× Home Journeys shell symbol Ways of St. James
shell symbol Way of St. James in Alsace
Overview Speyer

.....

Marienthal Marienthal - Vendenheim Vendenheim - Strasbourg Strasbourg Strasbourg - Molsheim Molsheim - Barr Barr - Châtenois Châtenois - Kaysersberg   Ribeauvillé   Riquewihr Kaysersberg   Holy Cross Church Kaysersberg - St-Marc St-Marc - Guebwiller Guebwiller Guebwiller - Thann Thann Thann - Bellemagny Bellemagny - Belfort Belfort Belfort - Héricourt
History and Stories Interesting things What's new ?
  ☰ Menue Fahne deutsch Drapeau français British flag
breakfast

Breakfast in the monastery


Morning mood St-Marc Monastery

Morning mood


Our morning ritual: attunement, singing and information on the way.


We leave the hospitable monastery.


The path leads through the forest ...


... and rises gently but steadily.


The morning mist sticks tenaciously to the mountainside. After about two hours we approach the pilgrimage site "Schauenberg".

Pilgrim stamp Schauenberg


On the slopes of the Vosges, with a wide view of the Rhine valley and the Black Forest opposite, lies the former Schauenberg hermitage. According to legend, the Countess of Hesse gave the hermit, who had retreated here in the 15th century, a small Madonna so that he would pray for her healing from serious illness. When she was then miraculously healed, a lively pilgrimage to the hermitage soon began. The first chapel, originally dedicated to St. Ulrich, later to Mary, dates from 1440. In the 16th-17th centuries, Franciscan monks from Rouffach settled there and built today's larger chapel. The small statue of the Madonna (15th century) is housed in a barred altar in the chapel after it was taken away during the French Revolution by inhabitants of Pfaffenfach. It was hidden by the inhabitants of Pfaffenheim during the French Revolution. Today, nuns from the neighbouring Saint-Marc convent look after pilgrims and visitors on Schauenberg.

Schauenberg view
×

From Schauenberg you should have a magnificent view. But this is denied us because of fog.


1 / 6
Schauenberg
2 / 6
3 / 6
4 / 6
5 / 6
6 / 6
Gnadenbild

From Schauenberg, the Way of St. James continues uphill through the forest.


Occasionally you can see a little into the valley or have a glimpse of the view.


In the forest!


The path is well marked. Again and again there are signs.


View of the Vosges. Now the trail descends steeply to Sulzmatt (Soultzmatt).


First view of Soultzmatt. We have to go down there!


Soultzmatt with the Sebastian Church.

At the church, the accompanying bus awaits us with a picnic.


The church building (originally Romanesque) dates back to the 12th century. At that time, Soultzmatt was a fief of the bishops of Strasbourg. The church was destroyed in 1298 and 1444 (Armagnacken), and partially rebuilt in 1496. The Romanesque tower built in 1130 is beautifully preserved. Initially dedicated to St. Gregory, the church was rededicated to St. Sebastian as patron in 1309. Today, the original image of grace (end of the 15th century) of the pilgrimage chapel "Our Lady of the Schaeferthal" is kept in the church.

Madonna Schaeferthal
×

View into the chancel. On the left under the glass lintel is the Madonna.


As we climb further, we see the church from the other side (in the sunlight).


For a long time, the route is dead straight, always uphill on a cross path to the pilgrimage church "Our Lady of the Schaeferthal".


Our Lady of the Schaeferthal (Val du Pātre) stands on the site of a former hermitage that existed since 1339. The chapel was built in 1511 and enlarged in 1594. In 1797 the chapel was sold. Since 1803 it has once again been used for worship. The frescoes, partly from the 16th, partly from the 19th century, depict several apostles and other saints, including James. A painting on the south wall tells the legend of the chapel: the Blessed Virgin Mary is said to have come to the aid of a shepherd when his flock was in danger of dying of thirst by causing a spring to gush forth on the spot. The spring is still flowing today.


Madonna Schaeferthal
×
Image Origin Schaeferthal
×
St. James Fresco, Schaeferthal
×

It continues uphill through the forest.


way sign

We are on the right track.


Our stage stop Guebwiller comes into view.

× Home Reisen Jakobswege
Jakobsweg Elsass
Übersicht Speyer

.....

Marienthal Marienthal - Vendenheim Vendenheim - Strassburg Strassburg Strassburg - Molsheim Molsheim - Barr Barr - Châtenois Châtenois - Kaysersberg Kaysersberg Kaysersberg - St-Marc St-Marc - Guebwiller Guebwiller Guebwiller - Thann Thann Thann - Bellemagny Bellemagny - Belfort Belfort Belfort - Héricourt
Geschichte(n) Interessantes Was gibt's Neues
  ☰ Auswahl
Morgenessen

Frühstück im Kloster


Morgenstimmung im Kloster St-Marc

Morgenstimmung


Unser Morgenritual: Einstimmung, Singen und Weginformationen.


