× Home Journeys shell symbol Ways of St. James
shell symbol Way of St. James Alsace
Overview Speyer

.....

Haguenau Marienthal - Vendenheim Vendenheim - Strasbourg Strasbourg Strasbourg - Molsheim    Avolsheim Molsheim - Barr Barr - Châtenois Châtenois - Kaysersberg Kaysersberg
History and Stories Interesting things What's new ?
  ☰ Menue Drapeau allemand Drapeau français British flag

From Strasbourg, the Way of St James leads along the Breusch Canal via Achenheim to Ernolsheim-sur-Bruche. There we leave the canal to walk via Rimlen with its Romanesque Saint Michel Chapel to Ergersheim and the church in Avoldsheim. From there it is a few kilometres to the stage destination Molsheim.

I put the countless photos of walking along the Breusch Canal into a slider.


Ernolsheim

After the long hike along the canal, we reach Ernolsheim.


Schloss Ernolsheim

At a fast pace we pass this small castle in Ernolsheim.


Kapelle St. Michael

St. Michael's Chapel (Rimlenkapelle), first mentioned in 884, is the only witness to the disappeared village of Rimlenheim, which was completely destroyed in 1444 by the wild mercenary band of the Armagnacken.


St. Michel

Today's chapel in the middle of the vineyards dates back to the 12th century. To commemorate the disappeared villagers, a pilgrimage is always held on 29 September, the day of St. Michael the Archangel, which ends here with a mass.


St. Michel

Back of the chapel with apse


Kirche von Ergersheim

The church of Ergersheim


Allee

After crossing some maize fields on dirt roads, a short stretch of road to the church of Avolsheim was once again on the agenda.


Kirche bei Avolsheim

This church near Avolsheim is called "Dompeter". The word comes from the Latin Domus Petri, the house of Peter. The church is the oldest country church in Alsace, according to legend founded in the 1st century by St. Maternus on a Roman road.


Kirche bei Avolsheim

Remains of a basilica from the 7th century have been preserved. The present building was constructed in the 9th and 10th centuries, with extensions from the 11th century. The early Romanesque church, a low basilica with three naves, six pillared arcades and a three-part choir was consecrated in 1049 by Leo IX, the "Alsatian" Pope from Eguisheim.


Weg im Wald

The last kilometres to Molsheim lead along romantic paths through the forest.


Molsheim

Marching into Molsheim

Molsheim, a former university and bishop's town, has a picturesque town centre with many half-timbered houses and remains of the medieval town wall from the 13th century.


Jesuitenkirche Mosheim Madonna

The Church of St. George and the Holy Trinity is the church of the former Jesuit College. The church, financed by Archduke Leopold of Austria, who was then Bishop of Strasbourg, was built in 1615 - 1617 and consecrated in 1618 [the beginning of the 30 - year war!

Of particular importance is the organ by Johann Andreas Silbermann from 1781. A special feature of this instrument at that time was the echo movement.

Finger

Click on the photo of the church to admire the Silbermann organ inside!

In 1618, the year the church was consecrated, the college was elevated to university status. The bishop, who had been driven out of Strasbourg by the Reformation, withdrew to Molsheim together with the cathedral chapter until 1681. During this time, Molsheim developed into the centre of the Counter-Reformation in Alsace and was thus the antithesis of Protestant Strasbourg.


Molsheim Kathause

The Carthusians, who had been living in Strasbourg-Königshoffen since 1333, had to seek refuge in Molsheim due to the advancing Reformation and the intolerant attitude of the Strasbourg authorities and built a new monastery in the town. Apart from prayer and contemplation, they devoted their time to transcribing manuscripts, sculpture and artistic locksmithing.

In the first half of the 20th century, the brilliant designer Ettore Bugatti (1881-1947) had his legendary Bugatti sports cars built in Molsheim.
You can admire some Bugattis in the Bugatti Foundation, which is attached to the Karthause Museum.


Kitschhaus

In Molsheim, I discovered this cute "kitsch house".

Click on the image for details!

Finger
Kanonikerhaus Molsheim Kanonikerhaus

The Canon House with its beautiful bay window


Rathausplatz

The town hall square of Molsheim

The most famous building, the "Metzig", was built in 1525 by the butchers' guild.


Schmiedeturm

The town gate (forge tower) and parts of the town wall have been preserved.

We were very well accommodated at the Hotel du Centre and enjoyed the finest Alsatian "Bäckeoffe" (bake oven).

× Home Voyages symbole du coquillage chemins de Saint-Jacques
symbole du coquillage Alsace
Aperçu Speyer

.....

Haguenau Marienthal Marienthal - Vendenheim Vendenheim - Strasbourg Strasbourg Strasbourg - Molsheim      Avolsheim Molsheim - Barr Barr - Châtenois Châtenois - Kaysersberg Kaysersberg
histoires points intéressants Quoi de neuf ?
  ☰ sélection Drapeau allemand Drapeau français

Depuis Strasbourg, le Chemin de Saint-Jacques mène longe le canal Breusch via Achenheim jusqu'à Ernolsheim-sur-Bruche. Là, nous quittons le canal via Rimlen avec la chapelle romane Saint Michel jusqu'à Ergersheim. et marcher jusqu'à l'église d'Avoldsheim. De là, il ne reste que quelques kilomètres jusqu'à la destination Molsheim.

