Sisi Gemälde Achilleon auf Korfu Artstetten Letzte Jahre der Kaiserin Letzte Ruhestätte Sisi's Nachricht an uns Sisi und das Heine Denkmal
Geschichte(n) Interessantes Was gibt's Neues
☰ Auswahl

(gekürzt Gerhard Eichinger)

Die lange Geschichte eines Denkmals, das Sisi ihrem Lieblingsdichter widmen wollte

Der Joyce-Kilmer-Park, hinter dem Yankee-Stadium in der South Bronx gelegen, steht üblicherweise auf keinem Sight­seeing-Programm eines New-York-Besuchers. Und doch bietet der Park eine Überraschung der besonderen Art.
Dort steht ein Lorelei-Brunnen, der Heinrich Heine gewidmet ist. Geschaffen wurde dieser Brunnen aus Tiroler Marmor von Ernst Herter, jenem Bildhauer, der auch den Hermes vor der Wiener Hermes-Villa gestaltet hat. Auftraggeberin war beide Male Kaiserin Elisabeth.

Sisi und Heine

Sisi war, wenn nicht eine begnadete, so zumindest eine besessene Dichterin. Nachdem sie Mitte der achtziger Jahre aus gesundheitlichen Gründen ihre Reitleidenschaft aufgeben mußte, wandte sie sich ganz dem Reisen und Dichten zu. Kaiser Franz Josef liess ihr abseits der offiziellen Refugien der Habsburger (in der Hofburg, in Schönbrunn, in Laxenburg und in Hetzendorf) eine Jagdvilla in Lainz bauen.

Bei der Auswahl dieser Denkmäler war Elisabeth persönlich involviert. Auf der Akademieausstellung 1881 hatte sie den damals noch unbekannten Berliner Bildhauer Ernst Herter (1846 - 1917) kennengelernt, nachdem sie sich für sein Gipsmodell des sterbenden Achill begeistert hatte. Elisabeth gefiel Herters Arbeit so gut, daß sie ihn auch beauftragte, eine Kolossalstatue des Hermes zu schaffen, die vor der Lainzer Villa aufgestellt wurde und ihren heutigen Namen „Hermesvilla" begründete.

Dennoch war Elisabeth, sehr zur Enttäuschung ihres Mannes, sehr selten in der Hermesvilla. Wie sie in ihren Gedichten zum Ausdruck brachte, fühlte sie sich wie eine Möwe, die ohne festes Zuhause herumfliegen muß. Ihre Interessen beschränkten sich auf das Griechische und ihre Dichtung, bei der sie sich von ihrem „Meister" Heine inspiriert fühlte. Immer wieder verwies sie darauf, daß sie ihre Inspirationen direkt von seinem Geist bekäme; einmal sei ihr der „Meister" sogar höchstpersönlich erschienen.

Von Elisabeths Gedichten wußten nur wenige Vertraute. Ihre Verehrung Heinrich Heines war jedoch allgemein bekannt. Elisabeth kannte lange Passagen Heines auswendig und beschäftigte sich intensiv mit dem Leben ihres „Meisters". Sie sammelte Heine-Manuskripte und Porträts. Sie besuchte Heines alte Schwester Charlotte von Embden in Hamburg und betete an Heines Grab in Paris.

In einer Zeit, in der vielen Geistesgrößen Denkmäler gesetzt wurden, reifte auch in Düsseldorf der Plan, einem ihrer berühmtesten Söhne, Heinrich Heine, ein Denkmal zu setzen. Anläßlich des 90. Geburtstags Heines wurde 1887 in Düsseldorf unter Führung des amtierenden Bürgermeisters Lindemann ein Kommitee gegründet, das in einigen Zeitungen Aufrufe zur Errichtung eines Heine-Denkmals veröffentlichte. Ein Sturm des Für und Wider setzte ein, denn Heine war im wilhelminischen Deutschland ein umstrittener Dichter. Vor allem antisemitische und deutschnationale Gruppen agitierten mit großem Einsatz gegen ihn.

Als das Düsseldorfer Heine-Komitee an Elisabeth mit der Bitte um Unterstützung herantrat, war sich Elisabeth der Heftigkeit der öffentlichen Auseinandersetzung nicht bewußt. Für Elisabeth war es nur selbstverständlich, daß Düsseldorf seinem größten Sohn ein Denkmal setzen wollte, und sagte spontan zu. Sie engagierte sich sowohl finanziell (mit 12.950 Reichsmark) als auch persönlich für die Errichtung eines Denkmals für ihren Meister in seiner Geburtsstadt.