Wir verlassen das gastliche Kloster.


Der Weg führt durch den Wald ...


... und steigt sanft, aber stetig an.


Der Morgennebel klebt zäh am Berghang. Nach ca. zwei Stunden nähern wir uns dem Wallfahrtsort "Schauenberg".


Am Hang der Vogesen, mit weitem Blick ins Rheintal und zum gegen­überliegenden Schwarzwald, liegt die ehe­malige Einsiede­lei Schauenberg. Nach der Legende hat die Gräfin von Hessen dem Einsiedler, der sich im 15. Jh. hierhin zurückgezogen hatte, eine kleine Madonna geschenkt, damit er für ihre Heilung von schwerer Krankheit bete. Als sie dann wundersam geheilt wurde, setzte schnell eine rege Wallfahrt zur Einsiedelei ein. Die erste Kapelle, ursprünglich dem hl. Ulrich, später Maria geweiht, stammt von 1440. Im 16.-17. Jh. siedelten sich Franzis­kanermönche aus Rouffach an und bauten die heutige grössere Kapelle. Die kleine Ma­donnen­statue (15. Jh.) ist in einem vergitter­ten Altar in der Kapelle untergebracht, nach­dem sie während der Franz. Revolution von Ein­wohn­ern von Pfaffenheim versteckt wor­den war. Heute betreuen Nonnen des be­nachbarten Klosters Saint-Marc die Pilger und Besucher auf dem Schauenberg.

Schauenberg_Aussicht.jpg
×

Von Schauenberg sollte man eine prächtige Aussicht haben. Die bleibt uns aber wegen Nebels verwehrt.


1 / 6
Schauenberg
2 / 6
3 / 6
4 / 6
5 / 6
6 / 6
Gnadenbild

Von Schauenberg führt der Jakobsweg weiter bergauf durch den Wald.


Gelegentlich sieht man ein wenig ins Tal bzw. ahnt die Aussicht.


Im Wald!


Der Weg ist gut markiert. Immer wieder gibt es Schilder.


Ausblick auf die Vogesen. Jetzt geht es steil bergab nach Sulzmatt (Soultzmatt).


Erster Blick auf Soultzmatt. Da hinunter müssen wir!


Soultzmatt mit der Sebastianskirche.

Bei der Kirche erwartet uns der Begleitbus mit einem Picknick.


Der (ursprünglich romanische) Kirchenbau geht ins 12. Jh. zurück. Damals war Soultz­matt ein Lehen der Bischöfe von Strassburg. 1298 und 1444 (Armagnacken) wurde die Kirche zerstört, 1496 teils wieder aufgebaut. Der 1130 errichtete romanische Turm ist schön erhalten. Anfänglich dem hl. Gregor geweiht, wurde die Kirche 1309 auf den hl. Sebastian als Patron umgewidmet. In der Kirche wird heute das originale Gnadenbild (Ende 15. Jh.) der Wallfahrtskapelle "Unsere Liebe Frau vom Schaeferthal" aufbewahrt.

Madonna Schaeferthal
×

Blick in den Altarraum. Links unter dem Glassturz steht die Madonna.


Beim weiteren Aufstieg sehen wir die Kirche von der anderen Seite (im Sonnenlicht).


Lange geht es schnurgerade, immer bergauf auf einem Kreuzweg zur Wallfahrtskirche "Unsere Liebe Frau vom Schaeferthal".


Unsere Liebe Frau vom Schaeferthal (Val du Pâtre) steht an der Stelle einer früheren Einsiede­lei, die seit 1339 bestand. Die Kapelle wurde 1511 erbaut und 1594 vergrös­sert. 1797 wurde die Kapelle verkauft. Seit 1803 dient sie wieder dem Gottesdienst. Die Fresken, teilweise aus dem 16., teilweise aus dem 19. Jh., stellen meh­rere Apostel und andere Heilige dar, darunter auch Jakobus. Ein Gemälde an der Südwand erzählt die Le­gende der Kapelle: Die heilige Jungfrau Maria soll einem Schäfer zu Hilfe ge­kommen sein, als seine Herde zu verdursten drohte, indem sie an der Stelle eine Quelle ent­sprin­gen liess. Die Quelle fliesst heute noch.


Madonna Schaeferthal
×
Bild Ursprung Schaeferthal
×
Jakobus Fresko, Schaeferthal
×

Es geht weiter bergauf durch den Wald.


Wir sind am richtigen Weg.


Unser Etappenort Guebwiller kommt in Sichtweite.