× Home Family Journeys   Countries and Cities Sisi Memorials
Madeira
Madeira Monte Funchal Rabacal, Levada hike Ribeira da Janela Porto Monitz Ponta São Lourenço Fajã dos Padres
Stories / History Interesting things Whats new?
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch British flag

Monte

is a village located at 600 to 800 meters above sea level with the church Nossa Senhora do Monte above the island capital Funchal on the Portuguese island Madeira. A gondola lift takes you up there. The best way for tourists to get down is by toboggan ride.

The pilgrimage church of Nossa Senhora do Monte

IIn the church, built around 1741, there is a small statue of the Blessed Virgin in a silver shrine at the high altar. Here the islanders worship their patron saint.

In the left aisle is the coffin of the last Emperor of Austria, Charles I. He was sent into exile to Madeira after World War I, where he lived with his family in the Quinta Gordon mansion above the church until his death in 1922.

The Madonna in the silver shrine at the main altar has different robes

1 / 3
Nossa Senhora 1
2 / 3
Nossa Senhora 2
3 / 3
Nossa Senhora 3

Near the church is one of the most beautiful gardens of Madeira,

the Jardim do Monte Palace.

In it, along winding walkways, a variety of tropical and subtropical plants can be admired alongside native flora. Japanese and oriental gardens, as well as ponds and fountains, are complemented by sculptures and azulejos (blue painted ceramic tiles).

toboggan ride

toboggan ride

Hundreds of tourists do not want to miss this attraction, although it costs 30€ for two people. That means queuing! There is only half the distance to Livramento. Cabs are waiting there and the two men in their traditional white costumes want a tip and the obligatory photo also costs 10€. An expensive fun, but it is worth it!

× Home Reisen Sisi Gedenkstätten
Madeira
Madeira Funchal Rabacal, Levadawanderung Ribeira da Janela Porto Monitz Ponta São Lourenço
Geschichte(n) Interessantes Was gibt's Neues
☰ Auswahl

Monte ist ein auf 600 bis 800 m ü. M. gele­gener Ort mit der Kirche Nossa Senhora do Monte oberhalb der Inselhauptstadt Funchal auf der portugiesischen Insel Madeira. Eine Gondelbahn führt hinauf. Hinunter kommt man als Tourist am besten mit dem Korbschlitten.

Die Wallfahrtskirche Nossa Senhora do Monte

In der um 1741 erbauten Kirche steht eine kleine Statue der heiligen Jungfrau in einem Silberschrein am Hochaltar. Hier verehren die Inselbewohner ihre Schutzpatronin.

Im linken Seitenschiff befindet sich der Sarg des letzten Kaisers von Österreich, Karl I. Er wurde nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg in die Ver­ban­nung nach Madeira geschickt, wo er bis zu seinem Tode 1922 mit seiner Familie in dem Herrenhaus Quinta Gordon oberhalb der Kirche lebte.

Die Madonna im Silberschrein am Hauptaltar hat verschiedene Gewänder

1 / 3
2 / 3
3 / 3

Nahe der Kirche ist einer der schönsten Gärten Madeiras, der Jardim do Monte Palace. In ihm sind auf verschlungenen Spazierwegen neben der heimischen Pflanzenwelt eine Vielzahl tropischer und subtropischer Pflanzen zu bewundern. Japanische und orientalische Gärten sowie Teiche und Brunnen werden durch Skulpturen und Azulejos (blau bemalte Keramikfliesen) ergänzt.

Korbschlitten

Korbschlitten

Hunderte Touristen wollen sich diese Attraktion nicht entgehen lassen, obwohl es 30€ für zwei Personen kostet. Das heisst anstehen! Es wird nur noch die halbe Strecke bis Livramento gefahren. Dort warten Taxis und die beiden Männer in ihrer traditionellen weissen Tracht wollen Trinkgeld und das obligatorische Foto kostet auch noch 10 Euro. Ein teurer Spass, aber er ist es wert!