× Home Journeys   Countries and Cities Ways of St. James Way of St. James Austria Nepomuk collection
Salzburg
Salzburg The Trapp Villa Maria Plain Singing in Salzburg with Susi Huber
History and stories Interesting things Whats new?
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

Originally the castle was the summer residence of an archbishop of Salzburg (Leopold Anton Eleutherius Freiherr von Firmian, who reigned from 1727 to 1744). Built in 1736 and surrounded by a seven-hectare park, the palace is situated on an idyllic pond with a magnificent view of the mountains and the Hohensalzburg Fortress.

After 1760, the castle was rebuilt in classicist style, the tower including the mansard roof was demolished and replaced by an attic storey. Among the many owners was King Ludwig I of Bavaria. He lived there temporarily after his abdication.

Other owners followed until Max Reinhardt, director and co-founder of the Salzburg Festival bought the castle in 1918. He lived in Leopoldskron until the expropriation of his Salzburg property on April 16, 1938. Stephanie von Hohenlohe, who as "Hitler's spy" had succeeded in using the "Aryanized" palace for her own purposes, generously redesigned it and planned a meeting place for festival guests. For a short time, however, the well-known, politically opportunistic conductor Clemens Krauss occasionally occupied the castle, until after 1945, in the Republic of Austria, which was reestablished after the end of the Nazi regime, the heirs of Max Reinhardt returned it, who later sold it.

Today it is a hotel.

Schloss Leopoldskron Fortress Salzburg

Fortress Hohensalzburg seen from Leopoldskron

Johannes Nepomuk
×

At the southern end of the big pond there is a statue of Saint Nepomuk

× Home Reisen   Länder und Städte Jakobswege   Jakobsweg Österreich Nepomuk Sammlung
Salzburg
Salzburg Die Villa Trapp Maria Plain Singen in Salzburg, Susi Huber
Geschichte(n) Interessantes Was gibt's Neues
  ☰ Auswahl

Ursprünglich war das Schloss der Sommersitz eines Salzburger Erzbischof (Leopold Anton Eleutherius Freiherr von Firmian, der von 1727 bis 1744 regierte). Das 1736 erbaute, von einem sieben Hektar großen Park umgebene Schloss liegt an einem idyllischen Weiher mit herrlicher Aussicht auf die Berge und die Festung Hohensalzburg.

Nach 1760 wurde das Schloss im klassizistischen Stil umgebaut, der Turm samt Mansarddach abgerissen und durch ein Attikageschoss ersetzt. Zu den vielen Besitzern zählte auch König Ludwig I. von Bayern. Er bewohnte es zeitweilig nach seiner Abdankung.

Es folgten weitere Besitzer, bis Max Reinhardt, Regisseur und Mitbegründer der Salzburger Festspiele 1918 das Schloss kaufte. Er bewohnte Leopoldskron bis zur Enteignung seines Salzburger Besitzes am 16. April 1938. Stephanie von Hohenlohe, der es als „Hitlers Spionin“ gelungen war, das „arisierte“ Schloss für sich zu nutzen, gestaltete es großzügig um und plante eine Begegnungsstätte für Festspielgäste. Für kurze Zeit bewohnte dann aber gelegentlich der bekannte, politisch opportunistische Dirigent Clemens Krauss das Schloss, bis es nach 1945, in der nach dem Ende des Nazi-Regimes wieder­errichteten Republik Österreich, die Erben von Max Reinhardt zurückerhielten, die es später verkauften.

Heute ist es ein Hotel.

Schloss Leopoldskron Hohenfestung Salzburg

Die Festung Hohensalzburg von Leopoldskron aus gesehen

Johannes Nepomuk
×

Am Südende des grossen Weihers steht einen Nepomukstatue