Franz Schubert

Birth­place of Franz Schubert

× Home Family Journeys
Vienna
my home town Vienna St. Stephens Kapuzinergruft Schönbrunn Schottenstift Ober St. Veit Otto Wagner Church former Servite Monestary Vienna Vienna City Wall Hermes Villa Sisi memorial sites Biedermeier cementery St Marx
History /stories interesting things Whats new
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

Here in the house "Zum roten Krebs" (Vienna, Alsergrund - 9th district - Nussdorferstrasse 54) Franz Schubert was born on 31 January 1797. In 1801 the Schubert family moved to the nearby house at Säulengasse 3 (Zum schwarzen Rössel). Today the birthplace is a museum.

Schubert Geburtshaus 1860

Photo from the year 1860 (Source: Wikipedia). Schubert lived from 1797-1828.

1 / 6
Schuberts birth place 2018
2 / 6
entrance
3 / 6
the court
4 / 6
the court
5 / 6
Liechtenthaler church
6 / 6
Liechtenthaler church, 14 emergency helper altar

Franz Schubert, Gemälde von August Rieder, 1875

Click on the Schubert picture of Wilhelm August Rieder!

At Schubert's time, 16 families lived in the house. The picture shows one of the two sober rooms of Schubert's apartment on the first floor. Here is the Schubert painting by Wilhelm August Rieder (friend and patron), his glasses and a small table with headphones.

Vreni takes a seat and lets herself be enchanted by Schubert's music in the idyllic tranquillity and dreams of Schubert's times.

Schubert am Klavier von Gustav Klimt

Gustav Klimt: Schubert at the piano

Suddenly a Korean tour group storms in. They take hundreds of pictures and film in all directions.

In the tiny apartment of the Schubert family in the former Viennese suburb Himmelpfortgrund 14 children were conceived, here they were born and raised. Only five survived and of these, Franz was the fourth. His mother Elisabeth gave birth to him in the smokehouse. He is united with her in the most intimate love, and will remain united with her throughout his life, even after her untimely death. His father, Franz Theodor Schubert, was a teacher, pious, self-righteous and despotic.

Schubert's productivity is gigantic. The Austrian Academy of Sciences announced in November 2015 that it had compiled more than 1000 handwritten and printed sources of Schubert. Among them are eight symphonies and some unfinished ones, six Latin masses and the famous German Mass. His chamber music includes well-known works such as the Trout Quintet, the radiant Octet for winds and strings, some 15 string quartets and a wonderful string quintet from his last year. During the Biedermeier period, when domestic music became popular, he was one of the first to write good music for piano four hands. Including the three major song cycles, Schubert composed about 600 songs and numerous choral songs, as well as about fifteen romantic stage works.

Franz Schubert

Maison natale de Franz Schubert

× Accueil Famille Voyages
Vienne
Ma ville natale, Vienne Stephansdom Schönbrunn Kapuzinergruft Schottenstift Die Wiener Stadtmauer Sisi Gedenkstätten Biedermeierfriedhof St Marx
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

C'est dans la maison "Zum roten Krebs - Au crabe rouge" (Vienne, Alsergrund - 9e arrondissement - Nussdorferstrasse 54) que Franz Schubert est né le 31 janvier 1797. En 1801, la famille Schubert s'installe dans la maison voisine de la Säulengasse 3 (Zum schwarzen Rössel). Aujourd'hui, la maison où il est né est un musée.
 

Maison natale de Schubert 1860

Photo de 1860 (source : Wikipedia). Schubert a vécu de 1797 à 1828.

1 / 6
Maison natale de Schubert 2018
2 / 6
Entrée
3 / 6
La cour
4 / 6
La cour
5 / 6
Église de Liechtenthal
6 / 6
Église de Liechtenthal, autel saints auxiliateurs

Franz Schubert, peinture d'August Rieder, 1875

Cliquez sur le tableau Schubert de Wilhelm August Rieder !

À l'époque de Schubert, 16 familles vivaient dans la maison. La photo montre l'une des deux chambres sobres de l'appartement de Schubert au premier étage. Voici le tableau de Schubert par Wilhelm August Rieder (ami et mécène), ses lunettes et une petite table avec des écouteurs.

Vreni prend place et se laisse enchanter par la musique de Schubert dans la tranquillité idyllique et les rêves de l'époque schubertienne.

Schubert am Klavier von Gustav Klimt

Gustav Klimt : Schubert au piano

Soudain, un groupe de touristes coréens se précipite. Les gens prennent des photos et filment dans toutes les directions.

Dans le minuscule appartement de la famille Schubert, dans la banlieue viennoise d'alors, Himmelpfortgrund, 14 enfants ont été conçus, sont nés et ont grandi. Seuls cinq ont survécu et de ce nombre, Franz était le quatrième. Sa mère Elisabeth lui a donné naissance dans le fumoir. Il était lié à elle par l'amour le plus profond, même après sa mort précoce, pour le reste de sa vie. Son père, Franz Theodor Schubert, était un professeur, pieux, bien-pensant et despotique.

La productivité de Schubert est gigantesque. L'Académie autrichienne des sciences a annoncé en novembre 2015 qu'elle avait compilé plus de 1000 sources manuscrites et imprimées de Schubert. Parmi elles, huit symphonies et quelques inachevées, six messes latines et la célèbre messe allemande. Sa musique de chambre comprend des œuvres bien connues telles que le Quintette à la truite, le radieux Octuor pour vents et cordes, une quinzaine de quatuors à cordes et un merveilleux quintette à cordes datant de la dernière année de sa vie. À l'époque Biedermeier, lorsque la musique de maison devient populaire, il est l'un des premiers à écrire de la bonne musique pour piano à quatre mains. En incluant les trois grands cycles de mélodies, Schubert a composé environ 600 chansons et de nombreux chants choraux, ainsi qu'une quinzaine d'œuvres scéniques romantiques.