According to the plans of Hans Puchsbaum, St. Stephen's Cathedral was to have two equal towers. While the construction of the South Tower was begun under Duke Rudolf IV, the founder in 1359 and was completed by Hans von Prachatitz in 1433, the foundation stone for the North Tower was not laid until 1450 by Provost Simon von Klosterneuburg. The construction of the tower was stopped in 1511 for financial reasons. In the time of the Reformation and the Turkish wars other worries were experienced. In 1556-1578 Hans and Kaspar Saphoy erected the octagonal Renaissance hood with a bell helmet. The dome of the tower top is crowned by an eagle, which is why the north tower is also called the eagle tower. After the cathedral's devastating fire at the end of the Second World War, the tower's helm was converted into a belfry in the course of restoration work. Since 5 October 1957, the Pummerin, newly cast in St. Florian near Linz, has found its place here.
The Pummerin hung in the south tower until her destruction during the cathedral fire in 1945. With 20,130 kg (without bobbin lace and other fittings) and a diameter of 314 cm, it is the largest bell in Austria.
The photo (July 2017) shows the elevator shaft with which visitors can comfortably drive up to the Pummerin, as well as the stone figures of Franz Joseph and Elisabeth in the middle.