× Home Journeys Countries and Cities Ways of St. James   Brünig - Interlaken
Switzerland
Aarau Castle Aesch / ZH Brienz Disentis Geneva Habsburg Hallwyl Castle Heidegg Castle Kaiserstuhl Kyburg Castle Laufenburg Lucerne Mattertal - Hikes Murten Pilatus Promontogno, Bergell Reusstal - Monasteries Reuss Valley - Hiking Ruine Schnabelburg (Albis) Schwägalp - Appenzell Schynige Platte Stanserhorn Yverdon-les-Bains
Stories / History Interesting things What's new ?
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

The village of Brienz lies at the north-eastern end of Lake Brienz. Behind it rises the famous Brienzer Rothorn, which is reached by a rack railway (opened in 1892). To prevent the Meiringen - Brienz - Interlaken railway from disturbing the townscape, it was banished into the mountain. The excavated material was used to build a wide quay along the lakeshore (completed in 1914). With its benches and deckchairs, it invites visitors to stroll and rest.

Impressions from Brienz

  • Pilgrim from Rolf Blöchlinger
  • Reformed church from the year 1212
  • Reformed Church seen from the Quai
  • Mouth of the Trachtbach stream into Lake Brienz
  • Catholic Church
  • On the quay
  • Lake Brienz
  • the reformed church
  • Lake Brienz
  • View of Brienz
  • The Woodcarving School

The village - especially the old village centre - consists mainly of beautiful old chalets. Brunngasse (Brunn alley), which has been awarded the title of "Europe's most beautiful alley", is lined with 18th-century houses.

The Brunn alley (Die Brunngasse)

  • IMG_8350
  • IMG_8351
  • IMG_8352
  • IMG_8353
  • IMG_8354
  • IMG_8355
  • IMG_8356
  • IMG_8357
  • IMG_8358

Brienz is also affectionately known as the "woodcarving village". The long tradition of woodworking is visible throughout the village and is preserved by the school of woodcarving. The violin-making school, also located here, is the only one in Switzerland. There is also a woodcarving museum in the village.

School for Wood Sculpture

  • IMG_8494
  • IMG_8495
  • IMG_8496
  • IMG_8497

Violin making school

  • IMG_8454
  • IMG_8457
  • IMG_8470
  • IMG_8471
  • IMG_8472
  • IMG_8475
  • IMG_8476
  • IMG_8477

× Accueil Voyages   Pays et villes Les chemins de Saint-Jacques   Brünig - Interlaken
Suisse
Château de Aarau Brienz Aesch / ZH Disentis Geneve Habsburg Château de Hallwyl Château de Heidegg Kaiserstuhl Château de Kyburg Laufenburg Lucerne Mattertal - Randonnées Morat Pilate Promontogno, Bergell Vallée de la Reuss - Monastères Vallée de la Reuss - Randonnée Ruine de Schnabelburg (Albis) Château de Wildegg Schwägalp - Appenzell Schynige Platte Stanserhorn
Histoire(s) Intéressant Quoi de neuf ?
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

Le village de Brienz est situé à l'extrémité nord-est du lac de Brienz. Derrière lui se dresse le célèbre Brienzer Rothorn, sur lequel circule un train à crémaillère (ouvert en 1892). Pour que le chemin de fer Meiringen - Brienz - Interlaken ne perturbe pas le paysage local, il a été relégué dans la montagne. Avec les déblais ainsi obtenus, un large quai a été aménagé le long de la rive du lac (achevé en 1914). Avec ses bancs et ses chaises longues, il invite à la flânerie et au repos.

Impressions de Brienz

  • Pèlerin de Rolf Blöchlinger
  • église réformée de 1212
  • Église réformée vue du quai
  • Embouchure du Trachtbach dans le lac de Brienz
  • Église catholique
  • Sur le quai
  • Lac de Brienz
  • l'église réformée
  • Lac de Brienz
  • Vue sur Brienz
  • L'école de sculpture sur bois

Le village - surtout le vieux centre - se compose principalement de beaux vieux chalets. La Brunngasse, élue "plus belle ruelle d'Europe", est bordée de maisons datant du 18e siècle.

La Brunngasse

  • IMG_8350
  • IMG_8351
  • IMG_8352
  • IMG_8353
  • IMG_8354
  • IMG_8355
  • IMG_8356
  • IMG_8357
  • IMG_8358

Brienz est aussi affectueusement appelé le "village des sculpteurs". La longue tradition du travail du bois est visible dans tout le village et est préservée par l'école de sculpture sur bois. L'école de lutherie, également installée ici, est la seule en Suisse. De même, le village abrite un de la sculpture sur bois.

École de sculpture sur bois

  • IMG_8494
  • IMG_8495
  • IMG_8496
  • IMG_8497

École de lutherie

  • IMG_8454
  • IMG_8457
  • IMG_8470
  • IMG_8471
  • IMG_8472
  • IMG_8475
  • IMG_8476
  • IMG_8477