× Home Journeys shell symbol Ways of St. James
shell symbol Way of St. James in Alsace
Overview Speyer

.....

Marienthal Marienthal - Vendenheim Vendenheim - Strasbourg Strasbourg Strasbourg - Molsheim Molsheim - Barr Barr - Châtenois Châtenois - Kaysersberg   Ribeauvillé   Riquewihr Kaysersberg   Holy Cross Church Kaysersberg - St-Marc St-Marc - Guebwiller Guebwiller Guebwiller - Thann Thann Thann - Bellemagny Bellemagny - Belfort Belfort Belfort - Héricourt
History and Stories Interesting things What's new ?
  ☰ Menue Flagge deutsch Drapeau français British flag

From Kaysersberg, the Way of St. James leads through vineyards to the village of Katzenthal, about 5 km away.


The path leads uphill through the village to the next vineyard. Soon you have a beautiful view of the Wineck castle ruins and the Katzenthal below.


Bright sunshine and pleasant temperatures make for ideal hiking weather for us. Here we are on the way to Niedermorschwihr.


Niedermorschwihr

Soon Niedermorschwihr is in front of us.


We walk through the village

1 / 5
2 / 5
3 / 5
4 / 5
5 / 5

cross

A cross along the way invites to reflection.


We are approaching Turckheim.


When Germanic tribes invaded the Roman Empire via the Rhine, the Thuringian tribe settled here, which probably helped the place to get its name Thuringheim. Turckheim became a free imperial city in 1312. In 1315, construction began on the gate towers and fortifications, which are still in excellent condition today. In 1354, Turckheim was granted market rights and joined the Alsatian League of Ten Towns. In 1675, the imperial army was defeated by the French army under Marshal Turenne at the gates of Turckheim. The town was sacked and plundered. The town was plundered. In the Peace of Nijmegen in 1678, the affiliation to France was sealed.


market square

The medieval market square with St. Anne's Church in the background.


church, interior view

Of the (demolished) 12th century Romanesque church next to the town hall, only the Romanesque / Gothic tower remains. To the left of the choir arch hangs a painting inside St. Anne's Church showing St. James (his martyrdom can be seen at the bottom left). The Silbermann organ is from 1791.

Tuerkheim St. James
×
Tuerkheim Silbermann organ
×

 


Also worth a visit: the Corps de Garde, in front of which is a fountain with a statue of the Virgin Mary, the Hôtel des deux-clefs with its bay window and bull's-eye windows, and the town fountain.


City gate Türkheim

The Way of Saint James leaves Turckheim through this gate.


bridge over the Fecht

At the exit of Turckheim, we cross the river Fecht.


The path leads through wine-growing areas on the plain ...


... until the road branches off to the left and goes uphill towards Hochlandsbourg.


For the most part, the trail leads uphill through the forest.


Finally there is a view of the Rhine plain.


Picknick

At a somewhat late lunch time, our picnic took place in the middle of the forest, near Hagueneck Castle.


castel ruin Hageneck

Hagueneck Castle dates from the 13th century and, together with the village of Wettolsheim, belonged to Burkhard von Hagueneck, vassal of the Bishop of Strasbourg. The castle was extended in the 14th century. After several destructions, the Order of St John took over the castle in 1674. It never played a military role because of its remote location. During the French Revolution it was sold as state property. From the tower you have a beautiful view of the Rhine plain.


Here we go to the Monastery of Saint Mark and also to Santiago de Compostela.


At the former Augustinian canons' monastery of Marbach (founded in 1089 by Mangold von Lautenbach and Burkhard von Gueberschwihr), there is a last view of the plain before the path dips into the forest. Almost nothing remains of the monastery itself.


After a little over 1.5 hours in the forest, we reach the monastery of Saint Mark.


St Mark's Monastery is one of the oldest monastery foundations in Alsace. Allegedly founded in 676 by the Merovingian king Dagobert II under the name Sigismundzell, the monastery was settled by Benedictine monks. Destroyed by invading Hungarians in the 10th century, it was rebuilt in the 11th century. In 1051, Pope Leo IX, who came from Alsace, consecrated the church to St. Mark. After the Peasants' Wars, the monastery fell into disrepair and was rebuilt by Ebersmünster Abbey in 1760-62. During the French Revolution it was finally sold as state property. In 1845, the order of the charitable Sisters of St. Joseph was founded here, whose mother monastery it still is today.


 

Saint Jacques
×

A look inside the sober church of the monastery.

× Home Reisen Jakobswege
Jakobsweg Elsass
Übersicht Speyer

.....

Marienthal Marienthal - Vendenheim Vendenheim - Strassburg Strassburg Strassburg - Molsheim Molsheim - Barr Barr - Châtenois Châtenois - Kaysersberg Kaysersberg Kaysersberg - St-Marc St-Marc - Guebwiller Guebwiller Guebwiller - Thann Thann Thann - Bellemagny Bellemagny - Belfort Belfort Belfort - Héricourt
Geschichte(n) Interessantes Was gibt's Neues
  ☰ Auswahl

Von Kaysersberg führt der Jakobsweg über Wein­berge in den ca. 5 km entfernten Ort Katzenthal.