J'ai mis les innombrables photos de randonnées sur le Breuschkanal dans une slider d'image.


Ernolsheim

Après la longue randonnée le long du canal, nous atteignons Ernolsheim.


Château d'Ernolsheim

En un tour de main, nous passons devant ce petit château à Ernolsheim.


Chapelle St. Michael

La chapelle Saint-Michel (Rimlenkapelle), mentionnée pour la première fois en 884, est la seule du genre au monde. Témoin du village disparu de Rimlenheim, fondé en 1444 par les sauvages. le tas de mercenaires des Armagnacs a été complètement détruit.


St. Michel

L'actuelle chapelle au milieu des vignes date du 12ème siècle. La commémoration des habitants disparus du village a toujours lieu le 29 septembre, le jour de l'Archange Michel, un pèlerinage a eu lieu, qui ici avec une messe se termine.


St. Michel

Arrière de la chapelle avec abside


L'église d'Ergersheim

L'église d'Ergersheim


allée

Après avoir traversé des champs de céréales sur des chemins de terre, nous sommes allés sur la route de l'église d'Avolsheim.


Kirche bei Avolsheim

Cette église près d'Avolsheim s'appelle "Dompeter". Le mot vient du latin Domus Petri, la Maison de Pétri. L'église est la plus ancienne église de campagne d'Alsace, selon la légende du 1er siècle de Saint Maternus. sur un chemin de terre.


Eglise près d'Avolsheim

Les vestiges d'une basilique du VIIe siècle sont conservés, l'édifice actuel a été construit au IXe siècle. L'église romane primitive, une église d'art roman, une salle de bains, une salle de bains, une salle d'eau, une salle d'eau et une salle d'eau. basilique basse à trois nefs avec 6 arcades à 6 colonnes et chœur à trois parties a été inauguré en 1049 par Léon IX, le pape "alsacien" d'Eguisheim.


Chemin dans la forêt

Les derniers kilomètres jusqu'à Molsheim mènent sur des chemins romantiques à travers la forêt.


Molsheim

Entrée à Molsheim

Molsheim, ancienne ville universitaire et ville épiscopale, possède un site pittoresque. centre-ville avec de nombreuses maisons à colombages et des vestiges du Moyen-Âge Mur d'enceinte du 13ème siècle


Église jésuite Mosheim Madonna

L'église de Saint-Georges et la Trinité est l'église de l'ancien Université jésuite. L'église, financée par l'archiduc Léopold d'Autriche, qui était alors évêque de Strasbourg, est né en 1615 - 1617 et est né en 1618 [Début de la guerre de 30 ans !].

L'orgue de Johann Andreas Silbermann revêt une importance particulière : il date de 1781 et se distingue par l'Echowerk.

Finger

Cliquez sur la photo de l'église pour admirer l'orgue Silbermann à l'intérieur !

En 1618, année de la consécration, le collège fut élevé au rang d'université. L'évêque, expulsé de Strasbourg par la Réforme, se retira à Molsheim avec le chapitre de la cathédrale jusqu'en 1681. Durant cette période, Molsheim devient le centre de la Contre-Réforme en Alsace et est donc l'antithèse de la Strasbourg protestante.


Molsheim Kathause

Les chartreux, qui résidaient à Strasbourg-Königshoffen depuis 1333, ont dû se réfugier à Molsheim à cause de la Réforme progressiste et de l'attitude intolérante des autorités strasbourgeoises et ont construit un nouveau monastère dans cette ville. En plus de la prière et de la contemplation, ils ont consacré leur temps à la transcription de manuscrits, à la sculpture et à la serrurerie.

Dans la première moitié du XXe siècle, l'ingénieux designer Ettore Bugatti (1881-1947) fit construire ses légendaires voitures de sport Bugatti à Molsheim..

Dans la Fondation Bugatti, affiliée au Musée du Carthausse, vous pourrez admirer quelques Bugatti.


Kitschhaus

A Molsheim, j'ai découvert cette jolie "maison Kitsch" (sordide).

Cliquez sur l'image pour plus de détails !

chipoter
Maison du Chanoine Molsheim Kanonikerhaus

La Maison des Chanoines (Kanonikerhaus) avec sa belle baie vitrée


place de la mairie

La place de la mairie de Molsheim

Le bâtiment le plus célèbre, le "Metzig", a été construit en 1525 par la corporation des bouchers (Metzgerzunft).


tour de forge

La porte de la ville (Porte des Forgerons - XIIIe siècle-XIVe siècle) et certaines parties de la muraille sont conservées.

Nous avons été très bien logés à l'Hôtel du Centre, où nous avons dégusté la meilleure Bäckeoffe alsacienne.