× Home Journeys shell symbol Ways of St. James
shell symbol Way of St. James in Alsace
Overview Speyer

.....

Marienthal Marienthal - Vendenheim Vendenheim - Strasbourg Strasbourg Strasbourg - Molsheim Molsheim - Barr Barr - Châtenois Châtenois - Kaysersberg Kaysersberg Kaysersberg - St-Marc St-Marc - Guebwiller Guebwiller Guebwiller - Thann Thann Thann - Bellemagny Bellemagny - Belfort Belfort Belfort - Héricourt
History and Stories Interesting things What's new ?
  ☰ Menue Flagge deutsch Drapeau français British flag
Thann

Early in the morning we leave our hostel, the Hotel Moschenross, and first walk up Rue Kléber.


Leimbach

After a short stretch of forest, we come to the municipality of Leimbach in the Ballons des Vosges Regional Nature Park at the foot of the Vosges Mountains.


in the wood

As the trail continues, we march through larger sections of forest ...


along vineyards

... and along vineyards.


Roderen

Roderen with the church of Saint Laurentius:

The name comes from the German word "roden" (to clear out), which corresponds to the French expression "essarter".

Like many others, the town suffered many blows of fate over the centuries, due to wars, massacres, famine and plague.


small bridge

A bridge in the forest


cross near Guewenheim

We come out of the forest onto the road leading to Guewenheim and pass this cross.


bridge over the Doller

Guewenheim, bridge over the Doller. We walk along the road.


At the wayside cross in Guewenheim, we turn off onto a side road. On the lamppost is the sign for the Way of St. James.


Chapelle Notre-Dame des Bouleaux

Chapel of Our Lady of the Birches

The chapel is located in the forest south of the village of Guewenheim. It was destroyed during the Thirty Years' War and again in the Revolution and rebuilt between 1866 and 1868. According to legend, a farmer discovered the statue of the Virgin after the Thirty Years' War. This event is depicted in a mural by Fr. Gessier from 1968.


Kapelle, seitliche Ansicht
×
chapel interior view
×
St. James window
×

Située dans la forêt de l'Oberwald, au sud du village, la chapelle est détruite pendant la guerre de Trente Ans, puis à la Révolution. Elle est ensuite reconstruite entre 1866 et 1868. Une Vierge a été découverte par un paysan après la guerre de Trente Ans. L'évènement est évoqué par une peinture murale de P.Gessier, datant de 1968.

From the chapel, the path continues through the forest ...


... or along forest edges.


View from the Way of St. James


And again we are in a forest.


Bridge near Bretten

Bridge near Bretten


Bretten

The municipality of Bretten is located in the transition area between the Vosges Mountains and the Burgundian Gate.


The Alsatian municipality of Baronsweiler/Bellemagny, near the Burgundy Gate, is located in the southwest of the Haut-Rhin département and borders the Territoire de Belfort département. The Rhine-Rhône watershed runs directly west of Bellemagny.

In the Middle Ages, the village belonged to the Austrian dominion of Belfort in the Habsburg foothills, then to the county of Pfirt (Ferrette) in the Sundgau until the signing of the Peace of Westphalia in 1648. From 1871-1918, the municipality belonged to the German Empire. Since the end of World War I, Baronsweiler has once again belonged to France.

In 1851, the Barr-born priest Joseph Aloyse Faller founded the Order of the Benedictine Sisters of Adoration in Bellemagny. The convent is the motherhouse of the sisters' congregation. The sisters run numerous branches in France, the USA, Switzerland, Germany and Austria. The religious sisters are diaconal in their service to the poorest. They maintain orphanages, schools, boarding schools, homes for the disabled and the elderly.


1 / 7
2 / 7
3 / 7
Monastery church
4 / 7
Dinner at the monastery
5 / 7
Dinner at the monastery
6 / 7
Thérèse of Lisieux in the church
7 / 7
Thérèse of Lisieux in the monastery

The Burgundy Gate is the name given to the flat saddle near Belfort, 20 km wide and running in a S-N direction, at an altitude of just under 400 m between the Vosges and the Jura, and at the same time between Alsace and the Free County of Burgundy. The corridor separates the Rhine valley from the Doubs and Saône valleys (Rhine-Rhone watershed). Due to its saddle location, various transport routes converge here; for example, the RN 83, the Rhine-Rhône canal built from 1784, the Paris-Basel railway line, the Autoroute A36 built in the 1970s and the TGV route Rhin-Rhône.

From a historical point of view, the Burgundy Gate is located in the border area of the Germanic kingdoms of the Alamanni and Burgundians, which later became part of the Frankish Empire while maintaining tribal boundaries and linguistic diversity. To this day, the language border between German and French runs here. The Burgundian Gate belongs to the Département Territoire de Belfort in the Free County of Burgundy.

× Home Reisen Jakobswege
Jakobsweg Elsass
Übersicht Speyer

.....

Marienthal Marienthal - Vendenheim Vendenheim - Strassburg Strassburg Strassburg - Molsheim Molsheim - Barr Barr - Châtenois Châtenois - Kaysersberg Kaysersberg Kaysersberg - St-Marc St-Marc - Guebwiller Guebwiller - Thann Thann Thann - Bellemagny Bellemagny - Belfort Belfort Belfort - Hericourt
Geschichte(n) Interessantes Was gibt's Neues
  ☰ Auswahl
Thann

Zeitig am Morgen verlassen wir unsere Herberge, das Hotel Moschenross, und gehen zunächst einmal die Rue Kléber bergauf.