Als ausführenden Künstler forcierte Elisabeth Ernst Herter, der für sie gerade an der Hermes-Statue für die Lainzer Villa arbeitete. Nachdem von öffentlicher Düsseldorfer Seite alles klar schien, erarbeitete Herter zwei Entwürfe und legte sie Elisabeth zur Begutachtung vor. Der eine stellte den Dichter auf einem Postament sitzend dar, der andere war ein Brunnen mit Lorelei-Motiv. Elisabeth entschied sich für den Postament-Entwurf. Von Herter ist Elisabeths Ausspruch überliefert, daß sie „den ganzen Heine wünsche", und sich „nicht mit einem Kompromiß abspeisen lassen wolle".

Düsseldorfer Kämpfe

Doch die Agitationen gegen das Heine-Denkmal hatten mittlerweile ein solches Ausmaß angenommen, daß sich der deutsche Kulturminister genötigt sah, dazu Stellung zu beziehen. Er sagte, daß er für den Fall, daß man das Heine-Denkmal in Statuenform ausführen wolle, die zahlreichen Proteste entsprechend berücksichtigen müsse. Gegen einen Lorelei-Brunnen hingegen könne niemand etwas einwenden. Der allgemeine Beifall, den das Lorelei-Motiv bei einer Ausstellung der Entwürfe in der Düsseldorfer Kunsthalle fand, bestätigte dieses Urteil.

Damit wäre der Vollendung des Heine-Denkmals in Düsseldorf eigentlich nichts mehr im Wege gestanden. Anstatt diese Kompromißlösung zu akzeptieren, wünschte das Düsseldorfer Heine-Komitee von Herter einen weiteren Entwurf Heines in Büstenform. Sofort erneuerte sich der eben erst besänftigte Entrüstungssturm gegen das Denkmal. Doch wollte inzwischen auch die Stadtregierung einer weiteren öffentlichen Auseinandersetzung aus dem Weg gehen. Unter dem fadenscheinigen Argument, daß die Errichtungsbewilligung inzwischen verjährt sei, gab man den Plan, Heine ein Denkmal zu setzen, auf. Die Stadtregierung verlangte sogar von Herter die Rückerstattung der bislang - ausschließlich von privater Hand - geleisteten Zahlungen für seine Vorarbeiten, was dieser selbstverständlich ablehnte. Auch Elisabeth hatte von den Auseinandersetzungen, in denen sie, soweit es die Zensur zuließ, auch persönlich angegriffen wurde, längst genug. Sie gab ihr Engagement für das Düsseldorfer Denkmal 1889 auf.

Für Elisabeth war die Errichtung eines Heine-Denkmals, sehr zur Enttäuschung vieler Liberaler, die in ihr eine Verbündete gegen die nationalistischen und antisemitischen Strömungen sahen, von Anfang an eine rein persönliche Angelegenheit gewesen. Zudem war der Lorelei Entwurf Herters, den sie ja immerhin selbst bezahlt hatte, für sie nur die zweitbeste Lösung. Sie wollte ihren Meister in voller Größe abgebildet haben.

Der Dichter auf Korfu

Seit den späten achtziger Jahren war Elisabeth sehr viel in Griechenland unterwegs. 1888 eröffnete sie ihrem Mann, daß sie Griechenland als ihre Zukunftsheimat betrachte. Franz Joseph war davon wenig begeistert, erfüllte jedoch seiner Frau ihren Wunsch und ließ ihr auf Korfu ein sündteures Privatschloß im Stil Trojas und Pompejis erbauen.

In ihrem Privatschloß namens Achilleion konnte Elisabeth auch ihrem geliebten Meister Heine endlich ohne Kompromisse huldigen. Sie prüfte verschiedene Porträts Heines und lud dann dessen Neffen Gustav Heine-Geldern ein, um festzustellen, welches Porträt Heine am ähnlichsten sei. Sie entschied sich schließlich für einen Entwurf des dänischen Bildhauers Hasselriis. Die lebensgroße Figur Heines, die dem ersten Entwurf Herters für Düsseldorf ähnelte, ließ sie in einem kleinen Tempel im Garten des Achilleions aufstellen.

Doch auch dieses Heine-Denkmal sollte, ähnlich wie der Lorelei-Brunnen, noch eine bewegte Zukunft haben. Nach dem Tod Elisabeths 1898 erbte ihre älteste Tochter Gisela das Achilleion. Sie verkaufte das ungemütliche Schloß an den kaiserlichen Familienfonds, der es 1907 an Wilhelm II. weiterverkaufte. Dessen erste Tat als neuer Hausherr war es, das Heine-Denkmal entfernen zu lassen. Diese kalkulierte Geste brachte ihm prompt den begeisterten Applaus des deutschen Boulevards ein. Über mehrere Umwege kam Hasselriis' Heine-Denkmal schließlich nach Frankreich in den Jardin de Mourillon in Toulon, wo es bis heute steht.