Der Weg führt durch den Ort bergauf auf den nächsten Weinberg. Bald hat man eine wunder­schöne Aussicht auf die Burgruine Wineck und das darunter liegende Katzenthal.


Strahlender Sonnenschein und angenehme Temperaturen bilden für uns ein ideales Wander­wetter. Hier sind wir auf dem Weg nach Niedermorschwihr.


Bald liegt Niedermorschwihr vor uns.


Wir wandern durch den Ort.

1 / 5
2 / 5
3 / 5
4 / 5
5 / 5

Ein Kreuz am Weg lädt zur Besinnung ein.


Wir nähern uns Turckheim.


Als germanische Stämme über den Rhein ins Römische Reich einfielen, liess sich der Stamm der Thüringer hier nieder, der dem Ort zu seinem Namen Thuringheim verholfen haben dürfte. 1312 wurde Turckheim Freie Reichsstadt. 1315 wurde mit dem Bau der Tortürme und der Befestigung begonnen. 1354 erhielt Turckheim das Marktrecht und schloss sich dem Elsässischen Zehnstädte­bund an. 1675 wurde das kaiserliche Heer in der Schlacht bei Turckheim vor den Toren des Ortes von der franz. Armee unter Mar­schall Turenne ge­schlagen. Die Stadt wurde geplündert. Im Frieden von Nijmegen 1678 wurde die Zuge­hörigkeit zu Frankreich be­siegelt.


Der mittelalterliche Marktplatz mit der St. Anna Kirche im Hintergrund.


Von der (abgebrochenen) romanischen Kir­che aus dem 12. Jh. neben dem Rathaus blieb nur der romanisch / gotische Turm stehen. Links vom Chorbogen hängt im In­nern der St.-Anna-Kirche ein Gemälde, das Jakobus zeigt (links unten ist sein Martyrium zu sehen). Die Silbermann-Orgel ist von 1791.

Tuerkheim Jakobus
×
Tuerkheim Silbermannorgel
×


Ausserdem sehenswert: Bürgerstube (Corps de Garde), davor Brunnen mit Marienfigur, Gasthaus zu den zwei Schlüsseln (Hôtel des deux-clefs) mit Erker und Butzen­scheiben­fenstern, Stadtbrunnen.


Durch dieses Stadttor verlässt der Jakobsweg Turckheim.


Ausgangs Turckheim überqueren wir den Fluss Fecht.


Durch Weinanbaugebiete führt der Weg in der Ebene ...


... bis es nach links abzweigend Richtung Hochlandsbourg bergauf geht.


Grösstenteils führt der Weg bergauf durch den Wald.


Endlich gibt es eine Aussicht auf die Rheinebene.


Zu einer etwas späten Mittagszeit fand unser Picknick mitten im Wald, in der Nähe der Burg Hagueneck statt.


Die Burg Hagueneck stammt aus dem 13. Jh. und gehörte, zusammen mit dem Dorf Wettolsheim, Burkhard von Hagueneck, Vasall des Bischofs von Strassburg. Im 14. Jh. wurde die Burg erweitert. Nach mehreren Zerstörungen übernahm 1674 der Johanni­terorden die Burg. Eine militärische Rolle spielte sie wegen der abgeschiedenen Lage nie. Während der Frz. Revolution wurde sie als Staatseigentum verkauft. Vom Turm hat man eine schöne Aussicht auf die Rheinebene.


Hier gehts zum Kloster Sankt Markus und auch nach Santiago de Compostela.


Beim ehemaligen Augustiner-Chorherrenstift Marbach (1089 von Mangold von Lautenbach und Burkhard von Gueberschwihr gegründet) ergibt sich ein letzter Ausblick in die Ebene, bevor der Weg in den Wald eintaucht. Vom Kloster selbst ist fast nichts übrig geblieben.


Nach etwas über 1.5 Stunden im Wald erreichen wir das Kloster Sankt Markus.


Das Markus-Kloster gehört zu den ältesten Klostergrün­dungen des Elsass. Im Jahr 676 angeblich vom Mero­winger­könig Dagobert II. unter dem Namen Sigis­mundzell gegründet, wurde das Kloster von Benediktiner­mönchen besiedelt. Im 10. Jh. von den einfallenden Ungarn zerstört, wurde es im 11. Jh. wieder aufgebaut. 1051 weihte der aus dem Elsass stam­mende Papst Leo IX. die Kirche dem hl. Markus. Nach den Bauern­kriegen verfiel das Kloster wieder und wurde 1760-62 von der Abtei Ebersmünster erneut aufgebaut. Während der Frz. Revolution wurde es endgültig als Staatsgut verkauft. 1845 wurde hier der Orden der karitativen Schwestern vom hl. Joseph gegründet, dessen Mutterkloster es bis heute ist.

Saint Jacques
×

Ein Blick ins Innere der nüchternen Kirche des Klosters.