Leimbach

Nach einem kurzen Waldstück kommen wir in die Gemeinde Leimbach im regionalen Naturpark Ballons des Vosges am Fuß der Vogesen.


Im weiteren Wegverlauf marschieren wir durch grössere Waldabschnitte ...


... und an Weingärten entlang.


Roderen mit der Kirche Sankt Laurentius:

Der Name kommt vom deutschen Wort "roden" (ausroden), das dem französischen Ausdruck "essarter" entspricht.

Wie viele andere musste die Stadt im Laufe der Jahrhunderte zahlreiche Schicksalsschläge erleiden, bedingt durch Kriege, Massaker, Hungersnöte und Pest.

A rapprocher du verbe allemand roden (ausroden) qui correspond à l’expression française essarter, arracher les épines et les bois, défricher les broussailles après déboisement.

Comme bien d’autres, la commune eut à souffrir, au long des siècles, des nombreux fléaux accompagnant un nombre incroyable de guerres : massacres, famines, peste, etc.


Eine Brücke im Wald


Wir kommen aus dem Wald auf die Strasse, die nach Guewenheim führt, und passieren dieses Kreuz.


Guewenheim, Brücke über die Doller. Wir wandern entlang der Strasse.


Beim Wegkreuz in Guewenheim biegen wir auf eine Neben­strasse ab. Am Laternenpfahl ist das Hinweisschild für den Jakobsweg.


Kapelle Unserer Lieben Frau von den Birken

Die Kapelle liegt im Wald südlich des Dorfes Guewenheim. Sie wurde während des Dreissigjährigen Krieges und nochmals in der Revolution zerstört und zwischen 1866 und 1868 wieder aufgebaut. Gemäss einer Legende hat ein Bauer die Statue der Jungfrau nach dem Dreissigjährigen Krieg entdeckt. Dieses Ereignis wird in einem Wandbild von P. Gessier aus dem Jahre 1968 dargestellt.


Kapelle, seitliche Ansicht
×
Kapelle, Innenansicht
×
Jakobusfenster
×

Située dans la forêt de l'Oberwald, au sud du village, la chapelle est détruite pendant la guerre de Trente Ans, puis à la Révolution. Elle est ensuite reconstruite entre 1866 et 1868. Une Vierge a été découverte par un paysan après la guerre de Trente Ans. L'évènement est évoqué par une peinture murale de P.Gessier, datant de 1968.

Von der Kapelle führt der Weg weiter durch den Wald ...


... bzw. an Waldrändern entlang.


Ausblick vom Jakobsweg


Und wieder sind wir im Wald.


Brücke bei Bretten


Die Gemeinde Bretten liegt im Übergangsbereich zwischen den Vogesen und der Burgundischen Pforte.


Die Elsässer Gemeinde Baronsweiler/Belle­magny, nahe der Burgundischen Pforte, liegt im Südwesten des Département Haut-Rhin und grenzt an das Département Territoire de Belfort. Unmittelbar westlich von Bellemagny verläuft die Rhein-Rhône-Wasserscheide.

Im Mittelalter gehörte der Ort zur österreichischen Herrschaft Belfort in den habsburgischen Vorlanden, dann bis zur Unterzeichnung des Westfälischen Friedens 1648 zur Grafschaft Pfirt (Ferrette) im Sundgau. Von 1871-1918 gehörte die Gemeinde zum Deutschen Reich. Seit dem Ende des 1. Weltkriegs gehört Baronsweiler wieder zu Frankreich.

1851 gründete der in Barr geborene Pfarrer Joseph Aloyse Faller in Bellemagny den Orden der Benediktinerinnen der Anbetung. Das Kloster ist das Mutterhaus der Schwesternkongregation. Die Schwestern betreiben zahlreiche Niederlassungen in Frankreich, in den USA, in der Schweiz, in Deutschland und Österreich. Die Ordensschwestern sind diakonisch tätig im Dienst an den Ärmsten. Sie unterhalten Waisenhäuser, Schulen, Internate, Behinderten- und Altenheime.


1 / 7
2 / 7
3 / 7
Klosterkirche
4 / 7
Abendessen im Kloster
5 / 7
Abendessen im Kloster
6 / 7
Thérèse von Lisieux in der Kirche
7 / 7
Thérèse von Lisieux im Kloster

Als Burgundische Pforte wird der 20 km breite, in S-N-Richtung verlaufende flache Sattel bei Belfort auf knapp 400 m Höhe zwischen Vogesen und Jura, zugleich zwischen dem Elsass und der Freigrafschaft Burgund, bezeichnet. Der Korridor trennt das Rheintal vom Tal des Doubs bzw. der Saône (Wasserscheide Rhein-Rhone). Aufgrund der Sattellage bündeln sich hier verschiedene Verkehrswege; so die RN 83, der ab 1784 errichtete Rhein-Rhône-Kanal, die Eisenbahnstrecke Paris–Basel, die in den 1970er Jahren gebaute Autoroute A36 und die TGV-Strecke Rhin-Rhône.

Unter historischem Aspekt liegt die Burgundische Pforte im Grenzgebiet der germanischen Reiche der Alamannen und Burgunder, die später, unter Beibehaltung der Stammesgrenzen und der sprachlichen Verschiedenheit, Teil des Frankenreichs wurden. Bis heute verläuft hier die Sprachgrenze zwischen Deutsch und Französisch. Die Burgund­ische Pforte gehört zum Département Territoire de Belfort in der Freigrafschaft Burgund.