Heinrich Heine Denkmal in Toulon

Heine Denkmal im Jardin de Mourillon in Toulon

Doch zurück nach Düsseldorf. Das Modell des Lorelei-Brunnens, das auf der Düsseldorfer Ausstellung so viel Beifall gefunden hatte, wurde in die Große Akademische Ausstellung in Berlin aufgenommen und in mehreren, auch internationalen, Fachzeitschriften publiziert. So wurden die Leute von Arion, einem deutschen Verein in New York, auf den Entwurf Herters aufmerksam. Sie fragten den Künstler 1895, ob er bereit wäre, Heines Lorelei-Brunnen in New York zu errichten. Herter sagte freudig zu. Nachdem er ja schon sämtliche Vorarbeiten geleistet hatte, schritten die Arbeiten zügig voran. Doch auch bei der Aufstellung des Denkmals in New York gab es zunächst Schwierigkeiten. Ursprünglich wollte der Verein Arion das Heine-Denkmal an einer zentralen Stelle in Manhattan aufstellen. Gedacht hatten sie zuerst an den Columbus Circle, dann an den Central Park, doch beide Plätze wurden von der New Yorker Stadtverwaltung nicht genehmigt.

Die Lyrik ohne Kopf

Für die New Yorker war Heine zwar keine so umstrittene Figur wie für die Düsseldorfer, doch einem deutschen Juden, der sein ganzes Leben in Europa verbracht hatte, wollte man auch nicht unbedingt einen prominenten Platz in Manhattan einräumen. Schließlich wurde von der Stadtverwaltung ein Platz in einem schönen Park in der Bronx genehmigt. Dieser Ort war damals zwar etwas abgelegen, aber eine schöne Wohngegend, in der unter anderem auch Mark Twain zu Hause war.

Am 8. Juli 1899 fand die Enthüllung des Denkmals statt, zu der Herter eigens aus Deutschland anreiste. Laut seinem Tagebuch war die Enthüllung eine imposante Kundgebung des Deutschtums in Amerika, mit Fahnen, Paraden und Musikkapellen. Doch die Auseinandersetzungen um dieses Heine-Denkmal gingen auch nach der Enthüllung in New York weiter. Waren es in Deutschland nur antisemitische Deutschnationale, die gegen Heine agitierten, so vergingen sich in New York nicht nur Antisemiten an seinem Denkmal. Vor allem während der beiden Weltkriege kam es auch immer wieder zu antideutschen Vandalenakten, die sich gegen Heine als einen der berühmtesten deutschen Dichter richteten.

Bereits ein halbes Jahr nach der Enthüllung, am 29. Jänner 1900, wurde das Denkmal das erste Mal verwüstet: Der Personifikation der Lyrik wurde der Kopf abgeschlagen.

Die Beschädigungen des Denkmals gingen jedoch weiter. Die Personifikation der Satire bekam in den sechziger Jahren einen gänzlich neuen Kopf, der aber bald wieder fehlte. Nach dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs gingen zwar die antideutschen Vandalenakte deutlich zurück, gleichzeitig kam es aber zu einem allgemeinen sozialen Niedergang der South Bronx. Antisemitische, beziehungsweise antideutsche Zerstörungsakte wurden durch unpolitische Vandalenakte der lokalen Jugend ersetzt.

Eine letzte Übersiedelung

Seit ein paar Jahren bemüht sich die New Yorker Stadtverwaltung, die schäbige South Bronx zu revitalisieren, und tatsächlich sind Gewaltverbrechen und Vandalenakte in jüngster Zeit zurückgegangen.
Das Heine-Denkmal war in letzter Zeit nicht mehr von Graffiti überzogen. Dennoch war der allgemeine Zustand sehr schlecht und die Köpfe des Brunnens, der meist nicht funktionierte, fehlten. Nur Lorelei selbst, die oben auf dem Denkmal ihre Haare kämmt, ist aufgrund ihrer schwer zugänglichen Lage von Verwüstungen weitgehend verschont geblieben.

Weil aber diese Geschichte zumindest zum Teil ein amerikanisches Märchen ist, gibt es jetzt ein Happy-End. Anfang diesen Jahres haben der New Yorker Bürgermeister Rudolph Giuliani und der Borough President der Bronx, Fernando Ferrer, einen Gemeinschaftsfonds zur Renovierung des Heine-Denkmals eingerichtet, der auf stattliche 1,2 Mill. Dollar anwuchs.

Mit diesem Geld konnte das Heine-Denkmal erneut auf Reisen geschickt werden. Zu Restaurierungsarbeiten wurde es im Oktober nach Kanada gebracht. Gleichzeitig wurde die Südseite des Joyce-Kilmer-Parks neu gestaltet wo der Lorelei-Brunnen seit Oktober 1999 seinen neuen Standort hat.

Heinrich Heine Denkmal in der Bronx

Lorelei Denkmal im Joyce-Kilmer-Park in New York

Der Artikel ist in der Wiener Zeitung erschienen


Heinrich HeineHeinrich Heine, letzter Dichter der Romantik,
* 13. Dezember 1797 als Harry Heine in Düsseldorf; † 17. Februar 1856 in Paris